2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283,+2/301 -Spoke to the Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64351

Recap of yesterday's BG readings:

AMPS - 407, gave 0.10 units Lantus (1st cycle)
+3 - 369
+6 - 375
+9 - 360
PMPS - 285, gave 0.10 units Lantus (2nd cycle)
+2 - 175
+3 - 146
+6 - 204

This morning's AMPS was 470 ohmygod_smile and I gave 0.10 units Lantus (3rd cycle).

I was hoping after last night's promising numbers that I wouldn't see a red number this morning but, here we are. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- AMPS 470 - *Sigh* :-/

joining Rupert and Checkers on the Red floor this morning! let's hope the elevator down doesn't get too full and the ride is slow and steady!
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- AMPS 470 - *Sigh* :-/

Hi guys .. bum deal on the red amps number .. whats up cini mini? How about coming down to the lower levels where all the fun is! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 - Spoke to the Vet

Just got off the phone with the Vet. Yes, she called me back at 9pm at night. :shock:

Had a really long heart to heart with her about how money is tight and I need to be able to keep costs down by doing things like using the ReliOn monitor vs the AlphaTrak, and getting Cini's asthma meds from 4 Corners Pharmacy. She admitted she gets her son's asthma meds from Canadian Pharmacy because of the cost.

We agreed Cini should stay on 1 puff of Flovent in the AM and 2 puffs in the PM along with .5mls of the Terbutaline. This will be his regular routine going forward from here on out for the near future.

I asked her to order a single vial of the Solarstar insulin so that I wouldn't have to spend $125 for a 10 ml vial of Lantus just to throw it away 6 months later. She balked at first but she went ahead and said she would call the pharmacy tomorrow and order it for me. I think Cini needs a fresh vial, the numbers just don't seem right to me. She said she' never had an owner dictate to her what to write a prescription for but that she believes I have Cini's best interests at heart. I told her I'm not asking her to order me a bottle of cyanide for crying out loud! :roll:

I explained the Tight Regulation protocol to her and I told her I would drop off the Roomp Rand outline along with Cini's BG chart tomorrow for her to take a look at. I explained to her how her approach is considered SLGS here and that it's not a bad approach but that I think TR is working better for Cini.

And then she said "You are one really dedicated owner. I don't know how you do it. I tell the specialists and the other Vets about your adventures with Cini and they sit here listening in amazement. Cathy, it's almost borderline obsessive compulsive the way you take care of that cat. You really need to assess if this is healthy for you personally. If I didn't know any better, I bet you could be one of those people who could do extreme couponing too." Yeaaahhh... I'll just keep that my little secret. *Whistles innocently while clipping her Sunday circulars.*

Of course now her opinion of me being a "crazy cat lady" has solidified in her mind. I don't care :razz: At least I'm with other crazy people who know what I'm talking about. :lol:
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 -Spoke to the Vet

If you want to give your vet the actual journal article with the Roomp & Rand protocol, here it is.



I find the medical professionals tend to give you greater credibility when you hand them something from a journal they should be reading. And BTW, there are no crazy cat people here. We're all responsible caregivers who take that role seriously and we are our cats' best advocates. I doubt that your vet would hand over complete control of her child's medical treatment without ever asking a question.
 

Attachments

Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 -Spoke to the Vet

Thanks for that link, Sienne. I went ahead and printed it out.

I agree, I don't understand why she felt like the level of care for an animal should be any less than that of a human. My pets have been with me for the past 14+ years, they deserve the same level of dedication that my kids get. And my kids didn't turn out so bad either!
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 -Spoke to the Vet

mmm, good to know your vet can double as your psychiatrist! :shock:

i see a devoted pet owner! i'd rather have you in charge of my cat than a lot of other people! :lol:
 
Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 -Spoke to the Vet

Thanks Julie!

Psshhh!!! And I think my Vet is the obsessive compulsive one. She's the one who will call me at 9pm at night or late on the weekends while driving to her son's school play. I'll even say in my message "It's NOT an emergency! Call me during office hours!"

I would rather live my life and make an impression on people than fade in to the background hardly noticed.
 
Great job being Cini's advocate. I think vets need to know that we don't all just drink the kool aid. We're smart and looking out for our babies. Hope the new juice works for Cini's.

Great job Cathy!
 
well-behaved-women-rarely-make-history.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top