02/28 Gentle+9 199 PMPS 314 +3.5 249

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 60

Wow, look at that AMPS. Could that be a fluke or the food. I hope it continues. Great number.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 60 +1.5 160

Tina & Sami said:
Wow, look at that AMPS. Could that be a fluke or the food. I hope it continues. Great number.

I don't know either but it would be good to see him stay green/blue for a while
Shot 2.50U, all 5 ps observed. He's doing good. :smile:
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 60 +1.5 160

Did you shoot 30 min. late? And if so, the +1.5 was 90 min. after your AMPS?

If this were me, I probably would have stalled the shot for a bit to see if I had a surf or a rising number. This is the lowest number you've ever gotten at PS time and you don't have a lot of green going on. Stalling in 15 min. increments then re-testing without feeding can let you know what's going on with the numbers. As it turns out, numbers were on their way up so shooting the full dose was a good idea.

BTW, your dose isn't listed on your SS.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 60 +1.5 160

Sienne and Gabby said:
Did you shoot 30 min. late? And if so, the +1.5 was 90 min. after your AMPS?

yes, for a variety of reasons we were'nt able to do the BG immediately after. The BG and shot came 90 mins. after the regular AMPS.
We'll be using the new 12 hour cycle, therefore 9:30pm will be our PMPS.

If this were me, I probably would have stalled the shot for a bit to see if I had a surf or a rising number.

We agree, if that had been possible. We intend to do that the next time.

This is the lowest number you've ever gotten at PS time and you don't have a lot of green going on. Stalling in 15 min. increments then re-testing without feeding can let you know what's going on with the numbers. As it turns out, numbers were on their way up so shooting the full dose was a good idea.

BTW, your dose isn't listed on your SS.

yup, thanks for that catch ! the dose was 2.50F we were trying to stay consistent.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 160 +3.5 135

yes, I hope my last message explains what was happening.

It was suggested a while back that if we get a low number for the AM or PM, and we have to wait to shoot. that we make that number the +12. and the new BG number prior to the shot the AMPS or PMPS number.

Is this the way everyone does it? It makes sense.??
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 160 +3.5 135

just so I'm clear (it's a little confusing now because the original AMBG of 60 isn't in your first posts anymore!):

+12 ~ 60
+13.5 (AMPS) ~ 160 (shot 2.5 units)
+1.5 ~ 135

Is that right?

Then yes, keep your new shot time until you're able to move it back gradually. It's good that Gentle is coming down again already!
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle AMPS 160 +3.5 135

Libby and Lucy said:
just so I'm clear (it's a little confusing now because the original AMBG of 60 isn't in your first posts anymore!):

+12 ~ 60
+13.5 (AMPS) ~ 160 (shot 2.5 units)
+1.5 ~ 135

Is that right?

Yes, thank you ! :cool: Thanks for the clarity !

Then yes, keep your new shot time until you're able to move it back gradually. It's good that Gentle is coming down again already!
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle +12 60 AMPS (+13.5)160 +1.5 135 +5 67 +5.5 36

Gentle hitting 36 at +5.5. We'll be trying to assist in his surf. mixing a little HC with his Evo 2%
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle +12 60 AMPS (+13.5)160 +1.5 135 +5 67 +5.5 36

Yup - this is decidedly a HC moment!! And, Gentle earned a dose reduction. Great catch and congrats.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61

Sienne and Gabby said:
Yup - this is decidedly a HC moment!! And, Gentle earned a dose reduction. Great catch and congrats.

Thanks! Just to be clear on the reduction, we are taking him back down to 2.50 U unfattened right? Not anything as drastic as 2.25?
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61

It sounds like you are leaning toward taking the fat off. (And to clarify, if you were to take the 0.25 reduction, it would be to a fat 2.25.) It's your choice how much you reduce. Just keep in mind that Gentle really wanted that reduction with a 36 and he may still want less insulin. You are very good about monitoring so if you take the fat off, just keep an eye on your kitty's numbers.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61

Whoa Gentle!

Decrease for sure, congrats! I do think that hitting a 36 on a cycle where you stalled the shot for 1.5 hours is a pretty clear dose reduction signal and would indicate that he really needed the reduction (meaning a 0.25 reduction). If you want to try just taking the fat off instead, you test enough to be able to try that, just be prepared in case he drops out again.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61 +7.5 98

Thank you all so much for your input, I think we'll try the fattened 2.25 at PM, and go from there.
Gentle is still hanging in the green, fingers crossed
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61 +7.5 98

good luck with the reduction!
keep an eye on the numbers. there's a *possibility* the furshot that was re-shot the day before yesterday may have something to do with the low number today. if it looks like the reduction isn't holding, take the dose back up.
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61 +7.5 98

I didn't see the note on your SS about the re-shoot. Someone did happen to mention that unless you deliberately shot the insulin into the air, it's a really bad idea to give a second shot, didn't they?
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61 +7.5 98 +9 199 PMPS 314

Gentle seeming fine, but i'm definitely not liking the higher number I must've missed something. Shot 2.25U (fattened), fed him EVO2% mixed with FF 3%.

Also, I've discovered the insert comments function within the spreadsheet, and will be adding notes and stuff there, doesn't make the ss so misshapen.
I'll continue to test him tonight, and hope he starts to go down again.
:-|
 
Re: 02/28 Gentle+5 67 +5.5 36 +5.75 61 +7.5 98 +9 199 PMPS 314

he's bouncing from the 36, it's to be expected. It will clear out on its own.
 
Gentle's well, I'll make sure he's got a catnip pillow and a small snack to carry him overnight, hopefully he'll be in really good shape tomorrow.
G'night all! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top