2/14 Eleanor AMPS 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
I posted on the Relaxed Lantus but no one seems to be around.
I got a spreadsheet up but it doesn't work. I'm haveing a terrible time testing Eleanor, she's fighting me and hiding, I'm sick, my eye problem is worse and I'm concerned because Eleanor's PMPS was 306 which is pretty much what she has been since she dropped from 310-99 three nights ago. Her +6 was 295, then her AMPS was 248. I shot the usual .5u, but now I'm worried she is going to drop too low and I don't know if I'll be able to test her. I cannot think at all. I guess I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance and to know someone is there!
 
Re: AMPS 248

Hi Julie:

Yes...we are here!! Can you tell me what problem you are having with your SS? There are no numbers on it but the link works. You should be able to just sign into google, then click on "account settings", then "products", then "docs" and her SS should be there and allow you to fill her numbers in . PM me if you can't get that to work and I'll help you.

So could you please just list what her numbers have been until we can get the SS working. A format like this will help:
2/11
AMPS xxx
+6 xx
+10 xxx
PMPS xxxx

2/12
AMPS xxx
+6 xx
PMPS xxx

Just be sure you put in all the tests...I've only given you an example.

How long ago did you shoot the 248...in other words, are you at +5 or +6? Are you saying she won't let you test her now? Are you warming her ear, just poking the edge and not the vein, using Neosporin Ointment (not cream) for pain relief after each test (you have to wipe it off before the next one), offering her non carb treats after the test (like freeze dried chicken treats)? It's important to try and get a test on her at least at +6 since she might be trying to clear a bounce today (AMPS lower and it's been three nights since she dropped).

Sorry to hear about your eye. Hope you feel better soon...let's see if we can at least get some info and help your anxiety over her numbers.

And if you get the chance, could you please just modify your subject line to put 2/14 Eleanor AMPS 248 so we know this is a current condo and who it's for? Thank you so much. Standing by to help :-D
 
Re: AMPS 248

Majorie has you covered well...there's just about always someone here to help, or at least someone you can lean on for moral support. Hang in there, and please feel better!!!
 
Started Lantus 2/9 at .5u
AMPS 251
+3 218
+5 213
PMPS 281
no test
2/10
AMPS 284
+5 259
PMPS 240
2/11
+5 229
AMPS 310
+5 99
+5.5 112
+6 97
+6.6 101
+8 123
+11 305
PMPS 295
2/12
+2 350
+3 310
+5 350
2/12
AMPS 332
+5 199
PMPS 300
2/13
+5 267
AMPS 320
+5 212
PMPS 306
2/14
+6 295
AMPS 248

I shot the AM about an hour ago. I was shooting at noon and midnight Noon being AM and midnight being Pm but I was late a couple times.
I'm doing all you mentioned when I test her.
Did I shoot too much???
 
THANK YOU!!! Purrfect!!!

No...you didn't shoot too much. But it sure would be nice to get that +5 today and see if she is clearing her bounce.

When a kitty goes lower than she has before, the liver reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glycogen into the system. That results in the BG going up...we call this a "bounce". It can take up to six cycles or 72 hours to clear a bounce. This morning's cycle is her sixth so she may be trying to clear....hard to say until we can see a mid-cycle test. It would be great to see where she is at +3 but I don't want to push it if she doesn't like the pokeys so a +5 will work. You've been doing a great job of getting those mid-cycle tests.

I'm confused what the PMPS 295 is at the bottom of your last post....did that just get misplaced?

Let me know if you think she'll let you test her at +5. You're doing great....just breathe. It's ok. Baby steps :-D
 
Not stupid at all....I don't think it's very user friendly.

Up in the right corner should be your email address with a drop arrow. Click on the drop arrow. Let me know if you can't find it.
 
Yeah that PMPS 295 sitting there by itself, I have no clue how it got there! I edited the post.
Okay, a few days ago she had a PS of 240, I looked at my notes and when I just put this up for you, I forgot that I retested that and it was 257, within range I know but 257 doesn't look so scary to a newbie! Also I understood that soon after starting Lantus that there would not be much movement for a few days so I wasn't worried, but the next day when she dropped to 99, it really scared me, I thought she was going to hypo.
I understand that she is probably clearing a bounce, and after I shot her today, I panicked because I have no idea what happens in the process of clearing a bounce. Or what you are supposed to do about the dose.
I really am not feeling mentally or emotionally capable!
Her acting scared of me is really hurting. I'm following all the steps for testing. She was fine at first!
Before her AM shot I was carrying her around while I warmed her ear, then I sat down in a different room than usual, where I had the meter and test strips, I was able to stick her and get the sample before she went nuts. I will do that again at +5 and hopefully it will work because I am really worried about her dropping too low. Will you be around in another 4 hours?!!
 
