3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249 +4 303

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS 254

Looking at her spreadsheet, she might. She seems to clear those bounces pretty quick. If you can't make it home, today, how about just putting out a little extra food? That's what I would do.
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS 254

Hmm...looking at the boss' calendar, I might be able to. I'll definitely try.
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254

Hi guys .. ruby, you can go down some, but not toooooooooo far down ok? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254

I'm going to head home before too long so I'll end up catching her at +5-ish.
I don't have time for her nonsense today, so she better be good!
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237

Well, would you look at that!

+1 she did a mild scootch up to 261
+5 237

She hasn't eaten anything since I left the house at +1. Go figure.
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249

isn't that funny how the cats will have a flat numbers day every so often? it's the weirdest thing. but i'm sure it gave you a little peace of mind so you could go back to work!
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249

You know, I'm not sure I'll ever really have peace of mind with this. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249

Cats like to do the opposite of what you think :roll:
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249

Dyana is right...if you hadn't come home at +5, she would have surprised you with a low number when you did get home just because you weren't worried :lol: :lol:

Always best to be cautious. Maybe she wants to sve green for tonight .
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249

Tomorrow night will be her 1 week Lantus-versary...how do you all think she's progressing so far?
She's definitely got way less red & pink and more green than ever, but does it look like she's on the way to getting regulated (not necessarily in remission, just in a healthy range)?
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249 +5 303

as i was reading your post above (not sure if i'll ever have peace of mind) i was thinking to myself "has it even been a week yet?"

just be patient. no one is used to it in a week - even if you have used insulin before, you're basically having to learn an entirely new dance with Lantus. you will get used to it. :YMHUG:

as far as the 303, hard to say. what we're really looking for is trends more than individual numbers. the basic trend for ruby today is flat. but her week has been, i think, extremely good for a first week on lantus. i think it's been a good change for her and i think you're already seeing good results. hang in there!
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249 +5 303

I just worry about glucose toxicity and all those ugly things.

I think I'm ready for the weekend to get here so maybe I can really catch up on some sleep.
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249 +5 303

ah, i wasn't sure what was behind - that makes sense. i worry about it too. i do know that following the TR protocol is going to move her as quickly as possible into better numbers. at least ruby doesn't seem too bouncy - and that's a good thing.

punkin was one of the cats who was number-deceived by the freestyle lite meter - when we got the relion confirm i tested the same drop on both meters. it was 256 on the freestyle and 400 on the confirm. my heart just sank. i'd been thinking he was mostly under 250, we'd taken him to colorado to get the SRT done for his acromegaly, and here was evidence that he'd been higher than i realized, for who knows how long. we'd hoped that the SRT would allow him to go OTJ, but if he's been in 400's when i thought he was in 200's, it might very well have eliminated that chance for him. but . . . i tell myself that i am controlling all that i am able to control, doing the best i can, and that's all anyone can do.

you're doing all you can do too. you've been incredibly devoted to ruby - it was obvious from the very beginning that you're the type of person who gives it all. i admire you.

you must be exhausted - staying up with Ruby and working. i hope you have a restful weekend and ruby lets you sleep some!

sleeping-cat-09.jpg
 
Re: 3/1 Ruby AMPS (AT) 254 +5 237 PMPS 249 +5 303

All the stress and worry creeps up on me at night and gives me a kick in the pants.

One weird thing is that Ru didn't use the litter box all day while I was at work. Midgie didn't either but its still odd. I don't know if I've ever seen that. They've both used it since I got home, though.
Ru tried to throw up once tonight, but as usual nothing came up. I think that's her version of trying to hack up a hairball.

I think I just need to call it a day.
 
And that should be +4 tonight, not +5. She did go back and eat some more dinner about a 90 minutes ago. Maybe its a tiny food spike.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top