4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +5/87 +6/92 +10/165

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68895

Recap of last night's dip to the 60s
+10 141
AMPS 142
PMPS 163
+3 92
+4 85
+5 67
+5.5 94 (58 on Relion)
+6 100
+10.5 135

AMPS 169
+5 112
PMPS 179 (128 on Relion)
+3 86
+4 95 (55 on Relion)
+5 87 (50 on Relion)
+6 92
+10 165

Due to last nights dip to 67, I'm going to try giving her just the amount that the needle draws in (holding the plunger in tight, putting it into the bottle and letting go. It will draw some insulin into the syringe). I think it was Marjorie (if it was someone else, my apologies!) who suggested last night that maybe varying levels of carb would help even her out a bit. Tonight I'm going to try feeding her a 5% at dinner and then stick with the 2% and 3% for breakfast. Maybe that will keep her from going too low at night until we can bring her numbers down over all. She's obviously not ready for an OTJ trial but I don't want her to keep dropping so low at night only to bounce (a small bounce anyway) in the morning.

If anyone has more advice, I'd love to hear it.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

Amy, I just want to say Good Morning, and Ruby's numbers look great today. Wow with the 67 last night and glad you caught it! Not a bad bounce at all!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

She hit 92 and I thought, "hmmm...that's a little fast. I should keep and eye on that."
Then 85 (after eating a bit) and I thought, "Ok, I know this game. No big deal" and fed her a bit more.
An hour later 67 and it was full on WTF? :shock:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

Amy....we've been having a back channel discussion and think you should start an OTJ trial the next PS under 130 ok? You have the instructions I sent last night, right?

I believe Jill had you look at Alex's SS; it seems not all cats will be green ALL the time and Jill is hopeful that Ruby will settle into green once she is OTJ. And a trial is a trial for a reason. If she starts to climb back up...get her back
on the juice immediately.

Let us know if you have questions, ok? Good Luck with the trial ....YIPPEE!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

Wow! I'm all aflutter!
I don't expect the trial to stick at this time, but I'm willing to try to keep the 100 point swings from happening.

I do have some questions...

1) At what number do I start shooting again?

2) She's basically her own timed feeder. I put out 1 can of FF at shot time and she will generally eat 1/3 to 1/2 of it then. She will normally go back every couple of hours for a snack. (If I need her to eat more, like she starts dropping, all I have to do is put the bowl in front of her and she'll eat.) She''s not the lick the bowl clean type unless there is gravy involved. Most of the time there is a bit of food left when we pull the bowls at +10. Is it ok to keep with that schedule?

3) The instructions say this..."If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours." With using an AlphaTrak, what number do I consider "green" and "blue". Based on my comparisons, pretty much everything under 145 or so fall into double digits on our Relion Micro. Should I go with counting under 130 as green and over 130 as blue?

4) Wait, does that mean that once we start the trial I can sleep a whole 8 hours in a row if I want?

I'm guessing it might be a little while before she has a 130 PS, but I want to be ready.

Thanks for all of your help!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

Hi guys .. wahoooo!! Good luck on the OTJ when it starts! How exciting, ruby, did you hear?? We are all rooting for you! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. wahoooo!! Good luck on the OTJ when it starts! How exciting, ruby, did you hear?? We are all rooting for you! Have a great day guys!

I'm thinking about not telling her about it! She'll probably throw a Ruby-Curveball at me if I do. She'll figure it out on her own eventually. :-D
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

WOW!!! Now Ruby is just showing off! Rupert is quite quite jealous and is pouting and he and Checkers are likely to go off in a huff!!!! (not really, very excited and taking notes actually!) Way to go! how cool. fingers crossed it works!!!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

heehee. congrats. when are you going to sing out loud and proud on your subject line so everyone can get all excited with you? ok, i guess it's reasonable to wait til you actually start.

normal non-diabetic numbers are anything below 120 on your relion - so figure out what that is on your AT from your previous tests.

if the 145 on the relion = 99 or lower on your AT, then use 145 as your border between greens and blues.

if you see a number you think you should shoot, post here and ask. i suspect it will depend on what numbers are around it. if you see an overall trend with many numbers above 120 on your relion, then you'd probably restart.

yes, i think the feeding you're describing is fine. nice to have a self-timed feeder! :lol: mine leaves nothing for later. he'll fail in a nuclear disaster. ;-)

please sleep 8 hrs in a row. that's your first assignment. right after you have a 130 AT preshot number.

