6/11/ Jinx PMPS 396, +3.5 156, +4.5 107, +5.5 88, +6.5 110

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140

Hi guys .. wow wow wow!! Is this the same jinx I've been seeing up in the 400's?? I bet you are grinning from ear to ear! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

Peter and Devon, you're right, I'm very happy right now! He's been doing so much better lately. Hope you have a great day as well!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140

If I weren't on my iPad, I'd put my hand clapping emoticon up. I'd get a +1 and. +2. I'm thinking you probably shot a dropping number which is fine at this level but we want to be sure he is getting a food spike and not a fast drop.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140

thanks! It's exciting to see these lower numbers isn't it? All your hard work and patience is starting to pay off!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140

Jinx is liking this dose! :lol: :lol: Any new tests/

Here you go, from Marje! and from me
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

Thanks, everyone! Forgot to update the original message in today's condo with his +2 until now. Was very happy to see a 144. Will check again at +4 unless advised otherwise.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

If his +2 is the same as his AMPS you could see some action this cycle.
Nice surf so far, Jinx.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

Nice blue surf there Jinx! It really looks like Jinx is liking this dose Joe. So much better than those pinks, huh?

Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

I agree with Dyana...so I wouldn't wait until +4 but I am admittedly a testaholic. Still....if he onsets at +3, you could possibly see a drop.

Thanks Ann :-D Perfect!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144

I know I'd be a testaholic if he was more compliant :-D I will compromise and get a +3.5 :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

Based on upward movement at +3.5, is it unlikely he'll go back down? Either way, I'll get a test in at +5 or +5.5 to see how he's doing.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

WRONG WAY!!! Yes...a +5 is fine since he does not approve of your joining TA. I'm wondering if he went lower last night.......
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

Joe

Just took a look at his SS. Your last test last night was a 130. You probably should have gotten more tests in.....we often will sleep/test. Jinx was clearing a bounce last night. When they clear a bounce, you can't count
on them having a normal nadir. I think he came down and now he's just on his way back up.

At night, if you do his PS and +2 and he's on the way up, then you are ok. If you do his +2 or before bed and he's on his way down, you need rising numbers before you stop for the night. There's no telling how low he went.

This is a lesson I should have taught you before so I apologize for that omission.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

No problem, Marje. If that happens again, I'll make sure to sleep test. Thanks for letting me know.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

You're welcome. Unfortunately, if they are clearing a bounce at night, they might go low all night and not start back up until dawn. So you might not see rising numbers until very late.

I should have looked at your SS this morning when I first got on but I was on my iPad and for some reason, it wouldn't open the SS. Again...many apologies.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161

He may be on his way back up, but let's hope he gets out on the yellow floor and thinks about how much he liked the blue floor.

Joe, if you haven't already, buy stock in coffee makers, coffee, and Red Bull ;-) A few shares of 5 Hour Energy wouldn't hurt either.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161, +5.5 227

C'mon, buddy... Come up nice and easy.

Cathy - I'm hoping for that too. We'll see at PMPS tonight. Also stocked up on all of that stuff minus the 5 hour energy. Now that you mention it, that' s a great idea and I will definitely pick some up.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3.5 161, +5.5 227

I'm going to post this on the general health board but wanted to get thoughts from everyone here as well.

As many of you know, Jinx has had loose stools since I started him on wet food after his diagnosis. I've tried FF Classic Chicken, Wellness Chicken and Turkey, Merrick's Cowboy Cookout (Beef), and Nature's Variety/Instinct Chicken Formula which have all produced diarrhea. My vet suggested getting him back on his pre-diabetes food for one month in the hopes that it will firm up his stools and confirm that it's a diet issue. The problem is, it was dry Iams kibble with 35% carbs. So I have no intentions of doing that. Another option is getting him on long-term flagyl which has been effective at firming up his stools but the risk is that he might develop a resistance to the antibiotics and I'll be dealing with a potentially greater problem.

