8/4 Max Amps 83 +22.25 166 +23 223

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Max earned a dose reduction last night. He was at 2.25SK. I guess I go to 2.0SK.

He is still drinking water often, but maybe that's the CRF instead of the diabetes. He will suddenly get up and go straight to his water bowl. Then, he'll stand there for a few seconds. He seems to be thinking about having a drink. He eventually drinks each time.
 
Re: 8/4 Max +10.75 89

Go Max, go! :)

Hope you and Emma got some sleep last night this morning!

Suze
 
Re: 8/4 Max +10.75 89 +11.5 83

Huh? What planet am I on?

Thanks, Suze. Emma slept on the couch next to me from about 11 to 3. She was on her stomach with her feet hanging off the couch, and then she slipped down and was standing on the floor with her head on the couch - still asleep. Kids! Then, in the bed, we slept from 3:30 to 7. Thank you, Emma, for waking me up at 7! OMG! Max was very appreciative. He was hungry, but not yet hungry enough to wake me up.

I found some instant coffee in the back of the cupboard. Emma's fussy. She got very mad at a deflated bicycle tire just now. I changed her diaper, and put her on the floor with crayons and a Scooby Doo coloring book. She's calm now.

I'm getting ready for Max's pre-shot.
 
Re: 8/4 Max +10.75 89

Looking good so far. Dale....usually this stuff up until his PS would go in yesterday's condo subject line. You would start the new condo with the AMPS.

I always look for you on the old condo until AMPS :-D
 
Re: 8/4 Max +10.75 89 +11.5 83 AMPS 83

Hello, I gave Max 2.0 skinny this morning. He ate well, and went outside because Emma would not leave him alone.

Here we go again. He's just surfing along.

Marje, I can't thank you enough, and Sienne, too, for helping me screw up the courage to try TR. Once I get some sleep, I'll be even more grateful. :lol:
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83

Jane, thanks to you, too, again! Isn't it amazing? You are in S.A., and the internet let you help me through a long night that will be significant in Max's treatment?! So cool!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83

max&emmasmommie said:
Jane, thanks to you, too, again! Isn't it amazing? You are in S.A., and the internet let you help me through a long night that will be significant in Max's treatment?! So cool!

Absolutely, Dale! I'm so happy about how amazingly you're progressing! Those are some BOS you have there!! I'm so happy for you!!
I'm so glad I got to help you out a bit!

Jane
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85

He's doing great! Is this unusual for a cat to suddenly start to progress like this? I see that with TR there is a high remission rate. I thought it was 50% but then I saw 85%? Is it usually much slower? Am I playing with fire or is this good? I mean, obviously, I have to really pay close attention when he earning reductions this quickly, but where are we on a scale of 1 to 10 in terms of how it usually goes 1 being slow, 10 being really fast in earning reductions?
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85

The rate of remission in lantus/levemir is high for cats started on it prior to being FD for six months. There can also be a lot of variables working for Max here...like his AB helping him out and you putting him on TR.

He's doing fine.n I've seen cats earn reductions every other cycle so we have tos low that down a bit. I don't think he's going too fast right now...he and you are doing super.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85

Congratulations on Max's reduction dose. I was watching, and it was a very exciting condo yesterday, and you sure had BOS. Looking good today, too! Glad you found some coffee, too! Go Max!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85

Dale

I have to go pick up my central vac head and so Sienne is going to watch out for you all but you know what you're doing. Just let her know if you have any questions....and there are alot of folks around
who can be super helpful. I'll check back in when I get back. Gracie is just giving me a chance to go out for this.

Thanks....happy surfing!!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 Oh, Boy!!!! Q????

So much for surfing! He's at 50. Can he earn another reduction or a shave or should I just give him LC now?
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 Oh, Boy!!!! Q????

I'd give Max a teaspoon or two of LC and re-test in 30 min. This is great!!

What you're seeing is that Max found his "magic" dose. When that happens, everything snaps into place.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 Oh, Boy!!!! Q???? +2.25 50

I fed him a tsp of LC just now at +2.25, and I'll test at +2.75. Thanks, Sienne. I hope this doesn't mean he won't earn more reductions :-( Pout!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

Hmm. 9 points is not much :smile: Falls well within meter variance (20%) and is at best a surf, I would say. I would probably feed a smidge more and re-test. You know, "lather, rinse, repeat." But I'm sure others will weigh in. A surf in the 50s is great - it's just that he'll have to be a VERY good boy and stay on that surfboard... How much longer can you be up? (Sorry, it's late here, I'm getting timezone tunnelvision!)

