2/22 Willow AMPS~386, +5~292, PMPS~491, +5~109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Complick8d

Very Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7003

WCR: High on catnip. Hopefully he'll calm down when I'm ready for bed.

WBR: Didn't expect that +5 after PMPS, probably should've tested at +4 (his usual nadir prior to all these psycho numbers).
 
hi jordan. as i mentioned to you the other day, i sent willow's ss to jojo and a few other people. we've had quite a lively discussion! we all see places where willow's ability to drop low (and then bounce back up quick) could have easily been missed... where due to real life time constraints the tests you were able to do were only catching the high numbers and totally missed the low number that caused them. we went through your ss with a fine tooth comb and it is very possible to interject a low number causing every one of those high numbers.

i think is it safe to say we’ve all noticed something “different” with Willow. he’s the only cat we’ve seen able to go from 554 to LO in 14 hours… from 479 to 81 in 4 hours. he has been known to jump 200 – 300 points in as little as an hour. What if those reds and blacks on his ss were 200 – 300 points lower an hour before like what you caught on 1/29? Very few (if any) of us do hourly spot checks 24/7. Lower numbers could have easily been missed resulting in dose increases rather than decreases (as was done based on the available data). In January, it looks like there’s a strong possibility the drops and bounces became even quicker than before… happening all in one cycle.

we wanted to know what your thoughts are on starting over at a dose lower than the dose that you gave when you restarted insulin this last time (remember how sensitive he was the first time on insulin?) and seeing if that solves the current problems. just to check out if the reason that progress is not being made is due to the fact that willow was started on a dose twice what he really needed in the first place and if the whole path since then has been based on slanted data.

his super reactive liver makes him the type of cat that would probably do well on a custom plan (like michelle/doodle or dian/wheezer), but we know with your work hours that is not possible. it would take a few days at a low dose of say 0.25 units to empty out the shed and see if the low numbers that we think are happening while you are at work or asleep and the super high numbers you are catching when you walk in the door or wake up stop happening.

do understand we are just looking at numbers on a ss, we are not there living with you guys. if you have another theory for what is happening on his ss (like getting into the new puppy's super high carb dry food or frig went out and insulin is bad, or insulin froze because of being shipped in the winter, etc.) then that needs to be discussed. you would need to do ketone tests as often as humanly possible during this, and of course spot checks as much as possible too. this might work or it might be a total failure. there is no way to predict, but we think it's worth trying.

what do you about all this?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top