So before I consider getting him on a long-term antibiotic, I'd like to exhaust all other options. I've used the following calculator (http://www.scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html) to check the carb content of two different kinds of Nature's Variety/Instinct dry kibble. Their Chicken Meal Formula (http://www.naturesvariety.com/Instinct/ ... le/chicken) has ~10% carbs (I need to figure out the exact % of Ash) and their Limited Ingredient Diet: Turkey Formula (http://www.naturesvariety.com/Instinct/ ... /LIDturkey) has 13.5% carbs. The benefit of the latter is that it's supposed to be better for sensitive stomachs by limiting the ingredients to one protein and one hypoallergenic starch.

I was thinking I could start mixing a small amount of either into his wet canned food to see if it firms up his stools. I know the carb content for each isn't ideal but I'm trying to deal with a difficult situation the best I can. Freeze dried raw or regular raw are also options. Also, I'm not set on Nature's Variety so I'm open to other suggestion. I'd very much appreciate thoughts and/or advice on this. Thanks, everyone.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3 161, +5 227 *food questi

Have you tried any other single, but unique proteins with Jinx? Looking at the Nature's Variety, most of their formula's seem to be a mix of proteins, ie. their duck also has turkey in it. Their organic chicken product has just chicken, so that might be a possibility. The regular chicken formula has turkey in it. As you suggest, restricting to one protein at a time might help figure out if it's an allergy at play.

BTW, lovely numbers for Jinx today!
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3 161, +5 227 *food questi

The calculator that you're using is based on guaranteed analysis values rather than "as fed" so chances are that it's an underestimate. That said, EVO cat and kitten food is about 8% carbs. At least what I've seen is that it still keeps numbers high.

I'd like to suggest two different strategies. The easier of the two would be to try Jinx on novel proteins. Food that is primarily duck, rabbit or venison are novel proteins for most cats. The most common food allergies for cats are beef and fish and some cats are sensitive to the more common poultry varieties.

The other option that can work miracles is a raw food diet. There are a number of cats here who had terrible problems and a raw diet did wonders. You can purchase commercially prepared raw food that is frozen in pucks or make your own. Dr. Lisa's website is a wealth of information on a raw food diet.

Regardless of what you try, you need to give a food transition several weeks to see if it's working.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3 161, +5 227 *food questi

Check out Tidus's condo for the last week. He has had bad GI problem and there has been a lot of discussion on unique protein foods. One of the foods i feed Tess is NV Raw Organic Chicken. They also have freeze dried raw and so does Stella & Chewy's, but that has MC carbs I think. Primal has several unique protein raw foods too. They list 1% carbs, but I think that is as fed so you would need to calculate the ME values.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3 161, +5 227 *food questi

I'd also check with Wendy/Neko. She feeds raw and some very novel foods like kangaroo. I'm not sure where she gets it.

I would definitely try Sienne's and Ann's suggestions before I'd put him back on dry. You want to give him every chance of going into remission and I don't think he can get there on a dry food diet. Plus, one of the requirements of doing a TR protocol is to feed LC canned or raw food.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

Had a feeling Jinx's PMPS would be much higher tonight but I'm thrilled he snuck in under 400.

Thanks for the food suggestions so far, everyone. I'm going to read through them in a bit and will respond.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140, +2 144, +3 161, +5 227 *food questi

There are a number of raw food manufacturers local to where I live. They are Red Dog Blue Cat Deli http://www.reddogdeli.com/, Natural Instincts http://www.naturalinstincts.ca/, 3P Naturals http://www.3pnaturals.com/products, and irRAWsistible http://irrawsistiblepetfoods.com/. I mostly serve Red Dog Blue Cat food, because they are the only ones who provide As Fed numbers which I put in the calculator to find carb %. 3P and Natural Instincts have no veggies/fruit so are likely low if any carbs. I also know someone who works at Red Dog part time and I trust her judgement to the quality of their food. They are very picky about where they source their food.

Tonight's dinner is venison. Kangaroo is actually cheaper than venison, which is strange since roo is not native to here!

NV is available in raw pet food stores here, but it doesn't sell as well as the local made stuff.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

Really appreciate all the info, everyone.

Wendy - I could have sworn I fed him a canned food that had only chicken but looking at the ingredients online for the stuff I don't have at home now, it looks like everything had another protein (mostly turkey) in it. And thank-you for all the info on the raw food.