Jane
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

Looks like Max is determined to run down the dosing ladder!

Carl
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

Great stuff. Can you stick with this a bit longer? If he just ate, it'd be good to see a couple of non-food-related BGs showing he's safe, like last time.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

Oh, yes, I'm with him. He's at 62 at +6

He ate LC. I don't like the way he hides when he's this low. He's clearly wanting to get where nothing can find him, so he won't have to deal with any dangers while he is this low. I don't think it's just that I'm stabbing him in the ear. I think it's a survival instinct.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

I've seen Marjorie online just now and Sienne also. This day has sucker-punched me - are you ok here? Otherwse I'll stay up with you.
Jane
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +2.25 50 +2.75 59 +3.25 56

Yeah, it sucker-punched me, too. I need a break!!!! LOL

I'm ok. Max always responds to LC, but I have HC, too. I'll keep an eye on him. I'm not going anywhere.

Thank you, Jane, how are you? How is the OTJ kitty? I'll check on your posts later and find out!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83 +1 85 +2 50 +5.75 47 +6 62 +6.75 48 +7 5

Now we are at +7, and we get 54. Not much of a bump up. It was HC food, too. Oh, boy. I'm going to have to get more strips before tonight.

QUESTION: Is it important that I shoot low tonight? Or could I take a break and still get good results for him tomorrow. I'm so tired from last night, and I didn't take a nap today. I'll be up all night again, I think, but I can't do this again tomorrow.

I gave him LC food at the time of the last test result (69 at +7.5).
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 50+5.75 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54 Tonig

Talk about fast-tracking it. :) Did he earn yet another dose reduction? Wow!!!!

Dale, it's funny because Pumbaa hides from me when his numbers are high. When they're low, he is out in the open but plays the "catch me if you can" game at testing time.

Can your hubby take over for a few hours so you can get a nap in? You're doing great but you must be exhausted!

Suze
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 50+5.75 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 6

OK. We've got time.

I'm weighing pros and cons. It's looking to me like you may need to get ahead of the insulin depot. In other words, it's a little too full. That's why you were seeing 40s today even after the reduction. It's not always a good idea to take back-to-back reductions -- they usually don't hold. On the other hand, it's not good to have a bean that's exhausted. I want to get some input re. whether a BCS dose for tonight or just skipping might be a consideration. On the other hand, we don't know where Max will be at shot time. Ultimately, I think it's going to be your call.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 50+5.75 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 6

Thank you. I wish I could skip and have him be fine all night, but I know that's not possible. I'll have to be up checking and checking just as if I gave him a shot.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

He dropped again to 54 (at +8) from 69 in 1/2 an hour. Maybe it's the second dip, but I don't like it!
I'll test him at +8.5 again

Here are the feeding times:

+8.25 (tried to feed High Carb but he doesn't want it)
+8~54
+7.5~69 fed Low Carb
+6.75~48 fed High Carb
+6.0~62 fed Low Carb
+5.75~47 fed Low Carb
+2.75~59
+2.25 fed Low Carb
+2.0~47
+0.0 fed Low Carb
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Hey Dale

I've been out all day but checked in on your condo ....I knew Sienne and Jane were watching.

I agree with Sienne that we need to see where he is tonight before you decide what you want to do. If you decide to skip, you don't have to be up all night checking him. I know you are exhausted and you have to take
care of you.

Even though he went below 50 again today, it's probably depot and you don't want to take another reduction just yet...but we've got time to see what he's doing before you shoot.

Whatever you decide to do, I'll be around to help if you need it. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Thanks, Marje.

