7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) +5(269) +7(273) +8(278)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/10 Hershey

HAPPY WEDNESDAY!!

In case you missed it -
PMPS (419)
+8 (180)
+9 (180)


We got more rain overnight/early morning - another YAY!! No standing water, so the ground is still parched, but THANKFUL for the rain we've gotten!!!

Went to bed 'early' last night, but couldn't sleep. Got back up 1-1/2 hours later to find Hershey had used the litterbox. So much for checking ketones :YMSIGH: - tricksy hobbit...

Hershey was (180) when I went to bed at 4am and I was afraid of what I'd awaken to. But, not too shabby.

Going to the vet tomorrow. Anything y'all can think of I need to be sure to discuss with her? Dental...??...?? Thanks!

Y'all have a wonderful day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (245) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00am
+3.5 (176)
+5 (86) - fed
+6 (86) - finishing his +5 food
+7 (89)
+8 (153)

PMPS (374) Almost +12.25 - Shot .75u at 7:10pm
+3.5 (336)
+5 (269) - fed
+7 (273)
+8 (278)
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245)

Hi Libby, nice with the 180 at the +8 and 9! Glad you had some rain. Good luck with the Vetty tomorrow. Is it a general check-up. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245)

There's lots of info here about dentals. One thing to be aware of is that it's often hard to see exactly what's going on in a cat's mouth when the cat is awake. Here's a link to the dental info.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245)

Good luck with the vet visit!
Usually when I want to get urine sample for ketone, I clear the lb first. My cats love to go in immediately when there is fresh sand or it's clean. Easier this way ;-)
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176)

Hey, Ann. Thanks. Tomorrow's visit is for a feline leukemia test for Hershey and Oreo. Just thought I'd ask any questions as long as we're there. It's the first time the vet has seen Hershey since his diagnosis last Nov.

Hey, Sienne. Thanks for the dental link - WOW, lots of information. I'll check it out.

Hey, Helen. Yeah, we always clean the litterbox first. Used to be Hershey couldn't resist a clean LB, not so when we're trying to get a specimen. He will regularly wait until we're all asleep to go...ugh - Will keep trying, though. I thought he had gotten used to it, but guess he didn't want me getting too comfortable with his compliance. ;-)

+3.5 (176)
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176)

Hi guys .. nice looking numbers for hershey! Good luck with the vetty visit tomorrow .. and yes, there is a ton of dental information on here .. so many questions to ask, so little time right? have a great day!
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86)

Thanks, Devon and Jane. I had wanted Hershey to have some good numbers to show. Didn't mean for him to wait and show them all today! :lol:

+5 (86) - fed
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86)

Wow-serz! Look at that green!

I'll have to update myself on your SS to see if it's been happening a lot!

We got rain, too- and 40% today for more. All my weeds are now looking healthy :lol: . But I haven't had to water the garden at all for 3 days :mrgreen: .
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86)

Looks like Hershey and Shakespeare have been exchanging Kitty PMs. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86)

NICE!!! Good luck at the vet tomorrow. I hope your vet will be impressed at how well hershey is doing.

Are you getting a full blood workup done? When was the last time? Most of us get one at least on or better twice a year. Urine tests are better if they are done by Cystocentesis. Other than USG samples from the litter box are too easily contaminated.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86) +6(86)

Hey, Heather - My son came home last weekend to mow the grass while Doug has a bum wing. I asked him if it was bad. He said, the grass wasn't very tall, but the weeds sure were growing! The only standing water we had today was droplets on my flowers, so clearly we're still in NEED of more rain. We didn't even have a garden this year. Just as well. No rain and Doug's shoulder...

Yes, the full moon night was a fun one. ;-) But, Hershey doesn't always need a full moon to throw a party. :lol:

Hey, Carl - Yeah, Shakespeare, WOW! He and Hershey may have been exchanging PM's :lol:

Hey, Ella - Thanks. My kitties HATE going to the vet. Doug always offers to help, but they won't let him. It would be soooo much easier all the way around if they'd let him handle the boys. :YMSIGH:

Hey, Ann - We're going in for feline leukemia tests and shots (if they're still negative, of course). I don't know that she has anything else planned. Hershey had bloodwork done last Nov, when he was diagnosed. Sorry for my absolute ignorance, I googled and learned what "cystocentesis" is, but when I googled "USG" I got everything from US Geological Survey to Ulysses S. Grant. :lol: Please enlighten me, if you don't mind. Thanks for the well wishes for tomorrow. I hope she's impressed, too.