Sienne - Thanks for the heads up on the calculator. Also, why did you say novel proteins would be the easier of the two, i.e. easier than getting him on raw food? Is it because of the cost or because of it being a drastic diet change?

Ann - I'll check out Tidus' condo for last week and read up on the discussion.

Marje - I do want to give Jinx the best chance of going into remission and these posts convinced me that I need to put off considering dry food.

So... Sienne mentioned that I should give a diet change several weeks and Jinx has only been on the NV canned chicken for two weeks. If everyone had to vote on this (which I would greatly appreciate it if you would), should I stick with his current diet a little longer, or go out tomorrow and buy a food with a single novel protein source, or buy raw?
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

My rationale was that you can buy a can or two of a novel protein food to see if Jinx likes it. With the raw, you're usually committed to more than one or two meals -- you usually have to buy at least a pound.

Some people have tried giving their cat a piece of raw chicken to see if it's of any interest to their cat. FWIW, my guys were on a raw food diet for a while. They like it a lot. However, if I gave either cat a chunk of raw chicken, they wouldn't eat it.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

Ok, Sienne, that makes sense.

Jinx always goes crazy when I'm cutting up a raw chicken so I have a feeling he'd like it :-D

If I do pick up some NV raw tomorrow, how would you expect it would effect his BG? I'm assuming the numbers should go down, right?
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

I've used the NV medallions before and where I bought them, they gave me several medallions free as a sample before I bought the bag. When Graciendecided she just didn't want them anymore, the actually took back the bag and gave me a 50% refund.

You'll just have to see if they affect him or not. You know...ECID ;-)
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

Tried the chicken taste test w/ Tess and she loved it.

A lot of the NV raw is about 4%. Home made is 1% or less depending on the recipe. Another thing, is that raw is higher in calories so you feed less. Most canned food is 30 to 40 kcal/oz. The homemade chicken that I make is around 45 and NV says that the Organic Chicken is 65. That's twice the calories of most FF so you would feed half as much. NV has a small trial sized bag and you can print an online coupon and it ends up being free.

Luck you, Wendy, to have that resource where you live. I know of a similar shop in Minneapolis that has raw food. Joe, why don't you check around in Denver, there may be one there!

Joe, a unique protein (only one type of meat), makes it easier to isolate a food allergy which could be causing the problem. An exotic protein is less likely to cause allergies because there has been no previous exposure to it.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396 *food question*

Another thing to look for is a butcher who does exotic meats. 3P Naturals started as a regular butcher with ostrich, buffalo, etc. then grew from there and got into pet food. The only thing to be careful of when trying exotic meats, try the cheaper ones first. I've heard of people getting stuck feeding their cats very expensive raw because their cats only want the most expensive! And there is quite a price difference between chicken and elk (for example). When I first started serving raw food I got free samples from the store - some manufactures make special sample sizes.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx AMPS 140... +3 161, PMPS 396, +3.5 156

Really appreciate the info, everyone! I'll make a decision by tomorrow afternoon and will let everyone know what we're going to try next.
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx PMPS 396, +3.5 156, +4.5 107, +5.5 88

Such a catch-22. You want them in greens, OF COURSE :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: , but you want sleeeep! @-) I-)

By the way, Jinx looks just like Mr. Kink's brother, Bruce! I'll have to find the photo I shared with Julia because her Bandit looks a lot like Bruce, too :-D
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx PMPS 396, +3.5 156, +4.5 107, +5.5 88

I know; definitely a catch-22.

I'm pretty sure I remember Bandit's photo. Looks like Jinx with lighter colored fur, right? Yeah, send me the photo of Bruce if you find it. :-D
 
Re: 6/11/ Jinx PMPS 396, +3.5 156, +4.5 107, +5.5 88

Yep! Well, I guess he looks more like Bandit than Jinx - I just realized how dark Jinx's fur gets! Such pretty fuuuurrrr :lol:

Here they are:
 

Attachments

  • Kink & Bruce_3.JPG
    Kink & Bruce_3.JPG
    74.8 KB · Views: 712
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top