(((Julie)))...you are experiencing nothing different than the rest of us when we started!! That's why we are here...to support you. You don't have to follow the Tight Regulation protocol to be in Lantus Land....we just need to know which protocol you are going to follow so we can offer our best suggestions for Eleanor. So if you can let me know, I can let you know about the dose. In TR, we don't reduce a newly diagnosed kitty until they get below 50.

Have you tried burritoing her in a warm, comfy towel for her tests?

Since Every Cat is Different (ECID), they come out of bounces in different ways. When my Gracie was on lantus, she just dove out of her bounces from AMPS straight to PMPS often giving me a ridiculously low (50s), dropping PMPS to shoot. Others have a more gentle drop. Until you can test Eleanor more often, we won't know which way she'll go. 310 to 99 in five hours is not a dive if she did it gradually...some of the lantus kitties will dive down really fast. We just don't know when she onset to get there ....can't assume that she just went 42 mg/dl an hour.

We want to respect her "boundaries" about testing until she's used to it but still need to keep her safe. 99 is not anywhere near a hypo number :-D We don't want her below 40 if we can catch it ...not because she will be in a hypo but because we want her going up, not down and that is a nice cushion area. Many of us let our kitties hang out in the 40s but we're testing frequently to make sure they don't go lower. So....another deep breath :-D

Most of the kitties get used to the testing over time with gentle pokes, treats, warm socks so it bleeds quickly, soothing voice, love and cuddles. You sound like you are giving her lots of love in between pokes and that's important so she knows that you aren't just picking her up to poke her. Maybe a little play will help.

We're all mentally and emotionally drained those first few weeks. It gets easier just because you start learning and feeling more confident.

Yes...I'll be around in four hours. I'll check in on you all. Pls let me know which protocol you are using so I can check out dosing for you, k? Sending you hugs.
 
Found Account Settings, but can't find Products!

On mine, if I look all the way to the left of the screen under "Accounts" it says "Account Overview" and "Products" under that.

If you are using an older google, you might just see "Docs" somewhere in the middle of the page. Let me know.
 
I'm using the Relaxed protocal. I hope Eleanor doesn't drop to 50. I hate to think of the shape I'd be in! I want to test more often, but I just don't see that happening. One thing was, after she went to 99, I tested several times and that was when she got really upset about the testing.
 
Ok...you are using Start Low Go Slow. Let me refresh myself on it and I'll get right back to you.

It's ok if she gets to 50....we have ways to bring her up. Do you have HC food/gravy and/or honey, syrup, or karo there? We won't intentionally let her get there but kitties have a mind of their own. My little one just went from 73 to 46 in an hour. No wonder we call her Lil Stinka :lol: :lol:
 
Yes, I have a hypo kit!
I'm going to have to give my eyes a rest before I try again with the spread sheet. I don't want to get so bad that I can't be here in the forum.
 
Just in case you don't have it, here is a copy of the Start Low Go Slow protocol:

SLGS Approach

According to this protocol, if her nadir (lowest number) is below 90, you are supposed to reduce by .5u. Since you are only giving .5u, that isn't possible to reduce by that much. Let me consult with a few of our members who used this approach long ago before we had the TR approach. I'll get back to you.... :-D
 
Julie: yes...rest..it's ok. You can fool with it when you get back up.

I'm in Tucson so we're on the same time zone. I'll be sure and check back in at about 5:30-5:45....that will be roughly your +5 right?
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
I posted on the Relaxed Lantus but no one seems to be around.
I got a spreadsheet up but it doesn't work. I'm haveing a terrible time testing Eleanor, she's fighting me and hiding, I'm sick, my eye problem is worse and I'm concerned because Eleanor's PMPS was 306 which is pretty much what she has been since she dropped from 310-99 three nights ago. Her +6 was 295, then her AMPS was 248. I shot the usual .5u, but now I'm worried she is going to drop too low and I don't know if I'll be able to test her. I cannot think at all. I guess I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance and to know someone is there!

You posted above that no one was around in the Relaxed Lantus forum, but you did receive a reply in a timely manner. You posted at 245pm in Health forum, then at 302pm in Relaxed Lantus and then at 317pm posted in the Tight Regulation , and you received responses from Momma of Muse at 330pm in the Relaxed forum, and again at 433pm in Health forum.

I think you may run into issues if you are posting in several forums and getting all sorts of responses which will be more confusing than helpful.

The very safest way to post is to put all of your entries in one forum.
 
