5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445, PMPS 485

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Active Member
yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70552

Plan on checking at +2 to try to catch whether it's going to be an active day. Yesterday he had dropped a decent amount at +2 so I gave him a little tuna fish to try to mellow out the lows a bit. It seemed to work but he shot up pretty high at last night's PMPS. If he's low at +2, does everyone still consider food at that time to be the right move? Or, is it a good idea to give a little bit of food at +2 just in case?
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467

Nice cycle yesterday. :-D :-D Jinx may just not be used to lower numbers and is bouncing even from the yellows, it doesn't necessarily need to be a really low number to cause a bounce. Just what they aren't used to or if it is a fast drop.

Several small meals seem to be a bit easier on the pancreas than one big on all at once. What schedule you use really depends on how Jinx uses his insulin, ECID. Generally you want to give the mini meals before nadir, they can help smooth out a fast onset/drop or reduce the big food spike after a big meal. think of it as long lasting insulin/ extended carb input.
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467

Thanks, Ann. Jinx's ideal weight is around 14lbs so I'm feeding him a small can of Fancy Feast Classic, Chicken, at his am and pm shot times, and at the +5 or +6 times. So a total of 4 small cans per day. If anyone sees any problems with that regiment, please let me know.

Also, for those of you who use Fortiflora, do you give on packet once a day or split it up between a couple feedings?
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467

You are giving it for diarrhea, right? I'd split it up. We give Tess her probiotic in 2 doses, morning and evening. Like everything else, keeping things even.

The reason I asked is that some beans use Fortiflora as an appetite stimulant. Besides the probiotics it has "animal digest" which is what they spray on kibble to make it tasted good. Lots of cats love it and it gets them to eat when they are being picky. For that just a tiny sprinkle works. One packet can last for several days. Tess prefers crumble freeze dried chicken. :roll:
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467

Good, I've been splitting it up so I'll continue.

Just checked at +5 and he's at 445. Not sure if that has to do with 1mg of prednisolone I have him last night (+4) or what. I'd really like to see him out of the 400s so everyone please let me know when/if we're seeing indications of a good time for a dose increase. Thanks!
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

And yes, I am giving the Fortiflora for diarrhea. My vet told me most animals don't find it palatable but Jinx doesn't seem to mind. And his younger sister, who is real picky with food, came up and starting licking the powder that I had split up into a small bowl. So I can see how it's an appetite stimulant.

One more question, Jinx hasn't pooed in over a day. And he's been on metrinidazole for over a day now, which was very effective a few weeks ago in taking care of his diarrhea. I'm going to stick with the probiotics but I wanted to get him on something in the short-term because he had loose stools for over three days. I really hope he takes a poo today but at what point should I start getting concerned?
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

You can get Miralax at the drugstore, 1/8th to 1/4 tsp daily. It draws wate to th colon so be sure to give extra water in his food. if the stool is tto hard it won't soften it though, if he goes much more than a day and a half or 2 day I contact your vet.
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

Hi everyone, if Jinx has a high number at his PMPS tonight, would you advise increasing his dose? There is a chance his numbers were high today due to giving him 1mg prednisolone for his asthma last night, but that's just a guess. I'm just concerned with him being in the 400s so often. With that said, I don't want to give him a premature dose increase.
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

Joe

Looking into this for him. Can you let me know when he gets the metronidazole and what form?
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

For diarrhea, I'm giving him a 1/4 tablet of 250 mg metronidazole twice daily. He's had 3 so far and hasn't done a #2 in over a day and a half. I talked to the vet and he said that as long as he's eating, drinking, and otherwise acting normal (which he is), it could take up to 3 days. I would very much appreciate a second opinion though.

And in case this might be helpful for determining whether a dose increase is needed now... For asthma, I give him 1mg prednisolone every other day at PM +4.

Thank-you, Marjorie.
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

Joe

You're welcome and thanks for the info. All things considered, the one that stands out is the 125 on the a.m. cycle of 5/7. If we consider the cycles since then to be the bounce and it can take up to six cycles
to clear a bounce, then tomorrow morning would be the sixth cycle of the bounce unless he clears tonight. It would be safest to hold this dose until the bounce clears or he's through the sixth cycle. If he does
not clear the bounce in tonight's cycle or tomorrow morning's cycle, I would increase him by .25u tomorrow night.

I know you are worried about the numbers being so high but it's best to let this bounce clear or get past the time when he could be bouncing before we increase or you could be dealing with very low numbers.

Thank you :-D
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

Thanks, Marjorie. I will do hold on 1u and see how his numbers looking tonight and tomorrow.


Joe
 
Re: 5/9 Jinx AMPS 467, +5 445

Great. Thank you, Joe. We'll be keeping an eye out and hope he clears his bounce soon.

Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top