4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133

Thanks! I'm a little nervous because I don't know yet if I can make it home mid-day. The husband is here to make sure she eats, though. I just have to remind him to remind her. :smile:
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133

Sometimes hubbies need reminding. :lol: Sticky Notes all over the house oughta do the trick. :lol: IF I ever get a job, I'm sure that I'll be needing to remind my hubby, too, to feed not just her, but the rest of them, especially at +3.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133

I'm really lucky that he works at home. Now, if only we could get him to test her! ;-)
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133 - dose question

It just occurred to me that Ru briefly hit 80 (on the AlphaTrak) last night. Should I have reduced again? Now that I've left the house I've gotten paranoid again. ohmygod_smile Lat night was the first batch of greens she's had since Sunday.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133 - dose question

I wouldn't. The reduction comes for a umber below 80 on the AT. Looks like she went up from 80.

Wow..her SS looks awesome!
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133 - dose question

I was a bit thrown early in the week when she kept hovering in the high 100s. But now its looking like every day her preshots are coming a little bit at a time. I like that!

I'm going to run home shortly to get a +5.5 or so test in. Stay tuned for that!
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133 +6/139

+6 139

She ate quite awhile before this test so I'm wondering if maybe the FF Turkey & Giblets I fed them for breakfast is keeping her up a bit.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) AMPS 133 +6/139 PMPS 165 +2/93

PMPS 165
+2 93

I'm thinking it was definitely the T&G
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

At +3.5 she hit 73 on the Alpha (31 on a Relion Micro!) She's eating a snack right now.

I hate taking attention away from CD & Big Mac but I can use some help. We're shooting at .1 right now. Where do we go from here? If she pulls something lower than a 150 in the morning, I'm not sure I'm ok with shooting and leaving and unfortunately staying home isn't an option. I'd rather skip the shot.

I'm asking now because in the morning when I'm usually on, the board is pretty sparse.

Thanks!
Amy & Ruby
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

I sure would like to see her in more green. Can you practice a fat zero? Maybe half of what you are giving now?
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

I just sent you a PM!

I'm using Monoject syringes right now. The way I draw the .1 is that I push in the plunger as far as it will go and hold it there until I get the needle into the bottle. I let go and it sucks a bit of insulin in, then I draw about 1 unit into it and carefully let out a drop at a time until its just at the underside of the 0 line (the side between 0 and .5, if that makes sense). I'd rather not skip a shot completely but I'm really not comfortable leaving her even if only shooting the .1, with the way she's dropped the past couple of nights.

I really do think she stayed up a bit during the day today because I fed them the turkey & giblets this morning.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

Yes, that's where I got the dosing for the .1

Ideally, I would like to see more green, too. If I could be home all day, I'd do it in a heartbeat. But I can't be.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

amy, i think the very smallest dose is to do what you do with the plunger - push it all the way into the barrel of the syringe, hold it tight, put the needle in the insulin and then release. that amount is only what is pulled back into the needle. might not even register in the barrel of the syringe.

do you want to try that?

oh, and congrats - what a horrible problem to have! ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

You have a couple options

1. Decrease the dose by drawing like you are but putting the top (needle side) of the plunger just below the top of the zero line ( a fat zero dose) or

2. Start feeding higher carb ( not HC but higher low carb) food all the time to bring her numbers up while you hold the dose.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

+4 Alpha 81, Relion 40

While I had my back turned, she snarfed down almost all that was left of her dinner, close to half a can of Fancy Feast. She's normally not that fast of an eater!

Julie - its a terrible problem! ;-)
When I push in the plunger all the way and it sucks some in, you can't really see it in the barrel. The Monoject have this little pyramid shaped area in front of the 0 line, if you look closely, you can see the insulin in there. It does often have a good sized air bubble in it. I can always go with the front of the 0 line, instead of the back of the 0 line, where we are now. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 Need some advice

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You have a couple options

1. Decrease the dose by drawing like you are but putting the top (needle side) of the plunger just below the top of the zero line ( a fat zero dose) or

2. Start feeding higher carb ( not HC but higher low carb) food all the time to bring her numbers up while you hold the dose.

or...

