8/30 Bj AmPs(325), +2(329), +5.5(256), PmPs(383), +3(240)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Yeah. So I gave him a "skinny .5u". Measuring is all pretty sketchy at this level. Let's call it 3.5u. I really have no idea. Under .5u it's all guesswork.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

pretty much.
This is where the callipers are useful. You can just be consistent with the calipers.
Most of these syringes are inaccurate and the marks aren't always true.

I just discovered that when I switched from kroger brand monojects to terrumo that there was 1.46 in the 1 unit of monoject
compared to the terrumo's marking.

so when I switched syringes, I inadvertently reduced Shadow's dose by .46.
Thankfully she's still doing okay but I lost 3 weeks progress. :cry:
I am having to fatten up each dose to try to find that sweet spot of where I should've been.
My calipers should be here soon, I hope.
If you want the link to order some from Harbor Freight. I"ll post it later. I'm off for a while.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Hi Mike, Bleah on the AMPS. How much did you actaully shoot Bj? Your spreadsheet shows .25 which was your last dose before you started .1 droplet, however your post above mentions skinny .5 u which is twice that. Typo or am I missing something?
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Mike, sounds like someplace between .25u and .5u if I read that right? I know the "3.5U" above was a typo!

Carl
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

I suppose what I'm saying is the difference between the 0.1u and the .25u I was giving him are so close (perceptionally) as to be nearly the same. A.K.A a pain in the a**. So, I gave as close to what I can figure .25u was. When you get that far down the needle it just doesn't look consistent, know what I mean? I'm being consistent with my previous dose so no need to worry.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Ok the last two sentences are sort of stupid sounding but I think I'm making my point :razz:
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

I totally get it and yes definitely a pain. We could not read that range on our syringes, best we could do after much practice was measure to .5 then squeezed out drops that *should* leave 2 drops for .25 or one drop for .1 left for the shot. Our Kroger syringes have the needle in a cone and we couldnt really know for sure what the actual dose was. Even though measuring is a chore, low dose is good place to be. Hope Bj likes this dose, you will know within a couple days and Bj may even vote early.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

I do indeed. Yeah, I don't know if calipers are going to help so much. I'll practice some more before next dose.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Forgot to mention I was pretty skeptical about measuring the tiny doses. For practice we squeezed out drops and counted how many from 1.0 to .5 mark, then .5 to empty, usually 4 drops = .5u. Logically .5 minus 2 drops would leave.25 but I could not see much of anything left in the barrel and syringe cone. So further practice, starting at .5, I squeezed out 2 drops then squirted that practice .25 dose onto wax paper where I see could what if anything came out, and how hard I had to push the plunger to get it all out. After practicing that a few times I got fairly consistent with how much was left in the syringe to shoot Jasper. I have calipers but I use both hands to control squeezing the drops out and decided drops counting is close enough. FWIW, I am still truly amazed such tiny doses have any effect, but the data speaks for itself.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325)

Leslie and Jasper said:
Forgot to mention I was pretty skeptical about measuring the tiny doses. For practice we squeezed out drops and counted how many from 1.0 to .5 mark, then .5 to empty, usually 4 drops = .5u. Logically .5 minus 2 drops would leave.25 but I could not see much of anything left in the barrel and syringe cone. So further practice, starting at .5, I squeezed out 2 drops then squirted that practice .25 dose onto wax paper where I see could what if anything came out, and how hard I had to push the plunger to get it all out. After practicing that a few times I got fairly consistent with how much was left in the syringe to shoot Jasper. I have calipers but I use both hands to control squeezing the drops out and decided drops counting is close enough. FWIW, I am still truly amazed such tiny doses have any effect, but the data speaks for itself.
Interesting. Ok, I'll play around a bit. 4 drops is a half unit huh? All I can say is that Bj hasn't been this high in nine days. I'm almost wondering if .5u wouldn't be better. But I trust you guys better than myself.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325), +2(329)

YMMV, we get 4 drops with our syringes, Kroger cheapos that are marked in .5 units. If I squeeze fast I only get 3 drops per .5 unit.
I cant give dosing advice, that is for the wise ones here. Looking at Bj's sheet I can see why you think .5 might be better, I thought the same thing because that dose did not have time to settle in. However in this range the typical advice I see is usually to change in .25 increments or less. FWIW, when Jasper dipped soon after his dose reductions, the wise ones told me not to give him another decrease right away. They had me wait a few days for the old dose to clear out and see how the new dose would do on its own. Jasper did not go extremely low and ECID so their advice for you may be different.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325), +2(329), +5.5(256), PmPs(383)

Just to let you know, a lot of cats are affected by the full moon, and will go wonky or higher than normal and sometimes lower than normal.

Come on down, nice and easy, Bj.
 
Re: 8/30 Bj AmPs(325), +2(329), +5.5(256), PmPs(383), +3(240

Ouch. No fun... BJ, what's with the reversing back *up* the BG range??

Hope it's just moon-related wonkiness. Hang in there Mike. The whole "I have a cat who's made great progress" still applies, ok? You'll get back on track.

Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top