6/18 Jinx PMPS 252, +3 341

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364

Hi guys .. jinx, jinx, jinx .. what are we going to do with you? You know how much we love seeing you in the lower numbers, so come on down! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +4 135

Looks like he listened to you guys. A nice +4 in the blue! Now he just needs to poo out all that food he ate yesterday. :-D Hope you have a great day as well!
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.75 135, +6 32

Oh my god... 32 at +6. Just fed regular afternoon meal and 1 tsp HC. will check in 20 min
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.75 135, +6 32

Joe

That's a big drop between AMPS and +3.75. That would have been my cue to get a +4.5. I'm glad he's fine.

One of the things that might help the bounce is catching the dives. He seems to be clearing his bounces faster now so it might be wise to start getting the +2 tests unless he is on his way up at PS. How do you know at AMPS if he's on his way up? A +10 or +11 test will tell you :-D

It's ok to take the 911 off now and please post your next test number. Thanks!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.75 135, +6 32

I should have gotten a +4.5 Marje. Will post his BG when I test in 6-7 min.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.75 135, +6 32, +6.4 62

62 at +6.4 (20 min after +6 test).

I'm definitely changing my testing regiment. I've really let him down the past two days.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.75 135, +6 32, +6.4 62

I'm glad he's up. Remember that HC can wear off so please stay on top of his numbers. I know he doesn't like testing but I'd lather, rinse, repeat until I was sure numbers aren't wobbling.

I have to go out but you are doing great at bringing him up. I'll check back later.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62, +7 59

Gave second half of his regular LC afternoon meal and will check again in 30.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62, +7 59, +7.

Wow...your Jinx is quite the little diver, too! He's come a long way...good to see him getting blues and greens now!

Suze
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65

Thanks, Suze. He's definitely doing his job. Now, I need to start doing mine and anticipate those dives :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65

Way to go Jinx! Congrats on the reducie! You haven't let him down Joe. You are doing a great job and Jinx is much healthier all because of you. It's all a learning experience. ECID and you are figuring Jinx out. Glad he came up. Have a great night!
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65

Thanks, Melissa. I appreciate it. It's definitely a learning experience and I learned an important lesson today. :-D Hope you have a great night as well!

Just a couple things I'd like to mention that may or may not factor into a reduction from 3.0u to 2.75u tonight.

1. Food change - I've recently started giving Jinx a raw diet which is listed as only having 1% carbs (http://www.primalpetfoods.com/product/d ... uail/id/12). Initially, I think I got him on it too fast so yesterday morning, I started mixing it with his NV canned chicken which is also very low in carbs; <3% if my calculations are correct. (http://www.naturesvariety.com/Instinct/cat/can/chicken). Doesn't seem like the ~1-2% difference would make a substantial difference but that's entirely a guess.

2. Flagyl - He's been off the Flagyl for about 5-6 days now (I'll get exact date and update). Not sure if the antibiotics could have contributed to his high BG #'s before. I've read they can actually lower them.

3. Pred - Still giving 1.25mg pred every other night at +4 so I'm assuming that's not a factor. Unless his body is starting to rid itself of the initial higher doses of pred he was on??


Look forward to hearing everyone's thoughts.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65, +

What % of food was he on before? It all depends on how carb sensitive he is. ECID. Tarragon isn't very carb sensitive but 2% in another kitty could make a big difference.

The flagyl has never affected Tarragon's BGs. I haven't done a lot of research to see what the medical experts say though.

The lower consistent dose of pred could definitely make a difference. Jinx was on a lot higher dose at first right? It can take awhile for the higher levels to get out of the system.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65, +

Wow! Look at Jinx go!

Congrats on the reduction. Keep in mind he'll probably bounce tonight.
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65, +

He was eating NV canned chicken. Based on the ingredients (http://www.naturesvariety.com/Instinct/cat/can/chicken), the carb content appears to be <3%. I didn't get a precise amount because I'm not sure about everything that falls under "Ash."

The pred dose has fluctuated, but since May 31, he's been on ~1.25mg every other day. I first started him off on 5mg every day for the first week or so in January and gradually decreased the dose. For he most part, he's been on 1.25mg every other day.

Thanks, Cathy. If he does bounce tonight, is there a consensus on whether to shoot through the dose and take the reduction in the morning?
 
Re: 6/18 Jinx AMPS 364, +3.7 135, +6 32, +6.4 62... +8 65, +

Jinx did the same thing last time he was on this dose (6/3). He's also clearing a bounce. Seems that some kitties get a little overdramatic when they clear bounces (ahem....yes, Gracie).

Hope he doesn't bounce too high....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top