:mrgreen: how fun!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112

+5 112

I gave her an honorary green for that one. ;-)


Once we start the trial, you bet I'll be singing it from the rafters!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

arozeboom said:
1) At what number do I start shooting again?
when thinking about resuming insulin, we don't look for a single number. what we watch for is an upwards trend. if she's trending upwards we'd suggest resuming insulin.

please be aware that kitties will often bobble up and down during an OTJ trial. it happens. some kitties do it more than others. don't let it concern you. i can look for ss examples later if you're interested.

2) She's basically her own timed feeder. I put out 1 can of FF at shot time and she will generally eat 1/3 to 1/2 of it then. She will normally go back every couple of hours for a snack. (If I need her to eat more, like she starts dropping, all I have to do is put the bowl in front of her and she'll eat.) She''s not the lick the bowl clean type unless there is gravy involved. Most of the time there is a bit of food left when we pull the bowls at +10. Is it ok to keep with that schedule?
sounds good to me.

3) The instructions say this..."If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours." With using an AlphaTrak, what number do I consider "green" and "blue". Based on my comparisons, pretty much everything under 145 or so fall into double digits on our Relion Micro. Should I go with counting under 130 as green and over 130 as blue?
that will have to be your call. you've done quite a few comparisons between your two meters. go with what you're comfortable with.

4) Wait, does that mean that once we start the trial I can sleep a whole 8 hours in a row if I want?
sleeping 8 hours is a requirement of every OTJ trial! :mrgreen:

I'm guessing it might be a little while before she has a 130 PS, but I want to be ready.
what we're looking for is overall time spent in normal numbers. the only reason i suggested 130 to marje is because of Rand's notation regarding the AT meter running 30 points higher than human meters. we usually suggest starting OTJ trials on green preshot numbers for those using human meters. all we want to do is provide a good start to the trial.




as marje mentioned, not every newly diagnosed kitty heads off the juice with a solid green spreadsheet. it's ok. the tiniest amounts of insulin have been dropping ruby too low. there comes a time when we have to evaluate what's going on. i think we're at that point with ruby. AT meter numbers sometimes present a lopsided view of a kitty's progress for those of us who think in terms of the data collected from human meters. the "test sheet" you created puts the data into a perspective most of us are used to dealing with. she's looking pretty darn good!

in our quest for green numbers we often overlook a single word in the protocol when taking reductions. the word is "overall":

"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!"

overall, ruby is maintaining numbers in the normal range on what most would consider the smallest amount of insulin one could possibly draw into a syringe. again, according to Rand... that 67 last night would be considered a 37 on a human meter. given the discrepancies and margin for error between meters, i don't know if it actually equates to a 37, but in any case... it's low enough to warrant a reduction.

something else to take into account...
there's more leeway involved when we're talking about an OTJ trial for a newly diagnosed kitty versus a kitty who has been on insulin for quite some time. newly diagnosed kitty's spreadsheets don't have to look quite as pretty as spreadsheets of kitties who have been on the juice for a long time because *usually* the longer a kitty has required insulin the less chance of remission.



imho, ruby's drops combined with the overall time spent below 100 (human meter) and the minute dose make her a candidate for an OTJ trial. frankly, i don't know how much more you could possibly reduce her dose. if the trial should fail, no big deal. it just means she'll need a little more support for a bit longer. ruby's on a mission. there's no stopping her.


good luck!!!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112

Thanks Jill! It really means a lot to me to hear such encouragement from the experts around here.

