2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- No PM shot

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mel and Joe, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Recap from yesterday

    AMPS 153 (dry food previous evening)
    +11 102
    PMPS 106
    +1 94
    +2 61
    +3 58
    +10 90
    AMPS 98

    I know we need some numbers between +3 and +10. Yesterday I used my little one's wake up call at midnight as a chance to check on things. Last night he skipped right over our usual late night meeting so I didn't get the extra test.

    I need to convince my husband that doing the blood tests isn't as bad as he thinks it will be. He's watched me plenty of times but is still squeemish about doing it himself. He does know what to watch for and has instructions to pay extra attention to Joe on nights when his numbers are this low. I know he brushed him, gave him treats, and topped off the food dish before he went to bed last night which was probably around +4. He noticed he was a little skittish about having his ears touched but seemed normal after he started brushing him.

    The vet wants to do a curve tomorrow or Friday (I'm shooting for Friday). I'd rather do it at home but I'm hoping letting them do one and comparing it to our numbers will help them see why I want to do it. Their findings will also help me in my decision on whether or not we need a new vet.

    I'll be going home for a +5 or +6 test today.
     
  2. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98

    Hi Mel and Joe!

    lookin' good Joe! :mrgreen:

    question, are u around in the AMPS cycle for a +3? if not - thats ok!
    ha-ha-ha! uv' got a squeamish DH!! tell him to suck it up! It's for Joe's well being!! lol!

    I like the way u think! :thumbup If Joe has shown previous fussies and nervousness at vets office, it may likely show up in their BG tests.
    But I hope they will work with you to do the best for Joe. And a good job you are doing Mel!
     
  3. Tina & Sammy

    Tina & Sammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98

    Joe's numbers are looking great. It is really amazing what a diet change can do. Hope the green streak keeps on going.
     
  4. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68

    A lovely 68 at +5
     
  5. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Got a PMPS of 80. He's eating now and I can stall about 15 minutes.

    This is the lowest pre-shot number we've seen. Think we'd be ok to shoot?
     
  6. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    BUMP

    oh how nice!!

    are u home to monitor tonight?

    Im wondering about a retest 15min from the 80...
     
  7. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    I can test for a couple hours and then DH will be up but not testing. Off to re-test.
     
  8. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    69. I haven't given any insulin.
     
  9. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    hmm, can you stall any longer?
     
  10. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    I usually shoot at 6:30. 7pm would be 30 minutes later than normal. If I wait until 7:30 could I shoot at 7:00 or 7:15 am? I could do that.
     
  11. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    so that's about another 1/2 hour? (I lose track of time zones, sorry). That should work and it shouldn't be a problem to shoot at 7 or 7:15 in the morning.

    The other option is to go ahead and shoot now, then feed and get a +1, then take it from there (feed the curve as necessary). If Joe drops under 50, he earns a reduction. That's the way I like to do it (I'm aggressive!) but it's not for everybody. It's safe as long as you are monitoring and have HC food on hand to help steer the cycle, plus then you know for sure whether Joe needs a dose reduction or not.
     
  12. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Yes that would be 7:30.

    Going to feed and check again 15 minutes from the last check.
     
  13. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Dropped again. 51 with no insulin.

    Considering pulling out the high carb.
     
  14. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    have u given a bit of HC yet? u wanna retest 15min from there?
     
  15. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Is the 51 at +12.75?

    You shouldn't need the high carb this late in the cycle, but it does look like we'll have to do something about the shot, since you can't really stall any more.

    Why don't you go ahead and feed a little bit of his evening meal (1-2 tsp) and retest in 1/2 hour. We should try to put a little insulin into his shed (not the full dose, since you'll have to shoot again less than 12 hours from now) but I'd like to see him stop dropping first.
     
  16. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Would it ever be appropriate to skip the shot? I know he'll drain the shed and have to build it back up again but if I stall much longer I won't be able to get his am shot.

    Eating a tsp of high carb and testing again in 15.
     
  17. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    it's preferred to get some insulin in rather than none, but sometimes you do what you have to do. Joe will recover quickly, I have no doubt.
     
  18. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    51 was at 12.75

    We are at 57 at 13.25 with a little high carb.

    My other concern is I'm coming up on the time when I'll need to stop testing. I can push it a little too, but can't stay up all night.
     
  19. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    I think we're just going to have to call tonight a fur shot (just skip it). It's ok, it happens sometimes. :smile:
     
  20. Sara & Magnolia

    Sara & Magnolia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    While this dance is frustrating and confusing, don't lose sight of the fact that this is GOOD. And promising. Not all kitties get blues and green (especially PS #'s) on 1 unit!

    You are doing a great job.

    ETA: My DH is quite squeamish too. He can't test or shoot. Instead...he is on litter duty. :D
     
  21. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    Think I'm going to skip it. I'd probably go with it if I could take tomorrow off but I can't.

    He's at 69 at 13.75 so the HC brought him up again.

    DH will keep an eye on him and I'll get another check if the kid wakes me up tonight.

    At least now I have a battle plan for the next time this happens.

    Thanks for hanging in there with me!
     
  22. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    you did good Mel, sorry about the furshot, but it will be ok.
    :YMHUG:
     
  23. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/17 Joe - AMPS 98, +5 68 -- NEED ADVICE ON PM SHOT

    and...... having an unshootable preshot means that Joe has earned a dose reduction! Since he'll probably be high in the morning due to the skipped shot, I would probably shoot the 1 unit one more time tomorrow morning and then reduce to 0.75 in the evening. Of course if he is not high in the morning, then go ahead and reduce.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page