Re: 3/16/12-Racci AMPS-131,+6 181,+9.5-225, PMPS-345, +3-251

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/16/12-Racci AMPS-131

Hi Melanie, sorry I haven't been around. To catch up on your question about the food...Merrick BG is Before Grain. It can be hard to find that food, Petco does carry it though.

I would really like to encourage you to get some night time spot checks. Racci is doing really well, but you are missing half of your data without the PM tests, and you could be missing a dose reduction. Can you get a before bed test? If he is waking you up to eat at mid cycle, I would definitely get a test then. He may be low, and that's why he's waking you up. Many cats go lower at night.

He's looking really great! :-D
 
Hi Laurie, Celi & Julie,

Thank you all for checking on me and my sweet girl.

I could cry. I just typed this long message to you all and lost it! It took me so long to do too! grrrrrr! Oh well, a condensed version:

Sorry I didn't keep this up today. It's been a rough day here and Racci is constipated for the second day so I've been babying her hoping I could get her to go. I just gave her the 3rd dose of Miralax @ 1am and am hoping this will do it. They always wait for the weekend to get sick!! She's hungry though which is unusual for her when she's constipated! I've been pouring the water on her food but that doesn't seem to be helping. She's acting like she feels fine tho. I don't know maybe she just needs more fiber in her? She's sleeping and laying around a lot but then again she's kind of an old lady and is never very active. She's certainly alert and willing to play with me. The only thing she's grouchy about is the usual brushing her long thick hair that she always complains about.

I finally got the nighttime +3, Laurie. It's 251. Today was a really crummy day for Racci. I hope those once a day pinks aren't back.
I was surprised to see she went down that fast tonight. That's not like her in the day. I guess you were right about the night going lower than the day! Wow, that.s ggoing ot make it really rough for me when she's having a low day. Nights are hard for me to get.

I had an accident in 2005 and really got a screwed up spine from it as well as the arthritis and disk disease I had to start with. To top it off I got crushed nerves & discs and RSD/CRPS from it in my legs as well as my back. I live in chronic severe pain and as the day wears on I get worse and worse. I get to bed about 3am usually and take a sleeping pill and pain meds in the day or I wouldn't be able to survive. Most nights by the time I og to bed lifting Racci from the floor is more than I can handle and I'm zonked on the sleeping pill.

DH would laugh hysterically at the thought of me doing anything that takes any thought before my coffee, cigarette and pain meds. :lol: I really will try though. It certainly looks important if she droppe dthat much that fast tonight. Thanks Laurie. As usual You were right.

I didn't know Merrick had BG. Thanks. She hated Merrick because it had veggies but might like that. Must get to bed now.
Good night!

Melanie & Racci
 
MelanieAndRacci said:
I could cry. I just typed this long message to you all and lost it! It took me so long to do too! grrrrrr! Oh well, a condensed version:

Sorry I didn't keep this up today. It's been a rough day here and Racci is constipated for the second day so I've been babying her hoping I could get her to go. I just gave her the 3rd dose of Miralax @ 1am and am hoping this will do it. They always wait for the weekend to get sick!! She's hungry though which is unusual for her when she's constipated! I've been pouring the water on her food but that doesn't seem to be helping. She's acting like she feels fine tho. I don't know maybe she just needs more fiber in her? She's sleeping and laying around a lot but then again she's kind of an old lady and is never very active. She's certainly alert and willing to play with me. The only thing she's grouchy about is the usual brushing her long thick hair that she always complains about.

DH would laugh hysterically at the thought of me doing anything that takes any thought before my coffee, cigarette and pain meds. :lol: I really will try though. It certainly looks important if she droppe dthat much that fast tonight. Thanks Laurie. As usual You were right.
Melanie & Racci

I hate it when that happens!

I'm curious why you think Racci's constipated if all seems well? Sending pooping vines anyway.

Is DH able to assist with the testing at all??? I'm really sorry to hear about your on-going pain that sucks :sad:
 
Re: 3/16/12-Racci AMPS-131

It really looks like Racci's numbers are improving. With nadirs below 200, if you're following the Tight Regulation protocol, you'll want to evaluate Racci's dose after 5 days. If you're following Start Low Go Slow, you'll evaluate after 7 days.

You might want to see about giving Racci a little bit of oil or even butter to help with the constipation. This thread from earlier this month has info on hairballs which could be contributing to the constipation problem given that Racci is a longhair.
 
Hi Sienne & Vyctor's Mum,

Racci usually goes every day. When she skips 2 days it makes me paranoid. She has a real tendency to get very constipated because she has a bad hip and left leg + the neuropathy and doesn't want to squeeze for long. I tried to make it easy for her to get in and out o the box by getting a new one with low sides. I want to avoid a trip to the vet to have her cleaned out so she takes miralax every day 1/4 tsp bid & that usually gives her a fairlly normal stool tho still hard. I use Petromalt for furballs and she loves that. I gave her some of that day before yesterday but it does have sugar so I am careful about giving too much. I never saw the sugarless one. will have to look for it.

It does really suck having that pain all the time. It's totally affected my whole life. I used to be a very active person and has been a tremendous adjustment for me since I am unable to do much now, which is the worst of it for me. I feel imprisoned sometimes. Unfortunately, DH had a stroke several years ago and has very shakey hands and uses a cane now. He helps with other things like doing the shopping but cannot trust him to do Racci's tests or remember. He feeds her breakfast if I'm sleeping and I leave it all prepared for him to put in microwave & will help with litter if i ask, other than that, Racci is pretty much my responsibility. I neer thought of butter. She likes that. will give it a try and look for the sugarless. The petromalt is more expensive.

I have to do a combination of tight and go slow because of my night situation. I don't really go as slow but not as fast either.

About to test now and feed & shoot. BRB will start new thread.

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top