04/08 Vyktor OTJ trial day 0.5 PMBG 79

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Vyktors Mum, Apr 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Are we in trouble yet? Does his dose need to be increased if he's in blue again at his next shot? If so should it be back to 0.25 or just fattened? He does free feed but the higher number at AMPS isn't food induced the only food he ate between +7 and AMPS was just a few bites at +10 when I put the bowl in front of him before removing. Same yesterday, when he scored the 110 at +9 he hadn't eaten anything since +5.5.

    This morning is his 7th cycle at 0.1 (or thereabouts) and that 133 is the highest number we've seen since 03/22

    Recap:
    94 AMPS
    76 +2
    70 +3
    77 +4
    70 +6
    110 +9
    113 +10
    119 PMPS
    88 +2
    76 +4
    110 +7
    113 +10

    Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68120
     
  2. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 - dose?

    tough call. I see an inverted curve on 4/5 and 4/6, which sometimes signals too much insulin when they are on 0.1u, but that pattern hasn't repeated itself so I'm not sure.

    I would get some spot checks today (like you always do). Let's see what he does - this number says something is different, so maybe he will show us what it is.

    If he doesn't come down by tonight I would probably increase. If he was mine I would probably go to 0.25 because I like to be aggressive, but that's up to you. ;-)
     
  3. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 - dose?

    I was thinking that myself about the inverted curves and had almost decided that in his case the 0.1ish was actually doing more harm than good and thought it was inteferring with his own abilities. I was thinking of stopping it this morning - until I saw that 133 :sad:

    Thanks Libby, I will get my usual abundance of tests today.
     
  4. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 - dose?

    once they are down to this dose, it can be really hard to tell the difference between too much and too little. Hopefully he will make it obvious today.
     
  5. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 - dose?

    :lol: :lol: :lol: In true cat style Vyktor has declared an OTJ trial!!! Crazy Lantus roller coaster ride!!!
     
  6. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Woohoo - good luck with the trial!!!
     
  7. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!



    Anne, Liz, Zener & Tillie
     
  8. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    huh, Vyktor, I spent quite a few brain cells trying to figure out your spreadsheet. You could have waited at least a few minutes before throwing it in my face. :lol:

    Good luck with the trial!
     
  9. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Good luck!!

    In case you need them, here are the instructions:
    • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
    • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
    • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

    Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
     
  10. arozeboom

    arozeboom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Go Vyktor Go! :mrgreen:
    Inspire Ruby to follow you, please!
     
  11. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Oh wow, Vyktor, a Trial coming up! Congrats! :mrgreen: Mags will have a pic special for you tomorrow if the crazy Bean can get her act together.
     
  12. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    BINKS AND I BEST GET BUSY CLEANING HIS CONDO AT THE FALLS!!!!!!!!


    [​IMG]
     
  13. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    How exciting!! Congratulations on the trial. WOOOOTTTT!!!!
     
  14. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    [​IMG]

    you have earned it, serryn! way to go mr vyktor!

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  15. Pip & Rupert

    Pip & Rupert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :RAHCAT

    see, all you had to do was mention that blue number and threaten a dosecrease and he finally took care of business! How exciting!!!!!!!! Truly inspired. I sure hope Rupert is watching and learning! Way to go Vyktor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! one helluva party coming up methinks! Rupie is already getting the blender ready for some serious martini's!!!!!!!!
     
  16. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    He is such a cat! :lol: :lol: :lol: but I really appreciate your efforts even if he thought it was funny to 'throw it in your face'

    It is Easter Sunday here already too, what an auspicious occasion to rise again! He had converted to Hindu because it was only after someone made an offering to Ganesh that he started eating again after his DKA (he has a little Ganesh statue in his feeding area) but maybe he has to convert to Christian now - or maybe this just goes to show that they are all one in the same! And on Binks' one year OTJ anniversary too - Vyktor you do have such a sense of timing :lol: :lol: :lol:

    I have literally been doing cartwheels in the backyard (who knew I could still do those, it has been a while!) and fried my phone by trying to send too many text messages all at once but am now trying to calm down and remember this is just the start of the trial. Deep breaths, deep breaths.

