drjsiems
Active Member
I never thought I would be asking about LOW a.m. preshots, but Jake tested at 92 this morning which is good, but I am uncertain on how to proceed from here. His dosage was recently raised from 1 to 1-1/4U BID and his numbers have improved. But my vet tells me that no matter what, Jake should get at least some insulin BID to prevent the redvelopment of ketones - you may recall he has been recovering from DKA - even if it is just a "tick" of insulin when he is this low. So far, I have fed Jake about 1-1/2 ounces of food, but have done nothing else. It has been one hour since his 92 reading and his food intake. How much and when should I give him him his morning dose. Depending on that, I will know what to do with his evening dose. Jake has never been regulated - this may be the start of something good. Please advise!!!
Thanks,
Judy & Jake
Thanks,
Judy & Jake