I created the second tab of the spreadsheet more to keep my spirits up than anything. Seeing all that green in one place makes me really happy. I use the AT as my main meter because its what my vet uses, but I will keep spot testing with the Relion as well, to gather more data. I really wish I had used it last night but I was NOT expecting to see that 67, especially after she had eaten quite a bit in between +3 and +5.

I'm really not sure how much insulin she got this morning. I know there was "some" in at least the needle, so that's what I put on the sheet, but there couldn't have been a whole lot in it. After I injected her, I kept the plunger pushed down to make sure everything in there was out before I withdrew it from her tent.

I was really surprised at the 112 at +5. I know she had eaten a snack at some point between +.5 and +5 so its possible she was a little lower earlier this morning.

If this works and she does end up in remission for any length of time, I plan on going the vet's office and doing this in the waiting area dancing_cat
Especially the bum wigging part.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 - dosing question

Pip & Rupert said:
WOW!!! Now Ruby is just showing off! Rupert is quite quite jealous and is pouting and he and Checkers are likely to go off in a huff!!!! (not really, very excited and taking notes actually!) Way to go! how cool. fingers crossed it works!!!

Your intended picture didn't show up in your post. I was copying and pasting some of the info here into Word and it showed up there. I about fell out of my chair! :lol:


Don't pout Rupert! You'll get there!
 

Attachments

  • IHasAPout.jpg
    IHasAPout.jpg
    26.6 KB · Views: 1,206
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112

oops! sorry about that. glad you got to see it, too cute not to use!

and I love your wiggly butt cat! might have to steal! and yeah, i'd do that to my old vet too!!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112

Pip & Rupert said:
oops! sorry about that. glad you got to see it, too cute not to use!

and I love your wiggly butt cat! might have to steal! and yeah, i'd do that to my old vet too!!

The wiggly butt in in the "view other smilies" section over there --->
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112 PMPS 179

Nope, not tonight. She heard us talking.

PMPS 179 (128 on Relion)
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112 PMPS 179

I'm excited
emoticon-animal-061.gif
for you :-D uh, I mean Ruby :razz:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) AMPS 169 +5/112 PMPS 179

Go Ruby Go! But of course she'll do it in her own time. flip_cat
And probably give you a PS number just a couple above the number you want.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

+3 86

How the heck does she doing these 100-ish point drops in 3 to 4 hours?
Last night...163 to 67 at +5
Tonight...179 to 86 at +3

And what do I do about them?
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

what are your choices in what you can do about those drops? i mean, she's in charge! about the only thing you can do is increase the carbs to hold up the bottom numbers. i have no idea what other options there might be.

she's just aching to go off! :lol:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

If she wants to get off the juice she needs to bring down those pre-shot numbers. You hear me, Ruby? Bring those bad boys down! :smile:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

make sure you leave your condo open where she can see it. They Look, you know. ;-) :lol:

a good talking-to is just the thing.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

Right now she's having a snack of mostly lc with a teaspoon of 5% mixed in.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

looks to me like ruby wants off the juice! :lol:

i honestly don't think ruby will be one of those kitties who will go OTJ sporting all greens from start to finish on every cycle. imho, increasing the carbs is not the answer. i also think there's a good possibility some of these higher preshot numbers can be attributed to bounces.

your call, but if she were mine i would bite the bullet and see what she can do on her own. given her patterns, i'd probably attempt a trial on the next PM cycle.



just my thoughts...
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

The 179 was 128 on the Relion, which isn't far outside of the 120 you mentioned earlier today.

I'm totally willing to start the trial tomorrow night. If it doesn't work, we get back on the bus and try again later.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 Question!

i'd give it a try. we'll know soon enough if can she ride without those pesky training wheels!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

Jill & Alex said:
arozeboom said:
+4 94 on the Alpha - 55 on the Relion
so, in other words if you hadn't have fed... she probably would have earned a reduction tonight.