3. start an OTJ trial.


it all depends on your comfort level. your husband doesn't test and you're at work all day.
ruby is a newly diagnosed kitty. she may handle a trial without any problem.
it's up to you.

take a look at alex's 2006 spreadsheet the last couple of weeks before she went off the juice the first time. she bobbled up and down a bit. if you add 30 points to her numbers to reflect AT numbers... she was throwing similar numbers to ruby's.


just out of curiosity... is the T & G you're talking about Fancy Feast? the reason i'm asking is because i'm pretty sure someone refigured the percentage of carbs to be around 7% after FF changed the formula the last time.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81

It is the T&G Fancy Feast. Ann was talking the other day about how much of a boost Maggie gets from it. I know Ruby responds pretty strongly to the Friskies 7% so I gave her some of the FF this morning to see what would happen. She seems to have cruised most of the day in the 130s or so. (I also read that Friskies has rice in it, even the 7%.)

I think what really got me tonight was seeing the 31 on the Relion. That's the lowest I've ever seen her go, but then again, I don't use the Relion often.

I think I'll go with the fat zero tomorrow. I don't want to empty her shed completely. I'll try go make it home to get a lunch test in and I'll make sure the husband gets her to eat a snack around +3.

Thanks for all of the advice. I'm glad I did my freaking out tonight instead of in the morning! :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81

arozeboom said:
I'm glad I did my freaking out tonight instead of in the morning! :-D

:lol: :lol: Dyana is excellent at handling early morning freakouts :-D
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81

yeah, the 31 would do it for me, too.
i'm all for low numbers and tight regulation, but i'm not fond of 30s.

good luck with the reduced dose!
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81

Marjorie and Gracie said:
arozeboom said:
I'm glad I did my freaking out tonight instead of in the morning! :-D

:lol: :lol: Dyana is excellent at handling early morning freakouts :-D

Oh, I know, trust me! She gets her share of me too. :smile: I'm not stingy with my freak outs. I like to spread the love around.
Unfortunately (for me, not her!) she heads off to work right around the time Ruby and I really get rolling in the mornings.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81

arozeboom said:
Oh, I know, trust me! She gets her share of me too. :smile: I'm not stingy with my freak outs. I like to spread the love around. Unfortunately (for me, not her!) she heads off to work right around the time Ruby and I really get rolling in the mornings.

"I'm not stingy with my freak outs"

my new favorite quote! :lol:
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +2/93 +3.5/73 +4/81 - eyes?

+10.5 102

Wow...she either dipped low again last night or she just surfed nice and low. I was honestly expecting 130s-150s. She ate a lot right around +5.25 last night.

I know we're 90 from shooting time, but I still have to ask, how low does she need to be for me to skip the shot or do I just do a token does?

Should I just start today's condo instead of posting here?
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

You can keep posting in this condo, for now, if you like. I still need to go through and read it.
I would get a +11.5 and post that. But, I will not be here then. Let me read the condo and take a look at your ss.
brb.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

Yes, I was just going to suggest that.
Let me know what the number is.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

+11 131

Quite the jump. All she's eating is a teeny piece of freeze dried chicken.

ETA - yesterday morning I fed her a slighter higher carb breakfast and shot the full .1
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

I have given J.D. R insulin right at the zero line. Not a fat zero, but right at the line. If you measured at the zero line, with your syringes, do you get a drop out still, when you push on the plunger? Why don't you see what happens with that, while I get dressed.
I will stay online until it's time to leave (in 30 minutes), but I have to be quick and on and off as I get ready for work.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

I get pretty much the same amount, 1 fat drop, if I just push in the plunger and let it suck in the insulin as I do if I draw in more and measure from the 0 line.

Thank you so much for helping this morning! I told them all last night I share my freak outs with you! :smile:
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

+11.5 133

I have to dive into the shower. I'm thinking maybe the 0 will be the way to go. Maybe I'll mix some of the regular LC food with a bit of the 7%. Sound ok?
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

I saw that.
I'm guessing you are wanting to still give a bit of insulin to try to get some more greens for awhile before starting the OTJ trial. If so, try to practice measuring 1 normal sized drop. I have seen people call it 1 drop on their spreadsheets.

Otherwise, if you're going to start the trial today, do you have the instructions? I'm sure you do :-D

Have a good day.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

I don't know if I do have the instructions. Can you link them, please?

Thanks so much!

Amy & Ruby

(I'll start a condo for today at AMPS time)
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

Oh wow, Amy, congrats if you start trial. I would freak out, too, with that 31. Did you actually test on the R.Micro, or subtract 30 points? Ruby, amazing kitty!
PS Glad the FF T&Y helps her cruise.
 
Re: 4/12 Ruby (AT) PMPS 165 +10.5/102 - eyes please?

Super fast, because I'm late for work. I don't know if these are exactly right, if you are using the alpha track.

Here are the instructions:

•Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

•If Ruby is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

•If, after 2 weeks Ruby has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Bye :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top