3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.45 47!! +13 54 Skipped Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
Eek, Mikey threw me a real curveball tonight with a 55...which is GREAT...except I've never shot close to that low. I stalled a half hour and still 55. I'll keep testing, of course, but am not comfortable shooting 50's with the way Mikey handles insulin. I know I should, but...yeah... should I wait until he rises at all and carb him up, or should I wait til he gets closer to where I've shot before? I don't want to skip if I can help it, and will only do so as a last resort. But now he's at 47. I know if I don't give insulin, he should be fine, but...now what. Schedule-wise, waiting more than another 15-30 minutes will be a nightmare...
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 EEK, Help, please ASAP!

Hi there :cool:
Will your schedule allow you to stall?

Also, what where the AM cycle numbers today - I'm not seeing them on the ss. . .
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

Sorry, I've been sick all day, so never did get to his SS. It's updated now.

AMPS 158
+2 144
+4 108 Nothing to indicate he'd drop so low!
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

I have not fed yet. I will grab a +13 in five minutes and see what he's doing. Shooting after 8 is doable in a pinch, but it really screws up my schedule. I'm torn...part of me wants to see what the numbers do if I skip, and the other part knows I should shoot
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

Hi Amy,
In my opinion you should play it safe and skip the shot. Even Sienne will not shoot with a PS in the 40s. Mikey may need his shed drained a little. You can keep on schedule if you skip, and it seems that your work schedule is a criterion. If it worries you to skip, pretend it was a fur shot!

Mikey is keeping you on your toes!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

i don't think any of us would shoot a 40's number. i wouldn't at least.

give us the number when you check it and let's go from there.
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

at + 13 he's still only at 54. Really, with meter variance, that's no change. I think I will feed the lowest carb food I have and skip. I could wait another half hour to an hour, but I'm afraid my cold meds will knock me out and missing a test would be bad. But he's doing so good I hate to skip...Arrgh!
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

you have to do what you feel comfortable with.

ella's suggestion is probably the best since you're sick and also can't stall any longer. we'd want to be sure he was rising if you wanted to shoot a token dose of .1 or .25 - but he's really just holding steady for now.

if you can wait til he's rising and you still haven't fed, then you could shoot. if you can't wait longer, then skipping's probably best.

eta: if you do shoot, you've got to be able to monitor him. i know you know, but just needed to say it again.
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.5 55 +12.45 47!! Help, please ASA

It's your call Amy. If you weren't sick, I would have definitely encouraged you to shoot the 55 when you first got it and then FEED and numbers can come up. Stalling can result in what you see now...down into the 40s that none of us would shoot but then back up into the 50s...but it's probably all meter variance.

I understand you not feeling well and not wanting to shoot because of the meds. Smart decision! IT's best to keep it safe. He will recover!!! And probably FAST.

But just preparing you for the next 55 when you are well and awake....And I am looking forward to seeing PMPS 55 at that time ;-) ;-) :-D :-D

Please get some rest, feel better soon, and he will be FINE without a shot tonight.
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.45 47!! +13 54 Help, please ASAP!

Don't worry, Amy. Mikey will get back on track quickly if you skip this shot. He is doing great! If you give a shot tonight you could be up all night trying to keep him in safe numbers--not a good idea if you are sick! Give Mikey and yourself a break!

Ella
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.45 47!! +13 54 Help, please ASAP!

call it a fur shot -

If you are sick you need your rest. The opportunity to shoot low will come around again :cool:
 
Re: 3/1 Mikey PMBG 55 +12.45 47!! +13 54 Help, please ASAP!

OK, at +13.15 he was still at 57, so basically no change in an hour. I went ahead and fed the lowest carb food I have and will skip for tonight. He's been doing awesome and I hate to do it, but I also don't think (at least I hope) that it will be a major setback. He should be back on track in a couple of days, right? I'm going to force myself to give his ears a break while I can, so it will be interesting to see what his AMPS is.

Heck, for me, being mad that I didn't shoot a 55 is a huge step..one of these days, I'll be able to do it!

Thanks, everyone, for the help and advice! I'll look forward to the company when I DO shoot that low!
 
Yes..give yourself a break so you can get better soon.

Check out Gracie's SS when we skipped last week. She was back at it quickly. I bet Mikey will barely miss a beat and you might be pleasantly surprised...maybe he'll stay low......paws crossed.

Get well soon.....and rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top