02/19 Vyktor PMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

Guess I should maybe have got my usual +4 afterall but wanted to give his little ears a rest and +2 didn't look like it was warranted. Planning to test again in half and hour. Not feeding any HC yet to let him earn his dose reduction. That is correct isn't it?

I note that he seems fine just sleeping in the cupboard and alert for test and treat afterwards
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

a teaspoon of his regular low carb may be all that's needed to get him up on a surf board...
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

So I should try and feed now rather than leave him be to see if he earns reduced dose?

Jill you appear when needed just like his guardian angel :-D
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

He did have a tsp of raw chicken after his test is that sufficient?
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

I should also mention he has food down so maybe good to see if he gets up to get it himself?
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

yes. it's always good to know if your kitty will self feed when BG numbers are dropping.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

Wow....Vyktor has been rocking it lately! Nice job and hope he comes up and just surfs. Great job.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52

Vyktors Mum said:
So I should try and feed now rather than leave him be to see if he earns reduced dose?
i know everybody gets all excited about dose reductions, but unless kitty is all green 24/7 or drops too low... i like to hang onto the dose so i can pull down the blues, yellows, and pinks before taking another reduction. feeding lc (small amount, within reason) to prevent a reduction will often allow you to hold onto a dose longer. it took me a long time to figure this out. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52

I'm kinda hoping he dips just that little bit more before he does that, it would be a shame to be this close and yet too far away!

Retesting in 30 mins
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52

Hey Serryn....

I'm standing by for your next test. Did you feed anything else after the +6.5 to keep him surfing?

ETA. You can take off the 911... We gotcha covered :-D
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52

The longer Vyktor spends on insulin and in these kind of numbers, the more the opportunity for his pancreas to heal. You don't want to rush Vyktor's pancreas. Personally, I love seeing a kitty get a reduction because s/he's spent a week in green numbers. It's a slower way to reduce the dose but you know the reductions have an excellent chance of holding.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52

Vyktor's numbers have been terrific for a while now! Cant wait to see where this goes :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52

He had another tsp of raw chicken following his +6.5, has not got up to visit the food bowl himself. Retesting now
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56

Looks like he might have just missed out on the reduction anyway - maybe a fifth sleepless night in a row coming up @-) Is this still a test in half an hour number or leave it for an hour now. He had another couple of tsps of raw chicken after his test.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56

Looks like he likes to hop around a bit on his nadir so no guarantee he is past it. You know him best...and he is surfing...all these numbers are the same. If he w I'll let you, I think it would be good to do one more test in 30 to make sure he's coming up. Once he is, then you can go to every hour. I'll see you in 30 unless you tell me you want to wait. I trust your instincts. :-D
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56

Thanks Marje, his nadir is all over the place. He's generally very good about his tests and still purring through them now so I'll get another one in - it's 20 mins now
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56

6007a0d7.gif


nice surf! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56 +7.5 59

What a surf! You want to take an hour off? I'll be up another hour and a half but I can stay up later if we need to. Awesome!
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56 +7.5 59

So it looks like Vyktor has decided to take the advice of the wise ones and hang off on a reduction :-D

I will get a +8 (and probably one every hour until shot time anyway :lol: ) to be sure but apart from his treat after his tests he hasn't eaten so this looks like a natural rise.

Liz: I guess Vyktor got the invitation to your pj party and is set on proving that Australians are still the surfing champions of the world - hear that Zener Slater that sounds like a challenge to me!

Marje thank you, what time is it there? If it's bed time don't stay up on my account I think the excitement is all but over.

However, advice in preparation for his PM shot would be appreciated because often there's no one around at our shot time. If per chance he is still surfing along come shot time I still shoot the full dose don't I (unless he's under 50).
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56 +7.5 59

It's not quite 11 here and I'll be up at least until midnite with baby girl. So I'll check back in at your +8 and +9.

