5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2 342, +7 163, PMPS 516, +2 321 (AT)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342

Jinx has taken a bit of a drop since AMPS. Should I give him some of his regular Fancy Feast Classic or something with a little more carbs like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers?
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342

That is a lower number but factor in meter variance and I wouldn't consider it a drop to add carbs to. I would, however, be vigilant and watch him closely today since it is lower than AMPS.

Good..maybe headway?
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342

I really hope it's headway. Will keep a close eye on him today. Thanks for the quick response, Marjorie!
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5.5 166 (AT)

Seems like ages since Jinx had a number in the blue. Fingers crossed that he doesn't bounce. Will check again at +7.5.
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5.5 166 (AT)

Blue-Cool-Happy.gif
I think you are getting close!
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5.5 166, +7.5 163 (AT)

woohoo.gif


WOW JINX!! I go out for a while and look at you, buddy!!!!

Well, Joe....not trying to throw water on this great event but when I said "be vigilant" I probably should have said "be sure and get a +4" because that would have been the time that you might have been able to
catch the drop. ;-) ;-) He could bounce not only from the drop but from the lower numbers but...maybe he won't! Good job getting him to flatten out here or did he do it on his own?

I know since I've been coming onto your condo, it's been one request after another....I'm sure you must believe I nag, nag, nag! However...if it is not too much extra trouble, it helps us reading SSs if you can put
an asterisk in the columns on his SS to show where you fed him.

It also helps you and us if you keep track of it in the remarks or other section (you can add a column on your SS if need be) so we can see what %carb you fed when and how it affected him.

Ok...now don't get too worried about this because I am major OCD but if you look at Gracie's SS, you'll get an inkling of what I mean with the foods fed when. Please do not go overboard as I have done....most of the info on Gracie's SS is for Mike and me but the column I'm referring to, as an example on Gracie's SS, is the "food fed" column. When we were newbies, Jill suggested we do this and it really helped us to see that gravy and HC food were not Gracie's friends.

Very happy here for you and Jinx!!

eta: check out Gabby's SS. That is what a reasonable, non-OCD person does to annotate the foods fed to manage the curve.
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5.5 166, +7.5 163 (AT)

Marjorie,

I don't considering it nagging at all. If I can do something that will help other members to help Jinx and me, I'm more than happy to do it.

As far as getting a +4... Should I do that when his +2 is considerably lower than the pre-shot? And if his BG has dropped quite a bit more at +4, that tells me to give him some food. Is that about right?

Luckily, today, he flattened out himself. Thanks again for all the help and I'll get the SS updated with when I feed him soon.



Joe
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5.5 166, +7.5 163 (AT)

It depends, Joe. There may be times that the +2 is going to tell you to get a +3. It's going to be trial and error with him to see how he handles coming down....whether he likes to dive....or whether he's a glider down.

And also....how does he handle carbs...is he carb sensitive? Unless they are just zoom zooming down, it's best to let them handle it on their own and feed them as you normally would. This is great that he is doing this on
his own .....be aware that on bounce breaking cycles (which this looks like), he may continue to come down into PMPS instead of go back up.

Since you shoot at 9, I'll be on and see where he is, ok?

I know I haven't answered all of your questions but....some cats don't need food management. Some do fine on their own. We need to see what Jinx will do before we rush into anything. If at any time you feel he is
coming down fast or if he drops below 100 during his cycle post and ask for help. If you get a PS of 200 or less, don't feed, post and ask for help.

See you later!
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5 166, +7 163, PMPS 516

Marjorie, Would you like to see what I feed him every day or only if I deviate from his standard feedings?
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5 166, +7 163, PMPS 516

Oh boy...he's serious about these bounces.

I think you can keep it simple, Joe. If you want to put an asterisk in columns when you feed that is great but you don't need to list the foods in remarks unless you give him something different....that way we can see how he responds. Make it easy for you.....

Thank you. See your +2 in a bit. BTW, +1 is also a good data point to get occasionally so you can see if he gets food spikes.
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2.25 342, +5 166, +7 163, PMPS 516

Would have posted sooner but internet went down. He was 321 at +2 so I gave him a tablespoon of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. Please let me know if you think I should give him more.
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2 342, +7 163, PMPS 516, +2 321 (AT

It looks like a tablespoon was way too much. Checked at +4 and he's at 493. Will check again at +6.
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2 342, +7 163, PMPS 516, +2 321 (AT

Joe, I added a couple of extra columns to Pumbaa's SS because I wanted to track what food he was eating throughout the day and see if there was any correlation to his numbers. I also wanted to track his ketone tests. So I put those two columns to the right of the remarks column. People can still easily view Pumbaa's SS and see the numbers quickly at a glance, and only scroll over if they want to see what he's been eating. You might want to add a foods column, too, if you are tracking what jinx is eating.

Suze
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2 342, +7 163, PMPS 516, +2 321 (AT

Suze, I tried to asterix the column like Marjorie suggested but it would change the color-coding to white. Not sure if I was doing it the way she had envisioned though. I'll add the column for food today.


Thanks,


Joe
 
Re: 5/14 Jinx AMPS 414, +2 342, +7 163, PMPS 516, +2 321 (AT

I know about the color coding! :evil: Some just addd an extra row below every day for the food or extra meds. Others of us do a recap every day in our first post, then we have a column for a link to the post every day. That's helpful when you want to go back and see what was going on at a later date. You can get to any condo you want to look at. Otherwise backtracking is :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top