Re: 5/22 Simon AMPS 320 Adequan questions
Hi Georgia - You could be right about the pooping...arthritis tends cause constipation, because they can't properly squat.
My Mario has been on Adequan for almost a year now...many people have heard me say it before: it's been a miracle for him. He was on Cosequin before he started Adequan; there is absolutely no comparison at all. The Cosequan did next to nothing for him; with the Adequan, he's back to running and playing. His posture has improved significantly, he doesn't have the weird pain episodes he used to have, he doesn't bunny hop down the stairs anymore. He's not 100% arthritis-free, but I can't tell you what a huge difference it has made for him.
He's not diabetic, so I can't speak about how it affects BG, although I know Patty has said Champ's BG seems unaffected by the Adequan.
I haven't noticed any side effects with Mario, and he is on a few other meds (transdermal tapazole and BP meds).
There's a "loading dose protocol" to follow. For him, we did injections twice a week for 4 weeks; then once week for 4 weeks; then every other week for 4 weeks, then we were supposed to go to once a month. However, once a month wasn't often enough; I could tell he needed a boost at about 3 weeks. So we went to once a week for 3 weeks indefinitely, although just this past round, we were able to stretch it out to 4 weeks. At this point, I dose based on his symptoms, but I wouldn't go longer than 4 weeks between injections.
One biggie: Adequan was originally given as an intramuscular injections. THIS IS NOT NECESSARY!!! It can be given as a subQ injection, and it works just as well. We give it to Mario SubQ, so I can truly attest to that. Apparently, though, the veterinary circuit as not caught up with this, and many still think it can only be given IM, which - of course - scares most owners.
The cheapest place I've found for Adequan is Drs Foster and Smith: one vial of the equine is something like $49, and shipping is free. You do need a script, though.
Dose is based on weight. I don't remember the formula, but Mario is 13lbs, and he gets the equivalent of 30 units. We do use a bigger needle, though, so the juice goes in more quickly. Like I said, he's been on it for nearly a year, and we just started our third vial, so it lasts quite a while!
I hope this helps. I know ECID, and - just as an example - Rocket did have a skin reaction do Adequan. But for Mario, it has turned his fuzzy little world around.
Have a great day...and come on down, Simon!