05/18 J.D. PMPS 307 - Pepcid question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
291 PMPS
312 +2
359 +3.5
373 +9.5

I stayed up with J.D. pretty late last night and wondered if I should give him some R. At +3.5 it would have coinsided with his Levemir nadir and he wasn't eating much. At 9.5 when he woke me up, I thought about it again, but again wasn't sure if he would eat. I did feed him at +9.5 and he ate a whole meal (I think about 1/4 can of FF), but I decided not to give R.

I added the fat back on his dose this morning, and the dose just looked so much bigger. Maybe the zero line is down further on these syringes. Anyway, I felt like I was giving him some insulin. Those 0.50 (just a little bit less) doses just seemed so small.

We went for a quick walk around 4:00am, and then I tried to catch a few winks, but also trying to keep one eye open in case I can catch him in the litter box, because I want to get a ketone test. At 5:45am, we went for a longer walk, and got back for test, shoot, feed. He ate all his 1st Breffis, and is a lot more active, and responsive to my calling him, and just seems to feel better. I am still waiting for a pee test.

I am hoping the increased dose helps him.
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419

J.D. came to me when I called him just fine, and ate his 2nd Breffis all up, and then went to his kitty bed and took a bath and is now laying in it. Just waiting for a pee sample..

Off to get ready for tbp..
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419

Come on down JD! It is amazing what a difference the fattening of the dose can make. Of course, we are at 4U so I wouldn't know about those small doses. :lol: Good luck on the great pee hunt. It is so good to hear that JD is feeling better. Have a wonderful day Dyana!
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419

I do not understand JD. maybe a little flare up?? need fluids? he got pain meds. just do not know Dyana
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419

Is it very difficult to get a pee sampling from JD? Ive found a 'easy way" to do it. I wait for the time when Rosy is almost ready to pee; how I know? She using go pee after having food. I immediately remove the hood from the litter box, add in a bit of new litter to cover the top layer. Rosy will go & pee since she'd love to be the first to use the box of "new" litter. Then I stick a small plate underneath her to take the sample... It's "easy"!
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419 - cypro question

Ketones - Negative YAY! He went this morning, after I logged off.

Still have crossed fingers and knocking on wood that he is feeling better today, and tonight when I get home.
For the past two days, he has seemed better in the morning, and more off at night.

Cyproheptadine Question: I kind of hate to give this to him, as it causes him to feel wobblely, I think, (the bottle says Causes Blurred Vision), but can he have it twice a day, if needed?

In the past, I was giving him bupe at night (which also causes him to feel wobblely), and cypro in the morning (so he would eat all day while I was away at work).
 
Re: 05/18 J.D. AMPS 419 - cypro question

We periodically use cyprohexadine for Zener, who often has bouts of poor to no appy. We do not give it without also giving him an anti-nausea drug. We made the mistake in January of giving a appy stimulant without an anti-nausea med. He ate very well for a few hours, then vomited up a huge amount of undigested food, then stopped eating all together. After about 5 days of syringe feeding, cerenia shots and reglan (for motility), he started eating on his own again.

Zener is routinely on ondansetron (anti-nausea), plus zantac for stomach acid & some sources say motility. We only give a tiny amount of cypro. I think our vet suggested giving him 1/2 to 1 pill up to twice a day, and he was miserable on that much. We learned here to only give him a sliver of the cypro (about 1/8 of a tablet) and that seems to kick start him in about an hour and he will eat around 4 ounces of food during that cycle. Cypro can make him a little lethargic, especially if we give too much.
 
Anne & Zener said:
We periodically use cyprohexadine for Zener, who often has bouts of poor to no appy. We do not give it without also giving him an anti-nausea drug. We made the mistake in January of giving a appy stimulant without an anti-nausea med. He ate very well for a few hours, then vomited up a huge amount of undigested food, then stopped eating all together. After about 5 days of syringe feeding, cerenia shots and reglan (for motility), he started eating on his own again.