As far as I can tell, we're her only patients feeding low-carb all wet, shooting low doses, home-testing, etc., so I almost feel like we bear responsibility for those who follow and want to do the same. She was less than supportive of us trying this, so that's another reason I wanted something positive, something unarguable to show. Know what I mean?

I'm still torn about getting the vaccine tomorrow...we lost our first kitty to feline leukemia and it wasn't pretty. We stopped vaccinating a few years ago since they're inside kitties and we're not planning to get more. (Not sure Hershey wasn't exposed, so thinking a test will set everyone's mind at ease.) I've read on a couple of sites that they no longer recommend it like they used to. But, is it detrimental or simply unnecessary? But...maybe that's a thought for another thread??? Problem is, I have to feel comfortable making a decision TOMORROW!
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86) +6(86)

Have you read through Dr. Lisa's page on vaccines? There is a lot of good info on what is needed and what is not.

:lol: :lol: USG in this reference is Urine Specific Gravity, how concentrated the urine is. Too dilute a urine can be an indicator of kidney problems, although some cats like Tess tend toward the lower side. (I think the canned food plus the extra water we add makes a difference. A lot of the test standards were set w/ tests on cats eating %#@# dry food!) What I was getting at on the urine sample was that there can be bacteria and other nasties which are external that can contaminate a urine sample by just touching fur on the way out. The only way to get a "clean" sample is by cysto, directly from the bladder.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +3.5(176) +5(86) +6(86)

Thanks, Ann. I have read Dr. Lisa's vaccine information, but not recently, so think I'll read it, again. Gotcha on the urine specimen. Yeah, I was wondering how Ulysses S. Grant was going to collect urine from Hershey. ;-) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89)

Truly, I'm not just poking hourly for kicks and giggles. This is still so new (especially the string of greens) and I don't want him to drop like a rock and me miss it.

+7 (89)

I'm nervous about going to the vet tomorrow. I feel like I know what I'm doing...okay, with y'all holding my hand and me being able to go back and read documents and threads, I'm learning what I'm doing. ;-) But, I can't always recall what I want to when speaking with the vet. For example, she (and another vet I spoke with) think kitties should stay 200+. The other vet was actually alarmed once when Hershey saw 75. I KNOW these are safe numbers, but want to be able to state my case intelligently, know what I mean, Vern? (Got to love Ernest P. Worrell!)
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89)

Hi Libby. omigoodness, Hershey is looking soooo good today. :mrgreen:

I'm so jealous that you got at least some rain. I was walking thru the grass today and it was scratching my legs. :lol:
I don't want to mow, until we get rain, but now it's turning brown, so what does it matter?
Too much 'lawn' to water, in the country.

Good luck with the vetty visit tomorrow. :smile:
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89)

Hershey is just showing off with those nice set of greens today. Make sure you take the results from today into the vet!
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89)

What a nice flat GREEN cycle!

A lot of vets are unused to beans who are willing to test BG levels. As long as you keep careful track normal BG levels (50 - 120) are perfectly safe on insulin, but for beans who don't test it is safer for cats to be kept higher. Although, :? how do you know if the cat is staying above 200 if you don't test? Also, fructosamine tests aren't necessary if you are testing regularly, they show the average BG level over several weeks. I saw a different vet than the one who had been seeing Tess and she commented that i should get a fructosamine since it hadn't been done in some time. I asked why, since I test Tess 8 times a day and always know exactly where her BG is. She had no answer to that. :lol: :lol: Take a copy of your SS in or better yet give them the link so they can check it any time! Have you given them a copy of the Roomp and Rand study? Vets tend to be more comfortable when they can see a study published in a professional journal. Sienne has a good link, I can't find it right now.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89)

Found it! :-D :-D There are 2 links in this post to published versions in pdf format that Julie uploaded. The link in the protocols sticky just led to an abstract and you needed to be registered to read the whole thing. All very official looking and should impress! WE aren't just a bunch of online fanatics making this all up!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89) +8(153)

"And the rains CAME down..." MAN! Is it raining!!!! No thunder or lightning at this point, just RAIN!!! WOO-HOO!!!!!

Thanks, Barb. I know what you mean about grass dying. Our ditch is kind of steep, so Doug told Joseph not to worry about mowing it because he usually week-eats it. Joseph said, "No problem, Dad, everything in the ditch is dead!" :lol:

Thanks, Wendy, so glad to have a few better numbers to show tomorrow.

