Re: 5/1 Annie AMPS 265 prednisolone/pancreatitis?
Hi Star-
I think looking at Annie's ss, it is too early to see any patterns with the steroid.
Here is what I noticed with Latte...
She got her pred in the p.m. the majority of time she was diabetic. Most evenings she stayed higher and flatter than she did in the a.m.'s (when she did not get the pred). Certainly there were bounces thrown in there, and exceptions to any patterns I thought I was seeing. In general, I felt the pred kept her higher for many hours after administering it.
If you look at her ss, in the very beginning we stopped the pred to see what would happen. You will notice she was pretty much low blue and green. I started her on chemo drug, and she continued to stay in a good BG range. I think around 10/26 we restarted the steroid and you can watch as her numbers climb into the higher 100's with some 200's, then came the pinks. All the while we were increasing the insulin dose. If you go to 4/14/2010 when I started giving the steriod 2x/day her lower numbers in the a.m. become increasingly less. You can also notice effects on the BG's after any increase/decrease of the steroid dose.
Much beyond May 2010, I think is irrelevant. She had too many other issues going on to really understand what was what.
Every cat will react differently. Latte's diabetes was caused by the steroid, so she was obviously very sensitive to it. It was the only thing that helped reduce her vomiting and other issues surrounding the IBD/lymphoma. I really think it would be a good idea to talk to the vet asap and ask WHY they prescribed the prednisolone. If it is due to the pancreatitis, ask to switch to buprenex. I just see little reason to give a steroid to a diabetic unless it is a major quality of life issue.
Im not sure if I was much help. I just don't think it is too soon to determine how much of the BG's are related to the steroid and how much is the insulin dose/bouncing/etc.
Get Annie off the pred and the answer will become much clearer! :mrgreen: