06/05 J.D. PMPS 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
168 PMPS
308 +2
223 +8
227 +10.75

I took a hair off the fat of J.D.'s dose this morning. I called it a BCS :roll: .
His number is dropping a little, and I woke up in the middle of the night for some reason with a strong thought that I had to lower his dose. So, a hair came off this morning.

And, I fed LC with MC mixed in, and J.D. only ate some of his. He slept with me all night and purred next to my ear this morning. It was 63 degrees in my house this morning. J.D. is currently laying in his bed. I'll try to feed him more in a half hour or so.

I hope everyone has a good day.

Oh, Ginger just curled up next to J.D. and they are washing each other's faces. :-D
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

Nice AMPS JD:)

Sometimes you just gotta go with your instincts Dyana:) I know that feeling :smile:
Nice to hear that he is cuddlly and purry. Nice and easy today JD...k?

Hope you have a nice day!
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

Hi guys .. I just love how sweet your two are together .. makes me :-D to read but :sad: my girls are not that close .. maybe one day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

Dyana said:
Oh, Ginger just curled up next to J.D. and they are washing each other's faces. :-D

Your furbabes are so adorable. When I read this all I could picture is Pebbles and Munchkin licks quickly turning into chomps. Course they'd have to get close to each other to even attempt such a thing. Heh.

We hope the situation with the fluids is getting a little less confusing. Hope you all have a great day!
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

JD & Ginger, sitting in a tree....W. A. S. H. I. N. G. How cute! I so enjoy it when someone curls up next to me and purrs in my ear at night...it's very soothing...unlike Kitty kisses in the middle of the night...which means I must get up out of bed and escort Mr. Spot to his timed feeder!
I woke up this morning w/ Ali under the covers, cuddling...now, that's my fav :-D

Very nice amps for JD...I think I would have taken a hair off too.

Hope everything else is going well!
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

J.D. nice AMPS #!

Dyana, maybe you can take the hair off J.D. and I can put it on Daphne, I think I will need to.

Good luck with J.D.'s fluids issue.
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

Dyana

I just had a chance to read your condo from yesterday. I never want to undermine anyone's faith in their vet but I just don't agree with him about fluids. Giving fluids for renal issues for where JD is will not prevent the renal disease from progressing. Cats feel crummy when they are dehydrated...just like we do. Fluids help with that. Here is a really good bit of information about CKD and fluids: fluid therapy. I've been a member of the yahoo CRF group a long time and there are some really sharp people in it...they constantly refer to Tanya's CRF website; the consensus is a CKD cat does not need fluids until the creat gets up to about 3.5. I've been giving Gus fluids for well over 18 mos and he has no scar tissue because we use 22g needles and move the site around. There's quite a large area where you can safely give fluids (imagine a saddle on a cat..all of that area is safe).

When my GA Max's creat started creeping up, my vet who I loved, told me to give fluids to flush his kidneys but I knew that is not the purpose and the fluids do not flush the kidneys. They just help a dehydrated cat, who can't get enuff fluid by drinking water or from food, feel better.
 
Re: 06/05 J.D. AMPS 182

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Dyana

I just had a chance to read your condo from yesterday. I never want to undermine anyone's faith in their vet but I just don't agree with him about fluids. Giving fluids for renal issues for where JD is will not prevent the renal disease from progressing. Cats feel crummy when they are dehydrated...just like we do. Fluids help with that. Here is a really good bit of information about CKD and fluids: fluid therapy. I've been a member of the yahoo CRF group a long time and there are some really sharp people in it...they constantly refer to Tanya's CRF website; the consensus is a CKD cat does not need fluids until the creat gets up to about 3.5. I've been giving Gus fluids for well over 18 mos and he has no scar tissue because we use 22g needles and move the site around. There's quite a large area where you can safely give fluids (imagine a saddle on a cat..all of that area is safe).

When my GA Max's creat started creeping up, my vet who I loved, told me to give fluids to flush his kidneys but I knew that is not the purpose and the fluids do not flush the kidneys. They just help a dehydrated cat, who can't get enuff fluid by drinking water or from food, feel better.
Marge,
Are you saying I shouldn't give him fluids? I can understand only giving them if he needs them, but how to tell.

Because I just gave them, before I read this. And, I planned to give 100ml, and I marked the bag for 100ml, and I actually for the first time gave what I planned to give..100ml.

J.D. seemed happy and fine when I came home from work, so I shouldn't have given him the fluids? I'm so confused.
 
Dyana

That has to be your decision. His kidney values don't indicate the need for fluids. If you believe he is dehydrated for another reason and the fluids make him feel better, then that's different and only you know that. Maybe he just has some mild pancreas issues that the fluids help him with....I don't know and I can't see him and even if I could, I don't know him like you do. I'm just saying his renal values do not indicate the need for fluid therapy.

Maybe read the info from Tanya's and that will help you. My only goal was to provide you with info. You can also PM Linda and Bear Man or Carolyn and Latte and see what they think.
 
Thanks Marge. I really didn't think he needed them today, because he seemed to feel pretty good when I came home from work. I was just doing what the vet said to do, every other day.. :-|
 
I am not sure what to add about the fluids, Dyana. If J.D. has improved, then maybe you should ask the vet if he wants you to continue them or taper off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top