    Thanks for the instructions Sienne, many thanks for all well wishes, things are indeed looking up (except for his BG :lol: ) But I think Vyktor is more excited about a special picture of Mags than his OTJ trial, he started giving me 'the look' for smothering him too much with kisses and cuddles, it can't compare to Gracie's stink eye but it's his version of it :lol: . Sending some Vyktor vibes to Ruby and Rupert (yep those dosecrease threats certainly do work a treat ;-) ) and to all the LL kitties :mrgreen:
     
  17. arozeboom

    arozeboom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Hey Vyktor, come on over to Ruby's condo and see what you started! :lol:
     
  18. Monica and Atticus (GA)

    Monica and Atticus (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Yay! This is so exciting! Atticus says "Good luck, Vyktor!''
     
  19. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Whoot Whoot!!!!!

    Yay Vyktor! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    Go Vyktor Go!!!

    As a former Caninsulin to Lantus guy, I'm showing him to Neko as a great example of what tuxedo cats can do. I won't show her the part about him doing the unexpected.
     
  21. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!!

    In case anyone's wondering yes I have still been testing I just can't bear to take his declaration out of the subject line :mrgreen:

    We have had:

    1 tsp of HC given at +2
    +2.5 52 - 1 tsp HC and self fed LC
    +3.5 56
    +4.5 58
    +5 56
    +5.5 58 - gave 1/2 tsp of HC to give him a pokie break and self fed LC

    And here he is at the LC with his little Ganesh on his mat just to the left, I guess you can't really see it properly but it's the coloured thing:

     

    Attached Files:

  22. Cini Mini's Mom

    Cini Mini's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!! + pi

    Good luck guys! I think Vyktor will do fine !
     
  23. Daphne#5 GA

    Daphne#5 GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!! + pi

    Oh, this is wonderful news, actually the best of the day :D

    Yay Vyktor, you did it! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

    Wishing you lots of luck on the trial!!
     
  24. Pip & Rupert

    Pip & Rupert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!! + pi

    um, EXCUSE ME! Rupie says 'when are you going to start serving the appetizers ????'.......

    [​IMG]
     
  25. worldtraveller

    worldtraveller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!! + pi

    OTJ Trial for Vyktor - this is exciting news - WOHOOOOO :RAHCAT

    Looking forward to your daily AMBG and PMBG (instead of "PS" ;-) ) posts :D :D :D
     
  26. MelanieAndRacci

    MelanieAndRacci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Re: 04/08 Vyktor AMPS 133 +2 47 - Vyktor has declared!! + pi

    I can't believe it. I take one day off and everything happens!

    Yay Vyktor!!! You go boy! Congratulations you two!! It was just a matter of time. He's been practicing for this day. :razz:

    Hugs,
    Melanie & Racci
     
  27. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    It was worth taking his declaration out of his subject line to write OTJ trial and post a green PMBG (yay no PS) :mrgreen:

    It is already weird - for both of us. When I went in to give scritches to Vyktor this afternoon around +10 he was a little miffed that I didn't bring any food with me as I always home deliver then before taking the food away in the lead up to his shot.

    Then just before normal shot time he looked like he wanted to eat but wasn't sure if he should so went and sat next to his testing gear instead (he is such a good boy!) so we did his test and then he kept sitting there looking at me and I realised he was waiting for me to get his shot. Really Vyktor didn't you quite understand what all the cartwheels were about this morning :lol:
     
  28. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Serryn, this is just the BEST NEWS!! I missed your exciting condo yesterday, but there's enough excitement in today's! I would be doing cartwheels (if I could) too. :D :D Go Vyktor :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    Happy Easter!

    Ella & Rusty

    Yo Vyktor, you are lookin' fantastic, man! Keep the trial goin'.
    Your pal,
    Rusty
     
  29. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    WOO HOO! A trial!!! How wonderful - GO VYKTOR!!

    flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
     
  30. Linda for Weezer

    Linda for Weezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    WooHoo!! Congratulations Vyktor & Serryn! You persistence and dedication paid off big time!
     
  31. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Paws crossed for Vyktory! :D :D
    Liz
     
  32. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I wonder what Vyktor will think when you sleep through the night?
     
  33. kim and simon

    kim and simon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    What? This is great news! Where have I been, under a rock? I didn't know this was on the horizon and I'm so excited! Please have Vyk tell Simey what to do to find his way there. . .
     
  34. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Go Vyktor! Trial Day 1 and looking GREEN!

    [​IMG]
     
  35. arozeboom

    arozeboom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    :mrgreen: Ruby & I are rooting for you! :mrgreen:
     
  36. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat drinking09 haha_smiley haha_smiley
    WE ARE SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!! PAWS & FINGERS CROSSED HERE--
    GANESH IS THE REMOVER OF OBSTACLES!! GUESS IT WORKED :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
    Hugs & Love from us!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page