6/17 Mikey PMPS 65 +1 51 +2.5 61 +3 55 Reduction!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 97
+1 97
+2 51
+2.5 46
+3 61
+4 63 A great morning for Mikey. He did hit 46 yesterday and today. So my question is this...if he drops below 50 for a third time in the next couple of days, he will have earned a reduction...BUT, he will also earn one if he stays in the greens for seven days, right? In that case, should I hold the dose until the seven days is up and then try a reduction, or should I reduce immediately if he gets below 50 again before that seven-day mark and see if it holds? I can see the wisdom in both-if he's dropping into the 40's he may not need the .1U any more, but keeping him on that dose a few more days may also support his pancreas a little longer. Thanks in advance for any thoughts and ideas!

Here's yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73259

Lots of good thoughts and vines to all today!
 
Re: 6/17 Mikey AMPS 97 +1 97 +2 51 +3 61 +4 63 Dose ?

Amy

He's looking very good! If he drops below 50 a third time, you need to reduce his dose....maybe to one drop? I'm not sure how many drops are in your .1u.

I wouldn't continue on the .1u for a full seven days if he goes below 50 three times before that seven days is up. If the shed gets too full, he can get ahead of you. I've been there and it isn't fun. For him, you'd have to skip a shot and drain his shed so it's best to be careful and stay ahead of it.

So third time under 50, reduce. If he stays above 50, hold the dose for a full seven days (counting from 6/15) and then reduce.
 
Re: 6/17 Mikey AMPS 97 +1 97 +2 51 +3 61 +4 63 Dose ?

And +6 104. The blue pretty much throws the 7 days out the window, right? Or could the 1/2 teaspoon of gravy lovers I gave at +2.5 still be in play?
 
Re: 6/17 Mikey AMPS 97 +1 97 +2 51 +3 61 +4 63 +6 104 Dose ?

That is still a normal number (50-120) and with meter variance, it could have been below 100. The modified protocol we use states
try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I wouldn't throw the baby out with the bath water yet. ;-)
 
Re: 6/17 Mikey AMPS 97 +1 97 +2 51 +3 61 +4 63 +8 105 Dose ?

+10 95
PMPS 65
+1 51 (gave a dollop of HC gravy with 2nd supper)
+1.5 46 So Mikey has earned himself a dose reduction! I did some experimenting and found that if I inject .1U of air into the vial and let it bounce back without actually pulling the plunger back, it results in a drop about 1/2 the size of the .1, so I'm thinking that's the way to go, unless someone has a better method.

Fingers crossed this holds!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top