5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257, PMPS 492 (AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447

Joe

Let's see how JInx does today. I'll be home in plenty of time to get back to you on whether it's a good idea to hold this dose a few more cycles or to increase him. Because he's getting into mid-blues, there might
be some advantage to holding it 10 cycles instead of six to see if he'll settle in a bit more. So see you tonight. Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447

Hi guys .. boooo on this mornings number .. hoping his puuurfect dose is not to far off .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447

That's quite a rainbow kitty you have there :-D --Looks like Jinx may like this dose so you have gotten the correct info..Moonie is also on lantus & her nadir(lowest point of cycle) is about +4.5-+5...so I always try to stick aroun to see her through that--Have a home based business..
It just takes patience & consistency and Jinx will come around to nice numbers soon..
Sounds like you are a very devoted bean! Jinx, you are officially in liver training school (LTS) :lol:
Joe you are doing a great job! Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447

Let's hope for a slower drop today. You know that this dose can bring him down, the trick is getting the liver used to those numbers. When I see about 50 points down in an hour I'll give Tess a little of her LC to slow things a bit. It isn't really extra food, just some of it earlier than usual.
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354

That's not too fast a drop, but I'd still do more checks as Jinx is already coming down from PS.

I'm checking Tess hourly so will look in on you then.
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257

Thanks, Ann. Definitely the mildest of drops since the dosecrease. Not sure if that's good or bad b/c I like seeing him in the 100s. I do hope this means his pre-shot won't be as high as it's been. Thank-you for checking in!
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257

Joe

Hope you all had a great day. We'd like to give him ten cycles total at this dose and see if he settles in a bit more, ok? Like Ann said, we know this dose can get him into blue numbers; sometimes kitties need a few
more cycles to settle into a dosecrease.

Work days are long ones for me but I'll check in on you all before I go to bed.

Glad Ann was here today to just check in...she's super!!
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257

That sounds good to me, Marjorie. It is frustrating to see high pre-shot numbers but like you and Ann said, we know this dose can get him into the blues so it makes sense to me as well to keep him on it for awhile longer. I appreciate you two and everyone else checking in on me and Jinx throughout the day. You're all super!! Good night!
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257, PMPS 492 (AT

About a week ago, Jinx had loose stools consistently for about 3 days. I got in on metrinidazole for a short-term fix and started him on Fortiflora for what I was hoping would be a long-term fix. Well, I got him off the metrinidazole two days ago and he just had 2 loose stools within the span of about 4 hours. He's been on Fortiflora for about one week and I also picked up some Pet Dophilus as a back up in case the Fortiflora didn't work. Any suggestion/s on how to approach this issue?

He's always had a sensitive stomach but never had any issues with dry food and a weekly tuna fish snack. I am considering getting him on a raw food diet which I think might help but I'd be very interested in hearing members' thoughts. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257, PMPS 492 (AT

Hi Joe,

I noticed in your profile that you are feeding chicken flavor FF. Have you tried any other types of proteins such as turkey, beef, duck, etc? I've heard that chicken can be a problem for some cats. My Neko is on raw diet, but that is yet another food transition.
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257, PMPS 492 (AT

Thanks, Wendy. I guess I figured there wouldn't be much of a difference between the flavors but I was obviously wrong. I will pick up a couple different flavors tomorrow. Thanks-
 
Re: 5/16 Jinx AMPS 447, +3 354, +5 216, +7 257, PMPS 492 (AT

Thank-you, Wendy. I actually just got back from the grocery store with some FF Classic Beef. If that doesn't do the trick, there is a lot of good info on that thread so thanks again.

Also, I've been browsing different topics on this board and realized that Jinx probably needs some B12. He's definitely exhibiting signs of neuropathy -- he's laying down more frequently and his hind legs have gotten noticeably weaker. Based on what I've read, we can take our cat to the vets to get a B12 shot; try to get the vet to write a prescription so we can administer the shot at home; or get B12 in a pill or liquid form.

Is there a consensus on what type/form of B12 works best? I will post this on the general health forum as well.

I know I'm asking a ton of questions and I really appreciate all the help. I look forward to the day I'll be able to return the favor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top