Yes, she most likely would have. She was falling quite a bit faster than last night and I didn't want to let her get as low as she did then. She normally snack around this time anyway. I just mixed in a little 5% carb with the 3% she left from dinner.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

she didn't get much of a bump out of that 5% this time.
makes me think MR. P is showing up for work. let's see if he's up to coming back to work full time!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

Should I start the trial in the morning instead of tomorrow night?
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

i think you'll have to play that one by ear. kind of depends what she does the rest of the night. if you have to struggle to keep her up tonight, i'd have a real hard time shooting and then leaving to go to work if i were in your shoes. kwim?

if you know you can make it home to get a mid-cycle spot check and you feel comfortable giving her the smallest amount of insulin possible in the morning... you might want to shoot.

you see what she can do with a preshot number of 179 (AT)...


edited to add:
ps --- i've learned to trust a caregivers judgment. i trust yours.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

I'm going to test her again in about 30 minutes. She hasn't eaten since right after the +3 shot.

It seems like with every evening shot she's dropping farther and faster. During the daytime she's always run higher but knowing her, that could change at any time. She'd done it before.
Now that you mentioned it, it does seem like maybe the higher pre shot numbers we're seeing are little mini-bounces. If she stays pretty level for the next couple of hours, maybe she won't bounce as much in the morning.

You're right though, I do worry about shooting and leaving. A lot. My husband works at home but hasn't gotten on the testing train yet. I can sometimes make it home for a mid-day test and I should be able to tomorrow. But it wouldn't be until +4 or +5 at the earliest and we've seen what she can do in less time than that.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

the fact that we're seeing faster and steeper drops at night (on wee doses) is what concerns me. it also makes me wonder if that's what is causing the higher numbers during the day. the only other thing i can think of (and it's very possible) is she either eats more during the day or the portion(s) DH feeds are larger than what you feed at night.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

She's given the same amount, 1 can of FF, day and evening. We very rarely add more to her bowl than that. When I ask him to make sure she eats at a certain time during the day, all he has to do is put her bowl in front of her and she eats what she wants.

When I'm home, I interact with her more than he does during the day. He's home, but he's basically changed to his computer the whole time. Basically, her most active time on weekdays is from about 5:30 pm to 11:30 pm. Maybe that's why she runs lower in the evening?
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94

being more active in the evening could help lower BG numbers... it's hard to say. playing/being more active sometimes results in lower numbers for alex... sometimes it seems as though her numbers are higher. lol! cats! i think trying to figure them out is a lot like banging our heads against a wall!
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94 +5/87

I still haven't recovered from only getting 3 hours of sleep last night. She's testing my patience now! :smile:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94 +5/87

i know, i know. hang in there.
if all goes well you'll be getting full night's sleep and sleeping in on weekend mornings while the rest of us are blurry-eyed and fumbling for a syringe. :lol:
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94 +5/87 +6/92

+6 92

She's starting to run when she sees the meter in my hand. I think she's surfing ok so I'm going to freshen her food up a bit and let her go for the night.

Right now my plan is to start the trial in the morning.
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94 +5/87 +6/92

Woohoo! Get some sleep, you definitely deserve it! I'm so excited for you and Ruby! dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 4/18 Ruby (AT) PMPS 179 +3/86 +4/94 +5/87 +6/92

Congratulations, Amy! I'm excited for you and Ruby -- all paws crossed in our household for a great OTJ trial.
 
+10 165

Despite this ugly number, I think we're going to do an trial OTJ trial. Or at least a trial to see if she doesn't get a shot this morning, if it will keep her from doing her deep dips in the evenings. I'm not sure what else to do at this point. Like Jill said, maybe the higher PS numbers are bounces from the low numbers the night before.

I'll open a new condo for her AMPS in a little while. I'll try to get a Relion reading, too. She's really not happy with the testing right now and is starting to get really huffy.
 
Sounds like Ruby wants the chance to sleep through the whole night too :lol:

This is very exciting :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top