5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daphne#5 GA

Member Since 2011
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70575

Hi LL,
Daphne had a very hard stool last night, so I gave her the Miralax for the first time. I gave less then a 1/4 tsp. just to make sure she doesn't have any bad side effects.

Other then the constipation issue, her numbers are looking a bit better. I'm trying to catch that rise midday. Also, I can almost predict that when she has a low 100 in the AMPS, she has a higher midday number. Don't know why, just always seems to do that.

Still raining in good old NJ! I think the grass is green enough now, so please Mr. Sunshine, come out, I can't take another day of this yucky stuff, and Daphne is really missing her deck time, and I know her arthritis is hurting with all this rain. :sad:

Have a good day LL, especially you lucky ones who live in the sunshine states, and yes, I am jealous!
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Nice numbers, Tess wanted company at the Green Lagoon! Be sure to give lots of extra water in the food wen you give miralax. It won't soften already hard stools, but it will kepp the new ones forming softer by drawing water into the colon. That's why you need to give extra water.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80

Ann, thanks for explaining that. I knew people said to give water, but didn't know why. She just won't drink water when I want her to, so I put water in her wet food, so I hope that was enough, plus I only gave her like 1/8th of a tsp of the Miralax.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80

Hi Barb, nice green there at the +7! Daphne's numbers are always looking good. Sorry for all the rain. I so remember those days and have sympathy. Maggie's joining in, too, at the Green Lagoon with you and Tess. I hope the Miralax helps Daphne.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93

Thanks Ann, so glad to have Maggie's joining in the Green Lagoon today. :mrgreen:


"You're starving me, so I'm going to ignore you now, so there!", Daphne :lol:

I was trying to get this photo for the longest time, now to get it uploaded…I'm not good at this.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0806.jpg
    IMG_0806.jpg
    41.6 KB · Views: 668
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93

Me again, sorry, but I wanted to see if I could do this again :lol: :lol: I'm so pathetic on this computer, I went from a PC to this Mac, and I never really learned how to use everything it can do.
But actually this is a better picture. Daphne is so funny, when she is not fed on time, this is what we get.

Also, so far so good with the Miralax, although she doesn't seem to like too much water in her food.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0807.jpg
    IMG_0807.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 666
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 Pic.

OMG is she putting her back to you :lol:
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 Pic.

Love it when they give you the cold shoulder :lol: ! They don't call it "catitude" for nuthin'!
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53 Pic.

Yup Dyana she sure is. Isn't it amazing that they can figure out that kind of stuff. People think Dogs are smarter, maybe, but not always!

Melissa, I just got a 53, so now, I hope to get a little less green :mrgreen:

Catitude, yes, she has lots of it Amy!

OK, now I need to go deal with that 53!
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49!

Daphne just gave me a 49. Does anyone know if the Miralax would have anything to do with the number. Today was the first time I used it.

And so, I guess Daphne earned a reduction.
She is @ .25u now, so would it be .1?
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! Pic.

Barb, I have no answers. I just think Daphne giving you her back is funny. :lol:
Beautiful numbers, by the way. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! Pic.

What a day for you!!! Look at Daphne go!!! Dont think Miralax would lower her bg, and you gave the perfect dose 1/8th tsp...It was all good.
This is fantastic..I think the dose would be 0.1U but check with Others to verify the new dose... Moonie is on a sk. 0.5U for a while now. Hope you have a great evening. Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

Thanks Roni, I think thats right. I'll read some of the Stickys again.
So if I do a 0.1u, its pretty much on the 0 line? We don't have much room on our BD syringes, it will be something like a full drop then (there's extra room after the 0 line).
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

Sorry Barb, didn't mean to ignore you, the low numbers make me a bit frazzled.
Yup, I love her, even though she does have an attitude :lol:

I hope I have the correct dose, I don't have anyplace left to go, except the last drop :o Did I just say that! ANTI-JINX!
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

Barb

On the last reduction, you shaved her from f0.25u to .25u but previously, you took her from f0.5u to f0.25u. She's held the reductions both times. The protocol states:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

So, I think you can either shave her if you are really worried about her not holding it especially since she was just at 49 OR you can take her to 0.1u.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

:lol: :lol: Oh she was maaaad at you Barb!! :lol: What a cat!

Good luck with the miralax and awesome numbers today.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

Well, she does pretty well with new doses, hasn't had much of a problem except for the .25 when we added a f back on. So in one way, I think we could do the 0.1u, but I see what you mean, she was just at 49. One thing I wonder about. Does it ever matter how long they stay low, like it took 3 feedings to get her to 61.

OK, now that I think about it, and look at her SS, she was a 42 one time, a 40 another time. So this time it was a 49. So I don't know what to do. There isn't much of a difference between the 0.1u and a shave, I guess its about a 1/2 drop?

What would you do?
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

When you reduced her from f0.5u to f0.25u, she had gotten a 48. She did just fine. I'm not sure why you shaved this last time but it seems to have worked just fine.

If you take her to 0.1u and she doesn't hold it, you can increase her a little bit. If there isn't much difference in the way you dose it, why not try for the 0.1u?
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

OK, that sounds good to me. Like you said, we can always add a drop if needed.
Thanks Marje !!!

Tracy, I wasn't the one who spoiled her though, she was 5 years old when I adopted her, so I take no blame for her attitude, I just get to live with it :lol:
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

Thanks Marje for ALL your help!

Hope you have a good night.
 
Re: 5/9 Daphne AMPS 112, +7 80, PMPS 93 +3 53, +4 49! +4.5 5

I love that picture! Talk about getting the cold shoulder! :lol: Congrats on the dose decrease!

Hugs,

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top