4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161 +3.5/159

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68984
AMPS 169
+5 112
PMPS 179 (128 on Relion)
+3 86 (fed some med carb mixed in with regular lc)
+4 95 (55 on Relion)
+5 87 (50 on Relion)
+6 92
+10 165

Today

AMPS 187 (128 on Relion)
PMBG 161 (119 on Relion)
+3.5 159 (102 on Relion)

I'm not sure this is the right thing to do but I'm torn. I'm trying to do what's best for her.
I'm going to try to reduce the dose even further this morning to try to keep her from climbing any farther. Tonight we start the trial.
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

Amy, I read yesterday's condo, and good luck on the Trial. Is she still on some insulin?
I'll sure miss you as a fellow ATrak'er, but so happy at the same time!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

At the moment yes. I'm going to attempt to draw even less into the needle than I have been.
We can't seem to get her daytime numbers down and then she swan dives too low in the evening.
I worry about shooting, I worry about not shooting.

Seven hours of sleep over 2 days has caught up with me and I'm having a teeny bit of a melt down this morning.
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

Looks like Ruby is doing Great! Continued Good Luck with your trial! I am glad you made the switch-- it looks like it has worked great for Ruby!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

not a bad AMPS number! don't know how you even manage to figure out 'some' doseage, you are more manually adept than me and obviously have better eyes! I have trouble trying to figure a f1.5 for heavens sake!! and then when you try to 'fine tune' the syringe gets sticky, or shoots too much out! ohmygod_smile you are doing SUCH an amazing job!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

((((amy)))) you're having a meltdown because you're exhausted! all of your work will be worth it. i think it's time for you to see how she does without the insulin. it's called a trial for a reason - if she isn't ready, you give her more time on insulin. but if she is, you get to sleep all night tonight. you've done such an incredible job to get her to this point - no matter what, she's doing absolutely wonderfully!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

Its not uncommon for me to go use 2 or 3 syringes before I can get the right amount!

I'm consider tonight a "Trial OTJ Trial". If it works, great. If not, we jump back on that train and try again. But tonight....I sleep.

She's really getting cranky with me and the testing. This morning she actually gave me a tiny growl. After the test, she got out of my lap and walked just out of arms reach and sat there for a minute giving me the stink eye. Its funny to see a cat glaring at you! I kept talking to her, trying to coax her back so I could pet her. Eventually, she walked all the way around the coffee table (I was sitting on the floor, leaning against it) and up next to me on my other side. Then I was allowed to apologize for my sins and pet her.
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

She's really getting cranky with me and the testing. This morning she actually gave me a tiny growl. After the test, she got out of my lap and walked just out of arms reach and sat there for a minute giving me the stink eye.
:lol: She's thinking "let the trial begin already." That's right; you have nothing to lose tonight. If it doesn't work, back on the train you go. You have done an awesome job with Ruby.
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) AMPS 187

Ann & Maggie11 said:
She's really getting cranky with me and the testing. This morning she actually gave me a tiny growl. After the test, she got out of my lap and walked just out of arms reach and sat there for a minute giving me the stink eye.
:lol: She's thinking "let the trial begin already." That's right; you have nothing to lose tonight. If it doesn't work, back on the train you go. You have done an awesome job with Ruby.

I'm pretty sure what she was thinking was a lot more colorful than "let the trial begin already". :lol:
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

Alrighty...here we go.
This begins our "Trial OTJ Trial"

PMBG 161 on the Alpha/ 119 on the Relion.

She did come down from her AM number with virtually no insulin. Lets see how she does with none at all!

I test again 3 hours after she eats, right?
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

LOLcat%20fingers%20crossed.jpg
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

It feels really strange not shooting into a number like 161. I'm very eager to see where she is tomorrow morning.

I told the husband to force me to go to bed at 10:00 and not take any excuses. :smile:
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

Good luck with the OTJ trial!!! We have our paws crossed over here:)
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Goooooooooooooooooooooooooo Ruby!!!!!!

Here is some inspiration for you (you might not want to show this to Ruby!): Tuffy's SS

If you scroll down to where Tuffy went OTJ, the numbers will probably look familiar. Tuffy still does the bouncing and diving even OTJ, but she does always bring herself down. Hopefully Ruby will be a little less "special" than Tuffy is. :lol:
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

That link goes to Ru's sheet. I'd love to see Tuffy's.

Thanks for all of the encouragement, everyone!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

arozeboom said:
That link goes to Ru's sheet. I'd love to see Tuffy's.
Oops! Fixed Tuffy's link in the post above.

See, that's how similar their spreadsheets look, I couldn't even tell I was copying the wrong one!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

:-D

ps - that's a HUGE difference between the AT & Relion numbers! the AT sounds like "SHOOT THIS" and the relion looks like "hey, let ruby's trial begin!"

we're cheering for you!
 
Re: 4/19 Ruby (AT) Trial OTJ Trial PMBG 161

hi amy. sorry i'm late to the party. i'm glad libby linked tuffy's spreadsheet above. it should give you a good idea how not every kitty goes off the juice in the same way.

i was thinking about ruby today. i know she is free fed and that's fine, but with the weekend coming up i wonder if she would occasionally allow you to pick up the food bowl for 4 hours after a meal. it'll often take kitties who are just coming off the juice 3 or 4 hours to come down on their own. preventing her from grazing for 4 hours will show us if she can do it. all you'd have to do is test her before eating and then 4 hours later.

i don't want to starve her or stress her out. it would just be nice if we could see a couple of "clean" test results.

do you think it's do-able?
 
That's very doable.

She had a snack about 2 hours ago. So +3.5 after the PMBG test and 2 hours after eating, she's holding pretty darn steady! :smile:

+3.5 159 (102 on Relion)
 
good! i'm very interested to see what she's doing without a spot check possibly being influenced by by food.
holding steady after only 2 hours after eating is wonderful!!!

sooooooooooooooooooooo, time to go to bed now, right? :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top