Re: 2/23-Cini Mini- PMPS 283 - Spoke to the Vet
Just got off the phone with the Vet. Yes, she called me back at 9pm at night. :shock:
Had a really long heart to heart with her about how money is tight and I need to be able to keep costs down by doing things like using the ReliOn monitor vs the AlphaTrak, and getting Cini's asthma meds from 4 Corners Pharmacy. She admitted she gets her son's asthma meds from Canadian Pharmacy because of the cost.
We agreed Cini should stay on 1 puff of Flovent in the AM and 2 puffs in the PM along with .5mls of the Terbutaline. This will be his regular routine going forward from here on out for the near future.
I asked her to order a single vial of the Solarstar insulin so that I wouldn't have to spend $125 for a 10 ml vial of Lantus just to throw it away 6 months later. She balked at first but she went ahead and said she would call the pharmacy tomorrow and order it for me. I think Cini needs a fresh vial, the numbers just don't seem right to me. She said she' never had an owner dictate to her what to write a prescription for but that she believes I have Cini's best interests at heart. I told her I'm not asking her to order me a bottle of cyanide for crying out loud! :roll:
I explained the Tight Regulation protocol to her and I told her I would drop off the Roomp Rand outline along with Cini's BG chart tomorrow for her to take a look at. I explained to her how her approach is considered SLGS here and that it's not a bad approach but that I think TR is working better for Cini.
And then she said "You are one really dedicated owner. I don't know how you do it. I tell the specialists and the other Vets about your adventures with Cini and they sit here listening in amazement. Cathy, it's almost borderline obsessive compulsive the way you take care of that cat. You really need to assess if this is healthy for you personally. If I didn't know any better, I bet you could be one of those people who could do extreme couponing too." Yeaaahhh... I'll just keep that my little secret. *Whistles innocently while clipping her Sunday circulars.*
Of course now her opinion of me being a "crazy cat lady" has solidified in her mind. I don't care :razz: At least I'm with other crazy people who know what I'm talking about. :lol: