2/24 AMPS 85 +2 52 +6 70 - lower dosage or skip?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Melanie and Smokey, Feb 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Melanie and Smokey

Melanie and Smokey Well-Known Member

Called the vet at the 52 just to see if I should be doing more than encouraging food since she had a few hours before bottom, she said drop to 2 units tonite or skip if under 100. I have heard skipping is not good.

I am just starting out home testing these past couple of weeks because she been getting such low numbers at the vet. Smokey has been on the insulin since Dec 28. started at 1 unit, raised to 2 @ 2 weeks, @3 units for the past month. We've removed very high card hard food from the diet and they now get wet 2X a day right after the shot with hard Purina DM available free feed.

Any opinions on the evening dosage? Follow vet instructions? Give at least a small dose even if she is still relatively low? I see varying recommendation of keep between 50-80, keep between 70-120, don't dose if under 150 @-)

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... vRWc&hl=en

2. Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Melanie,
    I read your post on health. Congratulations on learning to home test and these are great numbers! :D I don't have enough experience to suggest what you should do about tonight's dose (although 3 U sounds like a lot to me and I wouldn't be surprised if what you were told on the other board is what you'll be told here) but I'm sure someone will see this soon.

Welcome to LL and I wanted to reply so I could bump you up ad also suggest that you read the "stickies" on the top of this page IF you haven't already.
    Might help if you put an exclamation icon in your subject line (then remove it after you've received help)

Hang in there!

Caryl

3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

Hi Melanie and welcome.