5/22 Gracie PMPS 257 +3 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

5/21 Recap:
AMPS: 50
+1: 54
+2: 49
+3: 41
+3.5: 54
+4: 95
+6.5: 121
+8.5; 89
+9.5: 83
+10.5: 71
PMPS: 69
+1.5: 57
+2: 46
+3: 39
+3.5: 40
+4: 66
+5: 73
+6: 83
+7: 90
+8.5: 106
+10: 130


Good morning! Sending caring thoughts and healing vines today to all who need them. Happy OTJ to Mooch!

Gracie earned a reduction after her shot last night but based on her numbers yesterday morning, I reduced her going into PMPS. I anticipated that she might only need a few cycles at the higher dose. Again...just a note...Gracie is a long-term diabetic and so we do not closely follow the protocol so please do not attempt to dose your kitty the same way if you are a new member.

I'm concerned because she has had a hairball pukus the last few days before her AMPS and did the same thing twice last week. It is not like her to have hairballs but I have been brushing her ALOT this summer as it has gotten so hot so early. I wonder if I am making matters worse by loosening all that hair and then she ingests it. Dr. Lisa says that a cat should be able to handle hairballs without hairball remedies. I have looked at different ones and there are none I want to give her. I did look at the NaturVet but it has soy and I always avoid that with cats as it can stimulate the thyroid. I may just try giving her some unsalted butter. It does worry me....she is not a pukus kind of kitty.

Have a super day.
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121

Congrats on earning a reduction Gracie! :mrgreen:

Yikes on the hairball pukus, i'd be worried too if she isn't normally a hairball puker. Feel better soon Gracie, you are starting to worry your momma bean.

Have a great day Marje and Gracie.
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

Sounds like Gracie and Ella are both having hairball issues. Yesterday was the first time I ever saw her puke up a hairball. Perhaps the slippery elm bark will help?!
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

Oh, sorry to read Gracie has pukus hairball. Daphne doesn't get them either, and she is long hair too. I never had to give her anything, and we always comb her as much as she will let us, not the most fun thing, especially bellow her middle. My neighbor always gives olive oil in her kitties food, but that may raise numbers. Hope Gracie feels better soon. I guess the butter wouldn't be too bad, maybe more protein in it then olive oil.
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

One thing you could try with the fur issue is to wipe her over with a damp cloth when you've finished brushing, that picks up all the strays that have been brushed out but are still sitting on her.
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

Wrong way, Miss Gracie!

So sorry to hear about the hairball issues. Simon has always been one to puke up hairballs. Not a very fun way to be greeted when you are arriving home from work! Hope the issue resolves itself and Gracie is feeling better tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

I've got all sorts of hairballers here...but I wonder if you're right for Miss Gracie about loosening the hair. Using the wipes after brushing sounds like a great idea! I hope she's hairball free and comes back down to Gracie numbers tonight!
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

I have been giving Moonie 2 drops olive oil for years now 2 drops vitacoat from foster&smith and she has very few hairballs..But she does sound like she has them--Great idea to brush & wipe with damp cloth after the brushing--I like it..
Looks like Gracie is having a bit of a bounce tonite--Hope she comes down!
BTW Congrats on the dose reducie!! Maybe she isnt so long term now???--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 5/22 Gracie AMPS 121 +2 250 +6.5 293

Hi guys,

Stu was a great one for hairballs and eating grass and weeds always got them up. Rusty likes the NaturVet. He considers it a treat and it works well, moving the hair through the intestines. I didn't know that soy affects the thyroid. Jill lists a hairball remedy in Alex's spreadsheet, but apparently this particular product is difficult to find (I don't remember the name of it off hand).

Thanks again for your help today with regard to the MJ syringes.

Feel better, Gracie, and bring your numbers back down. Scritches to Tobey, Gus, and of course, Gracie,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top