5/9 Neko PMPS 524

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Still have to do the test and shoot and have a question about whether to increase. If the bounce is cleared, do I increase?

Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70560

From last night, I guess no one was up.
This dose still doesn't seem quite right. I don't see anything in the protocol description that tells you when you've reached a "good dose". It looks like you keep increasing until you start to earn deductions. In any case, we are still just barely seeing green, so I'm guessing it means we continue to go up. But of course, not until she clears this bounce.

As a side note, going up would mean going to 5.0 units, which is where Neko was when we left Caninsulin and the vet thought she was "good enough". We probably should have taken that into consideration when starting out Lantus. It might have made the journey shorter. We are 2 1/2 months in, and still not at a "good" dose.
 
Re: 5/9 Neko AMPS 352 still have to shoot - dosecrease?

It looks like Neko is bouncing off the greens from Monday. I would wait to increase until he has cleared the bounce. I will "bump" you up for more experienced eyes.
 
Re: 5/9 Neko AMPS 352 - dosecrease?

Thanks Melissa, I just shot the old dose. Based on her spreadsheet, I'm half expecting a good cycle today with a subsequent bounce to delay a dosecrease. A good cycle will be nice too. Oh well, I think it's time to get a new vial so will do that today anyway.
 
Re: 5/9 Neko AMPS 352 +4 200 - dosecrease?

+2 391 +4 200

Thanks Helen, it seems to be relatively quiet on FDMB this morning.

Neko is having a nice little run today. On the international scale, she is just into blues, on the American one, just hanging onto yellow. Nadir is still a while away so it looks like we are getting blue today! Yeah! Of course, the blues or the fast drop from +2 to +4 will be enough for a bounce for Neko. :sad:

I'm getting my vet to write a script for Solostar pens this time. I called the pharmacy, and it's $67 for the vial, and $102 for a set of 5 pens. The weird thing is that the pharmacy was OK with just renewing the prescription if it was me, but wanted a script from the vet for the cat. Fortunately the vet at the clinic today is the locum who knows Lantus and got me started on it instead of Caninsulin.
 
Re: 5/9 Neko AMPS 352 +4 200 - dosecrease?

Question - your profile says you feed two meals with th pm meal divided into 3 mini meals. Is that still how you feed, one meal in the am and 3 mini meals in the pm?

I'm wondering if doing mini meals in the am too might help cushion the drops that she often sees in the daytime but not at night.

Regardless of that, I do think you have room to increase to 5 units.
 
Re: 5/9 Neko AMPS 352 +4 200 - dosecrease?

Hi Libby, thanks for answering the dose question. I'll increase once Neko gets over the inevitable bounce from today.

I need to go update my profile. I thought I had but have to go look at the instructions because the edits I made a while ago are not there. Neko gets her meal split into 3 both AM and PM, and gets a +4 if she is dropping fast. She also gets a AM+9.5 snack which is 1-2 tsp. They both always had a meal then, so it's hard to get rid of it, but it's much smaller now for Neko.

I always thought the day time drops were because she was being considerate and letting me sleep. :lol: But other than the +9.5, meals are the same both AM and PM.
 
After a nice afternoon of low 200's and possibly dipping toes into the blue lagoon, Neko did the expected and bounced into the blacks. So, we wait before increasing the dose. Mama gets an early to bed pass again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top