Thanks Sienne. We're definitely keeping the points you raise in mind. Karre's most likely not a classic "long term diabetic" though, since he only needed insulin for 5 weeks after his diagnosis, and then spent three and a half years being completely off it

His insulin-dependent days were few, thank goodness. So we know he's got a very good chance of being weaned off the juice again.
We'll hope for a few all-green cycles. Thank goodness, as shown in his SS, the "nearly all green" criterion has definitely been approached, and if he keeps up the numbers he's had, and even improves them a smidge, he'll hopefully qualify for his next decrease. But we're not in a rush. Karre needs to be safe and do this in his own time. We read up again on the Tilly-Protocol's guidelines, of course, since that's what we stuck to under LL guidance the first brief time Karre needed insulin assistance.
Quoted from the Tilly Protocol (
www.tillydiabetes.net):
"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further."
Thanks for keeping us aware of the safest practise, Sienne! It's great to have you giving us feedback!
Jane