4/18 Miss Kitty AMPS 459

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/18 Miss Kitty AMPS 459 Dose?

Hi guys .. Gosh, I don't know for sure .. if it was me, with mocha, I would know that it took a few cycles for the dose to kick in, but if miss kitty doesn't have that trend going, it might be worth it to wait so you can monitor her .. I hope someone comes by with a better answer, sorry! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/18 Miss Kitty AMPS 459 Dose?

i'm not really sure. it's hard to know what's going on - there was that 43 on the 1.75 that caused you to reduce the dose to 1.5u on 4/11 . . . and the subsequent bounce. kinda almost looks like there's bouncing and clearing every couple of days, but i don't think "kinda almost looks" is a very good observation to base a dose on! :lol:

i think more numbers would tell us more clearly what's needed, so if you need to wait til the weekend to get more, then i guess that might be the best plan.

perhaps others will weigh in.
 
Re: 4/18 Miss Kitty AMPS 459 Dose?

A couple of thoughts....

I'd love to see a curve. Given that you can't test all that much during the weekdays, getting a curve every so often will help to know how things are playing out. Even if you can't do a full curve, I think it's important to get more than one spot check on the days you may be home. If you're in and out of the house running errands, etc., get a test before you leave and one when you get back.

With respect to the numbers in the 40s during the evening cycles, the lack of follow-up tests makes me very nervous. You have no idea if the numbers went even lower.

The following is from the handling low numbers sticky:
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

    DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
I guess the bottom line is that I agree with Julie. A bit more data will help fill out the picture.
 
Re: 4/18 Miss Kitty AMPS 459 Dose?

I'll plan on doing a curve this weekend, haven't done one for a while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top