2/16 Eleanor AMPS 297, Threw Up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63759

Eleanor threw up at +11, it was mucus, she has sinus problems, could be that, she has in the past, had tummy problems, I don't know how long before I picked up the food in preparation for her shot, that she ate. Used to be if she went too long without food she would throw up mucus, that was why I started free feeding.
I didn't know what to do, I know you guys have told me it doesn't matter if she eats when she has her shot as long as she'll eat later. I tested her and her bg was 295. I waited 1/2 hour, while she ran around acting fine. Then I tested again, bg 297, fed because I wanted to know if she would hold it down or throw up, or not eat etc. She ate and held it down so I shot her usual .5 at +12.
Tested for Ketones, Negative. Yay!
I also gave her 1/4 Pepcid in case it is her stomach.
 
i completely agree with linda - you made all the right choices. great job!

i think the general rule of thumb in an overall healthy kitty is if the kitty is completely acting sick and you don't anticipate they'll be eating normally, then you might not want to give the shot. if a cat has had ketones, however, even if they are sick they need the insulin - so that's a different situation.

if it just seems like they're bringing up hairballs or vomiting for some random reason other than being sick (judging by the kitty's behavior) then you would go ahead and give the shot.

you can always post here and ask if you are uncertain, and get some input into the decision. a cat's behavior is a really important part of the story - so when you say eleanor was behaving normally, that's great news. a cat that feels sick will show it.
 
see! it's already easier!!! :YMHUG:

you know what's funny - i give advice on dealing with low numbers pretty regularly. no biggie at all. ya pop open the high carb food and give a spoonful of the gravy. wait 20 minutes and retest. repeat to keep the cat above 50.

so what did i do the last time punkin got under 50? i freaked out and posted for help. :lol: ohmygod_smile

we need the community! :-D
 
Great job. Testing first so you knew what numbers you were dealing with made a great deal of sense!

There is/was a discussion in Think Tank over whether to shoot or not. I believe the consensus was that it's best to try to get some insulin in under most circumstances.
 
Glad Eleanor is doing better and you did super, Julie! Hope you both are having a good day today.

Pls be sure and let me know if I can help with the profile.

Great on the ketones!! Good to check daily as long as she is at these numbers.
 
Julie...looking at Eleanor's SS and considering whether you should increase her dose. Do you have her BGs for today pls?

Thanks...that will be a huge help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top