Yes...looks like he's not quite going to take that reduction but I'm like Jill and Sienne....I like to see them get a couple nice cycles together before the reduction.

Since he's above 50, no reduction in dose for PMPS. Since you are getting more skilled, it would be great if you could shoot anything above 50 at PMPS but you will be on your own for a bit.....I think you know what to do. If you are uncertain, read the "dealing with low preshots" link....you can stall but I find that it's better to shoot above 50 and feed..

If you do shoot a 50s number then you want to try and get him up a bit before he onsets. Normally Dyana is up early but tomorrow is Sunday for us so she might not be.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6 52 +6.5 52 +7 56 +7.5 59

Gorgeous surf for Vyktor :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: He has been keeping you on your toes, Serryn! Exciting things are happening! I will be up for a while too... not too late since Bailey is kite-surfing tonight but our PMPS isn't for another hour.
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +7.5 59 +8 67

It's better than fabulous to see Vyktor's numbers going green every day and to see how well you are handling them, Serryn. Bravissimo!
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

He still hasn't attended the food bowl so definitely a natural rise. I'm thinking this means I'll be able to shoot the full dose on time even if he pulls the little double dip he likes to pull sometimes. Would that be right? Even in the unlikley event he drops below 50?

Thanks Randa, wouldn't be able to do it without the support of the board though. I feel like it's a bit of a team effort :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

Yes and I left you a long post earlier about shooting above 50 so you might want to scroll back and peak at that before PMPS.

You and Vykyor did superb! Lovely cycle. So now I am off to bed. Good luck in the morning. I know this will be the first one I check . Have a great evening.

ETA: no shooting below 50 :-D even if it is a second dip, lantus users don't shoot below 50. Best to stall and if he doesn't come up to above 50 in the amount of time you can stall...then skip. Remember if you stall don't feed :-D
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

Should I still take his food away at +10? He hasn't eaten from his bowl since +2.5 this morning. Just had his chicken treats
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

Surf it Vyktor, in your very lovely GREEN board shorts. Come on and catch the wave with Zener! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

Yes...no food after +10 unless he is in the 40 s. If he 's in the 40s at +10 or 11 you'll want to give some LC to pull him up but then you'll have to delay shooting a bit to be sure you aren't feeding shooting a food influenced number. Please be sure and read my ETA above about not shooting below 50 :-D
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

Will do Marje, thank you so much now off to bed with you and get some sleep! I think I remember what that was like :lol:
 
Re: 02/19 Vyktor AMPS 121 +2 133 +6.5 52 +7 56 +8 67 +9 83

I'll dream of you sleeping :lol: :lol: :lol:

And you are so very welcome!
 
Wow, what a day you had. I just read through your condo. I hope you get some needed sleep tonight.

Copied from my condo:
Vyktors Mum said:
Dyana I think Vyktor has been reading J.D.'s condo and developing bad habits. He free feeds but hadn't got up to the food bowl since +2.5 of his AMS. With low numbers today and +10 and removal of food approaching I took his bowl to him in bed - he polished the lot off then. I think the job of waitress has now been added to my cat duties :lol:
I think it only takes once. They get Breffis in Bed once, and they expect it everytime ;-)
 
Hi Serryn,
Just getting caught up on your yesterday. Wow, what a great job you did. We are proud of you. Vyktor is on a green mission!

The green food LL condo was a great idea. I know what you mean about factory farms and that is why I am an ethical vegetarian. I eat animal products only if I am sure that they are: 1) local, 2) humanely raised on pasture, 3) humanely slaughtered. I don't care too much whether or not they are "organic" (but organic veggies certainly taste better, so I always buy them, when at all possible). We are lucky up here in the North Country of NY State that there are a lot of Amish farmers and a lot of young farmers who practice responsible farming. CSAs (community supported agriculture), where you buy a season's share of a farmer's crops, have really taken root up here.

I hope that Vyktor will have a nice, safe green surf today. Congrats on shooting low to stay low!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top