**Oh, and we're the only ones on an insulin other than ProZinc.**

Ann, Well, you wouldn't know if you weren't home-testing. But, I guess if you're feeding dry...I sent her the link to Hershey's SS. At first she said she couldn't open it, but later sent an email saying he looked good. I think her initial reaction to 'my' ideas was that she'd never been questioned before. She was much more like herself when we spoke on the phone AND she did consent to write a prescription for an insulin she's never used. So, I think she's trying; Doug said she just wrote the prescription to get me off her back. :lol: I'm trying to stay positive, though. :-D When we spoke in January, she cautioned me not to believe everything I found on the internet. ;-) I have not given her a copy of the study because we had been on ProZinc, but think it's a good idea to share that with her now. Thanks for the link!!

So, now we have some thunder, but not a full-blown storm...and STANDING WATER in the driveway! :o

And, the greens are gone for now, but blues are pretty, too :-D

+8 (153)
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89) +8(153)

Looks like you guys had a grand day and excellent numbers to show the vet how good you guys are doing! :cool:
Keep up the good work. Good luck tomorrow at the vet, hope it’s not too stressful for the kitties.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey AMPS(245) +5(86) +6(86) +7(89) +8(153)

Wow! Hershey had a wonderful day too!!
So happy to see that you guys are doing so well!
Good luck at the vet and with the dental!!
keep us posted :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) :-(

Thanks, Donna and Denise. I'm hoping Hershey has more good numbers to show the vet tomorrow. It'd be awesome if he had a good number while AT the vet, but pretty sure that's just a pipe dream...

How quickly we can become spoiled - I was majorly bummed by the PMPS

PMPS (374) Almost +12.25 - Shot .75u at 7:10pm

The wonderful thing about Tiggers
Is Tiggers are wonderful things
Their tops are made out of rubber
Their bottoms are made out of springs...
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) :-(

Don't be bummed.

This is to accompany your song...

:smile:
Carl
 

Attachments

  • tigger.gif
    tigger.gif
    7.9 KB · Views: 852
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) :-(

Oh Hershey! You had a good thing going. Make this a short bounce k? Good luck at the vet tomorrow! Have a nice night Libby!
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) +3.5(336)

Lovely greens today for Hershey. Hopefully this bounce will be short and sweet. Yay for rain! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) +3.5(336) +5(269)

Thanks, Liz. Hope the bounce is gone soon. And, YES! RAIN!!!! This afternoon, it rained for over an hour, just a nice steady rain - wonderful!!

+5 (269) - fed
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) +3.5(336) +5(269)

Very nice green for Hershey today.

I hope all goes well at the vet. If you get bloodwork, let us know and we can help interpret it. I find that sometimes vets miss things :o

We made sure everyone was FeLV and FIV negative and we don't vaccinate ...our cats also stay indoors.
 
Re: 7/11 Hershey PMPS(374) +3.5(336) +5(269) +7(273)

Hey, Michelle - Never too late for a visit. :-D Sorry, I didn't get by to see you today. Been busy all day, but can't say for sure what I was doing... @-) Yes, the greens were SO NICE to see!

Hey, Marje - Thanks for stopping by and for the well wishes for the vet. We've been back and forth about vaccinating. I think we're leaning towards not vaccinating. Guess I should call the vet in the morning and let them know we want the test, but not the vaccine...not sure if they open something or whatever and sure don't want to get charged for something we're not getting...like those pills I got charged for when I was in the hospital 12/10...but, that's another soapbox. ;-) Thanks for the offer to interpret the bloodwork.

I was thinking of asking about a urinalysis if they didn't do one last Nov. A vet friend asked if they did one to rule out underlying infections and I said I didn't know. Honestly, until Hershey was diagnosed with FD, we just did whatever the vet said and trusted she was up on whatever and would steer us wherever we needed to go. I don't know WHY we were that way...I'm NOT that way with my kids and their physicians... :YMSIGH: Anyhoo - I asked for a copy of what was done and was only given bloodwork, so I'm guessin' no urinalysis was done. So, I'm thinkin' it may be a good idea? Thoughts????

+7 (273)

And, failed to note at +5 NEGATIVE ketones - caught him! :-D
 
I sent the Tilley link and the Rand link to the vet since it was way too much to think of printing. I also sent a brief - Cliff Notes Version, if you will - of the protocol from the newbie page.

+8 (278)

While I'd rather Hershey surf in the yellows than the pinks or higher, I wish he'd come down a little more this cycle. I feel certain he'll be 300+ before shot time...

Goodnight, Y'all...Sweet Dreams...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top