Sara & Magnolia
Member Since 2009
WCR: Demanding, Furry, Lovey. 5 P's are good.
Vet update: Her vet called me last night with the results of the urinalysis. No UTI. She said the actual concentration (?) of urine was very good. She was worried about her kidneys due to the slightly elevated CRE level last week (2.4, up from 1.4 in October). She said if she is having kidney issues, it may be in a very early stage and that she feels comfortable to proceed with the dental on Tuesday. The rest of the kidney values in the blood panel were good. She will give extra iv fluids during the procedure to try to help the kidneys flush out the anesthesia. She also said the anesthesia she uses, Isoflurane, is kidney friendly.
Has anyone else ever seen an unexplained, elevated CRE? I know it can be early kidney disfunction, but she had mentioned that it's something you might see in trauma, car accidents..etc. The night they took Magnolia's blood, she fought them valiantly for at least 15 minutes. She screamed and howled, hissed and swatted, even tried to bite. Eventually, they had to wrap her in blankets to get blood. That night, and the next day she was so weak, walking gently, she couldn't even jump up on the couch. I would consider this muscle trauma...but is it possible that could have caused the elevated CRE? I didn't get a chance to ask the vet yet, but I thought I'd ask here in the meantime.
I asked her about the crown amputation and she said they do x-rays to see how advanced it is. If it has not advanced far enough, they do extract and scrape the bone fragments, but she felt quite strongly that Magnolia's teeth are far in the process of absorbing. She also advised me to lower the insulin dose to get ready for the dental. She said it's better to have a higher BG during the procedure than to have a very low BG and have to give glucose. She said I will definitely skip the morning shot and unless she is high, skip the shot the night before.
After the dental, I have a feeling we'll be searching for her dose again. Thanks Jill, for all the info last night. I don't know how I miss the black and white things in the protocol. I see that I needed 7 days of flat greens before the decrease. I'm going to try to hold this done until after the dental.
Yesterday's Condo
Link to all the dental info from last weeks condo
Yesterday's Recap:
+11 91
+12 58
+12, 15min 55
AMPS 66 (+12, 30 min)
+1.5 61
+2 72
PMPS 103
+1.5 88
+3.5 65
Vet update: Her vet called me last night with the results of the urinalysis. No UTI. She said the actual concentration (?) of urine was very good. She was worried about her kidneys due to the slightly elevated CRE level last week (2.4, up from 1.4 in October). She said if she is having kidney issues, it may be in a very early stage and that she feels comfortable to proceed with the dental on Tuesday. The rest of the kidney values in the blood panel were good. She will give extra iv fluids during the procedure to try to help the kidneys flush out the anesthesia. She also said the anesthesia she uses, Isoflurane, is kidney friendly.
Has anyone else ever seen an unexplained, elevated CRE? I know it can be early kidney disfunction, but she had mentioned that it's something you might see in trauma, car accidents..etc. The night they took Magnolia's blood, she fought them valiantly for at least 15 minutes. She screamed and howled, hissed and swatted, even tried to bite. Eventually, they had to wrap her in blankets to get blood. That night, and the next day she was so weak, walking gently, she couldn't even jump up on the couch. I would consider this muscle trauma...but is it possible that could have caused the elevated CRE? I didn't get a chance to ask the vet yet, but I thought I'd ask here in the meantime.
I asked her about the crown amputation and she said they do x-rays to see how advanced it is. If it has not advanced far enough, they do extract and scrape the bone fragments, but she felt quite strongly that Magnolia's teeth are far in the process of absorbing. She also advised me to lower the insulin dose to get ready for the dental. She said it's better to have a higher BG during the procedure than to have a very low BG and have to give glucose. She said I will definitely skip the morning shot and unless she is high, skip the shot the night before.
After the dental, I have a feeling we'll be searching for her dose again. Thanks Jill, for all the info last night. I don't know how I miss the black and white things in the protocol. I see that I needed 7 days of flat greens before the decrease. I'm going to try to hold this done until after the dental.
Yesterday's Condo
Link to all the dental info from last weeks condo
Yesterday's Recap:
+11 91
+12 58
+12, 15min 55
AMPS 66 (+12, 30 min)
+1.5 61
+2 72
PMPS 103
+1.5 88
+3.5 65