3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +7 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66931

Mornin'!

AMPS 333
+2 329
+5 280
+7.5 177
PMPS 121
+2 82
+2.5 70 - ate 2 teaspoons med carb
+3 75
+3.5 76
+4 89
+4.5 79 - self fed some low carb
+5 104
+5.5 97
+6 105
+7 117- self fed low carb
+7.5 118

Ruby had a good night last night! She somehow ended up with a PMPS 106 and surfed the blues until very early this morning. I went with the increase even though she was a little low to start and I'm glad I did. A bit of a bounce this morning, but I see potential in last night. Hopefully we'll beat the bounce quickly today.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) AMPS 333 +2 329 +5 280

+5 280

I think I can safely run a few errands now. I won't be shocked if she gets thru the bounce and goes back down tonight.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) AMPS 333 +2 329 +5 280

Oh Rube's there is just no need to bounce, please report back to the blue/green floor immediately!!! :-D
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) AMPS 333 +2 329 +5 280 +8.5 177

+8.5 177

She's paying attention (at least a little) :-D
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82

+2 82

Looks like a fun night ahead of us! She's eating some LC now.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

+2.5 Down to 70

Should I give her some medium or high carb now?
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

I would go ahead and give her a bit of gravy to try to bump her up a little bit for surfing.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

She's munching on 2 teaspoons of medium right now. Should I go ahead and mix in a little gravy?

I've got some strained and ready. :smile:
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

does MC usually do the trick for her? What about testing after 20 min. and then giving gravy if needed?

My only concern is that it is early in the cycle so you might be feeding for a few hours.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

We've never used medium before. I never had it on hand. I'm going to test her again in about 4 minutes. That will be 30 after the last one.
She didn't eat a huge amount of dinner and the only time she's ever walked away from fresh food was when she was sick. I'm not overly worried about her getting too full yet.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 HC or MC Now?

good, it's helpful to have a good eater. :smile: I never worried about that with Lucy either.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 +3 75

With hitting the 70 on the Alpha tonight, I think that earns a decrease. But we just increased last night...what do we do with that?
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 +3.5 76 +4 89 +4.5

+4.5 79
She self fed some low carb right after this test.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +3.5 76 +4 89 +4.5 79 +5 1

+5 104

I told her that if she doesn't bring it up and bit and keep it there, I'm going to have to keep poking her. Maybe it will work.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +2.5 70 +3 75

another awesome cycle!
arozeboom said:
With hitting the 70 on the Alpha tonight, I think that earns a decrease. But we just increased last night...what do we do with that?
that's ok. sometimes it only takes a couple of cycles at an increased dose to cause a break through and bring the range down.

here's what happened...
ruby was ready for an increase. you ended up shooting not only as the bounce was breaking, but you also had a dropping 106 AT (76 human meter) preshot number. this was a bonus and you took advantage of it! go you!

for some reason experienced caregivers in LL have stopped shooting dropping preshot numbers. personally, when i can monitor closely AND and am prepared to manage the curve i choose to capitalize on shooting dropping numbers.

where to go now...
if ruby bounces as she has has been doing you can shoot through the bounce by shooting 1u in the morning and then take the reduction the next cycle. you have the option of reducing to 0.75u or you can simply shave off a little from the 1u dose.

if i were in your shoes, i would weigh what happens the rest of this cycle to determine if i wanted to shoot through the bounce with 1u in the morning. by the time you get to the PM cycle tomorrow night, you'll have a better idea if you want to simply shave the dose or take a full 0.25u reduction.

make sense?
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +6

+6 105

That does make sense. I'd rather not lose any footing we've gained last night and today. I'm expecting she'll be back close to 300 again by morning, just based on "normal" behavior.

Most likely I won't be able to make it home mid-cycle on Monday during the day to test so I'd like to get as much control as we can by then.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +6

then go for it! you have a nice break here. the biggest mistake caregivers make is backing down when they're presented with what could amount to a golden opportunity.

any luck on getting DH to test? obviously, him testing would be ideal, but we can work around it if we have to if he's willing to follow your direction to put a fresh plate of food in front of her at specified times.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +6

ps --- i just looked at the time and i'm late for testing and feeding.
i'll be back when i'm finished in case you have any comments or questions.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +6

Right now he's so slammed with work I don't want to put the added pressure of testing on him. We've both got some pretty insane job stuff happening lately. Its not normally like this.
Once things mellow out a bit for him, he'll work on it.

I try to get as far as I can with her on weekends because I can't really do dose changes during the week right now. Again...job demands. :roll:

That 106 was one of my lowest shoots so far. She did a great job with it.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +7

+7 117
She ate some more about 15 minutes before this test.
 
Re: 3/24 Ruby (AT) PMPS 121 +2 82 +4.5 79 +5 104 +5.5 97 +6

i understand. those darn jobs sure do help pay the bills though! :mrgreen:

once you get a better feel for ruby traveling in the lower range when you're there to monitor... i think you'll become more comfortable.

ruby did very well this weekend. you did even better!

for those following ruby's progress... you might want to read back through the last several days worth of threads as well as take a good look at ruby's spreadsheet (remember these are AlphaTRAK numbers). this is the way to work this insulin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top