2/28 Kitty AMPS 89 - Tight Regulation question - Jill

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7627

...in which I experienced a little panic because Kitty went to ( :o ) 110. Better now! :-D

My tight regulation question:

A couple of days ago, Libby mentioned that Lucy had earned her deductions with low BGs below 1 unit, on her way to OTJ. Kitty has gotten reductions by staying green through a seven day period. (viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7525)

Is this tight regulation of Kitty any indication of whether or not he is a good OTJ candidate? Should I be worried that he isn't earning reductions the old fashioned way -- low BGs?

Well, I needed something else to worry about, didn't I? :mrgreen:
 
I'm not Jill, but...

You certainly do need something to worry about!!!!!

Remember, the protocol stipulates alternatives -- either having BG numbers dropping below a certain number OR dropping the dose if numbers are in the normal range for a week.
 
ummmmmmmm, maybe you should take up knitting? :lol:

seriously, please stop worrying. the whole idea is to keep kitty (every kitty) in normal numbers overall. there is no ONE way to do this. some kitties earn reductions by going too low... some by staying in the greens overall for a week. it doesn't matter "how" they do it.

tight regulation is not an indication of whether a kitty is a good OTJ candidate... one way or another. tight regulation is giving kitty an opportunity to go OTJ. some say tight regulation may give kitties a better chance of going OTJ.

fwiw, the first time alex was on insulin... she never dropped 50(that i know of). she went OTJ and spent the next 2 years and 10 months OTJ before she was knocked out of remission because her momma wasn't paying enough attention to her teeth.
 
It's funny (peculiar) what happens when your kitty dips below 1.0, finally, and OTJ becomes a possibility. All KINDS of things come into your mind (well, MY mind :lol: ) that were never an issue over 1.0.

So, thanks for putting that out there for me. And now, I am going to find my crochet needle. (I'm about as good at knitting as I am at spreadsheets!) Scarf, anyone? :-D
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
It's funny (peculiar) what happens when your kitty dips below 1.0, finally, and OTJ becomes a possibility. All KINDS of things come into your mind (well, MY mind :lol: ) that were never an issue over 1.0.

So, thanks for putting that out there for me. And now, I am going to find my crochet needle. (I'm about as good at knitting as I am at spreadsheets!) Scarf, anyone? :-D


Oh gosh what will you do when Kitty is OTJ? What will you worry about? You silly bean :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Kitty +6 79.

Caryl and Alex said:
Oh gosh what will you do when Kitty is OTJ? What will you worry about? You silly bean

Hmm. Not sure...but I will excel at it! :lol: :lol:

Good +6. :-D He's looking good again. Okay. Still. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/28 Kitty PMPS 96, but he ate at +11

That's the only drawback to the +9 snacks. By +11, he's hungry. And what can I say, he irresistible. cat_pet_icon So he ate 2 teaspoons -- maybe 1/8 can.

Amy, I could probably take orders, since I have a BIG capacity for worry. Scarfs. Bed blankets. I'd try booties, but it isn't his style! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top