Thank you, Sienne, for thinking about this. I'll let you know where he is at +11 which is 3.25 hour away. At the moment: he test at 53 at +8.5. I think he's surfing again.
+8.5~53
+8.25 (tried to feed High Carb but he doesn't want it)
+8~54
+7.5~69 fed Low Carb
+6.75~48 fed High Carb
+6.0~62 fed Low Carb
+5.75~47 fed Low Carb
+2.75~59
+2.25 fed Low Carb
+2.0~47
Shot: 2.0SK
+0.0 fed Low Carb
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

+9,0~55 fed High Carb, and he ate it
+8.5~53
+8.25 (tried to feed High Carb but he doesn't want it)
+8.0~54
+7.5~69 fed Low Carb
+6.75~48 fed High Carb
+6.0~62 fed Low Carb
+5.75~47 fed Low Carb
+2.75~59
+2.25 fed Low Carb
+2.0~47
Shot: 2.0SK
+0.0 fed Low Carb
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

FWIW, when a cat is in high numbers, the bean is understandably worried and wants the numbers to come down. And then when you hit that just right dose and the numbers start to come down, it can be a much more challenging time for the bean. It's exhausting and nerve wracking.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Oh Dale, Ive come to show my support! Lovely string of numbers of Max makes mumbeans on LL felt so happy for you. Yes it's exhausting but remember Max is in a healing zone! Take short nap, set the alarm.
Max, surf on the lovely green! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Sienne, You can say that again! Thanks. Yes, if you have full shed, and your need for that dose drops down, then the shed is going to be overflowing for a while after the dose is changed. This is just the way it is. It's exhausting. I don't know how someone who has to go to the store to buy test strips, etc. does it. I can't leave.

Tortie, That is so kind of you! Max wants to lie on the keyboard right now. He seems to walk around the house a little confused. He can't decide where he wants to lie down. On the stuffed dog? On the baby's pack and play mattress? On a pile of clothes? He must feel the same way I feel when I have low BG -- anxious and confused. He wants to be near one of us adults, but not the baby, lol. Earlier, I found him lying on the bathmat while my husband was taking a shower. Poor thing.

His BG's 59 at +9.5.
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Oh, my gosh; I have a full life!

Emma has been running around the house getting into everything after she refused to let me feed her today. She wants to feed herself, but she doesn't know how to use a spoon. She wants to learn. So, I have to put the food on the spoon, and watch her smear it all over herself - her face and chest, then drip it on her leg and rub it in like a lotion with her hand, getting it all over her diaper, etc. Finally, she put her finger in the food that was on the spoon and then put her finger in her mouth. She got a tiny amount in her mouth. Then, she held the spoon out for me to put more food on it despite the vast amount that was still there.

I get done with that, and I start trying to eat some chips and guacamole, right? (while I have a fake chicken patty in the toaster oven), and I'm watching to test Max on time. Emma took off her diaper. I figured, "Oh, well, I'm going to finish these chips." She came over to stand next to me, and the next thing I know my feet are splattered with pee. She peed A LOT all over the floor. At least she's not dehydrated.

I grabbed a dishtowel, wiped up the pee, put her diaper back on, and then went out into the garage to put the dishtowel in the laundry. Who follows me into the garage? Not just Emma, Max, too! I have to get them both back inside before a spider gets one of them or Max hides and I have to crawl through cobwebs to pull him out, etc. While I'm catching Max, Emma gets the open container of laundry detergent, and starts to try to carry it into the house . . . Oh, my. How am I going to survive this? LOL
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

+10~67
+9.5~59
+9.0~55 fed High Carb, and he ate it
+8.5~53
+8.25 (tried to feed High Carb but he doesn't want it)
+8.0~54
+7.5~69 fed Low Carb
+6.75~48 fed High Carb
+6.0~62 fed Low Carb
+5.75~47 fed Low Carb
+2.75~59
+2.25 fed Low Carb
+2.0~47
Shot: 2.0SK
+0.0 fed Low Carb
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

That story made me laugh out loud! At least Emma wasn't spitting her food across the room, too!! Sorry about the pee puddle. (That is what made me laugh, though.) Despite all of the goings on, you haven't lost your sense of humor!!
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

You are amazing, Dale....and that you keep your sense of humor, too. What else are you going to do?
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps83+1 85+2 47+6 62+6.75 48+7 54+7.5 69 +8 54

Hi again,
I love that story.
I laughed out loud too.
You have had quite the 24 hr sprint.

I remember those days too well.
I hope you get a day to relax soon.

eat chips, no interuption.

well, you probably won't get that for a while, huh?
 
Re: 8/4 Max Amps 83+1 85+2 47 +11 80

Well, my husband would tell you I have my sense of humor only after the fact! In the midst of the chaos, I'm freaking out unless I'm helping someone else -- even my cat. Then, I can be calm.

He's at 80 for +11. I didn't make a point to feed him at +10, and he's not hungry now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top