Zener is routinely on ondansetron (anti-nausea), plus zantac for stomach acid & some sources say motility. We only give a tiny amount of cypro. I think our vet suggested giving him 1/2 to 1 pill up to twice a day, and he was miserable on that much. We learned here to only give him a sliver of the cypro (about 1/8 of a tablet) and that seems to kick start him in about an hour and he will eat around 4 ounces of food during that cycle. Cypro can make him a little lethargic, especially if we give too much.
Thanks Anne.

J.D. has been on the anti-nausea Ondansetron since March 20th when he tested possitive for cronic pancreatitis 7.4.
He was down to 6.5 on April 16th.

I stopped giving bupe for a while from May 4th through May 16th, but for the past two nights I gave him some.

I also tried halving his Ondansetron dose from 1/2 4mg pill twice a day to 1/4 twice a day, and just started up again with the 1/2 pill two nights ago, since he seemed a little out of it.

J.D. also is getting Pepcid around midnight every night. I missed two doses, and he threw up bile around 4:00am, each time. So, I guess he'll get Pepcid every night, for a long time.

What I don't understand yet, is that he is feeling a lot better in the mornings, then he is in the evenings.
I wonder if it's because he gets the Pepcid at midnight.... I am not home at noon, to give him a second dose.
And, I don't know if 1/4 Pepcid twice a day is too much, anyway. Does anyone know?

Anyway, he ate his 1st Dinner, and we went for a little walk this evening. Hopefully, he'll keep feeling better.
Come on J.D., I love you and I want you to feel good. cat_pet_icon
 
Do you think I should try to give him 1/4 Pepcid at AMPS and 1/4 at PMPS?

I can wake up and give it to him at +11 or so in the mornings, but I often don't get home from work until +12, so PMPS is the best I can do in the evenings.

I think I'll try that, and see if it helps even out his good mornings and not so good evenings.
Oh, more pills J.D. :roll:
 
Oh, J.D. come on, please feel better for your mama bean. Dyana, I read all that above, and I give you credit to be able to juggle all the things you just did, and it sounds like J.D. is doing a little better. I'm just going to be starting the bupe. for Daphne, and I'm already getting nervous.

You are such a good bean, even taking J.D. for walks when it looks like you didn't even get any sleep.
I hope you can have a good weekend and some sleep.
 
I would say that Zener will respond to much less than 1/8 of a cypro (4mg), it really is just a sliver or a crumb from cutting the tablets.
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
I would say that Zener will respond to much less than 1/8 of a cypro (4mg), it really is just a sliver or a crumb from cutting the tablets.
Liz
I just tried to split the pill. I got halves, and then I tried for 8ths and only got maybe 6ths. I gave J.D. a 6th. I guess it takes practice to make 8ths. It would be even harder with Mirtz.
What do you do with the slivers, just put them back in the pill bottle? I ask because I am giving so many pills, right now there are some unknown pill slivers in the bowl of the pill splitter, so I don't use them. If you have a bottle of pill slivers (8ths), how do you get them out, without spilling them everywhere?

I am going to try giving J.D. Pepcid twice a day. I can do +11 in the morning, and at PMPS.
BUT, isn't there a fear of a Pepcid getting stuck in the esophogus sp? I do use pill pockets.
I've been giving him the Pepcid at midnightish, and feeding him afterwards to wash it down.
At PMPS, he will be fed, but I can't feed him in the mornings at +11.
 
Sorry that JD doesnt have an appy. It is worrying to have them not eating as much. Hope he gets better soon.
Ususlly I give water after pill to avoid it got stuck inside the esophogus.
 
Dyana said:
I just tried to split the pill. I got halves, and then I tried for 8ths and only got maybe 6ths. I gave J.D. a 6th. I guess it takes practice to make 8ths. It would be even harder with Mirtz.
What do you do with the slivers, just put them back in the pill bottle? I ask because I am giving so many pills, right now there are some unknown pill slivers in the bowl of the pill splitter, so I don't use them. If you have a bottle of pill slivers (8ths), how do you get them out, without spilling them everywhere?
We have another shorter and bigger container with a screw-on lid for the cypro pieces. I pour the pieces out into a little bowl and pick out one to give him. I don't worry about an exact dosage since a piece about this size of this . will get him to eat. It usually takes about an hour to kick in and we can tell it's the cypro because he will come and meow very loudly.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top