Yeah, +5 will be about 5:30. I'm going to hang out here for awhile though. Just close my eyes!
I read the SLGS Approach previously, but I just feel like, I don't know, like I have no clue what I'm doing! I really don't feel comfortable since I can't test her often. I really intended to test every couple of hours or so at first, until I could see how the insulin acts.
 
Morning ladies (well for me anyway) Julie, I know we keep telling you to breathe but that's because it's important. It is especially important before tests. If you are stressing about testing Eleanor is going to feel it and stress about it too. You have to try and relax so next time before testing make sure you take those deep breathes and take your time doing it with lots of cuddles (relaxed cuddles not oh dear you poor thing cuddles!) before and after the test. You will get there, in a month you'll probably be telling someone else to relax :-D
 
Cuddles, breathe, okay got it!!
Well Gayle, I'm SORRY I've posted too much and I didn't mean it as anything against the Relaxed group when I said no one was around. Guess I'm even posting wrong. Should I go and delete my other posts or what? Sorry.
 
Julie....don't worry about it. It's a good idea to post in either Lantus TR or Lantus Relaxed....wherever you feel more comfortable. Your post in Health was about testing ideas and that was entirely appropriate.

We're more than happy to help you here or if you prefer to post in Relaxed, that is absolutely fine as well :-D :-D There are more people around here generally around the clock but you need to feel comfy with where you post.
 
Eleanor and Julie said:
Cuddles, breathe, okay got it!!
Well Gayle, I'm SORRY I've posted too much and I didn't mean it as anything against the Relaxed group when I said no one was around. Guess I'm even posting wrong. Should I go and delete my other posts or what? Sorry.

NO you are not posting too much but when you post in all the forums, you may get diff feedback from all sorts of diff people and lots of repeats because nobody will know what the others said in the other forums.

if you need an answer QUICK, and want to post over in the other forums, go to the top of your browser and copy the link to your post .... then go to the other forum and start a post but just say please help me in my other post, and you can paste the link in your new post.

Say you were not getting a quick answer here, go to the top and copy this link:
posting.php?mode=quote&f=9&p=689659

Then go to say the Relaxed or the Health forum and start a Help post. in the body of that new post, just paste the link in the message body area. People will click on that link and go directly to your post in here! They can see what others have said so far, and then can add some more info for you.

With everything all in one post, you don't have to jump all over and look for people's answers! Much less stressful for you, for sure!
 
Hi, Julie & Eleanor!

No worries, girl...
Gayle's just trying to be sure we keep your info together so you get consistent input :-D

Happy Valentine's Day to your and your little sweetheart Eleanor...

celi & binks

funny-pictures-kittens-sleep-in-heart-shape.jpg
 
Sorry Marjorie, I'm on Dial-Up and am having problems getting and staying online. I forgot it's bad this time of day.
Eleanor was sleeping unusually soundly and seemed confused when I woke her up, so I tested her at +4, bg was 255. I decided to skip the +5 and try for a +6. Which will be in a few minutes and she is up shuffling around so wish me luck.
 
Ok....that's fine. I'm glad to see she was just hanging out there. BUT.....when we see flat yellows like this, it can be a sign of an active cycle to come....meaning if she doesn't go into blue/green in this AM cycle, she might do it in the PM cycle. It's hard to predict but we just try to be extra vigilant; I know that is tough if she doesn't like the testing but if she will let you get in maybe a +2 or +3 and a +5 or +6 tonight, it would be really good.

I know you are doing the best you can.
 
Julie:

It's time for me to do Gracie's PM routine. I'll be back in about 20 minutes. If Eleanor's number is low, just post for help.
 
I do give her treats every time, but she isn't interested. I've tried her favorites - boiled chicken, boiled pork, fish...I'm going to get some of the Bonita Flakes etc and try those.
 
Yes...she is flat. That's why it's important to watch her tonight and tomorrow.....she might clear that bounce soon.

I consulted the members experienced with the SLGS approach and if/when Eleanor has her lowest point in a cycle that is below 90, then you will want to decrease her insulin to .25u on the first cycle following a number below 90. Until then, just keep shooting the .5 u.

I'm not going to be awake for your PMPS.....tomorrow is my one day a week that I work. i'll check in with a few folks to see if they can keep an eye out for you. Her PMPS will be about midnight tonight? Is that correct?
 
Yes, about 12:30 tonight.
Thank you for the info regarding when to lower the dose.
Is the concern about the flat just because she is coming out of a bounce? Because I've read with lantus, flat is good. But that is without a bounce, right?
 
Flat is good...but experience has taught us that a flat yellow cycle (in the 200 range) sometimes
signals action (like blues or greens) to come in the next cycle...so folks are just preparing you in case that happens :-D

celi
 
Guess maybe I should take a nap now, looks like I'll be up all night!
If she is okay through the PM cycle, will she most likely stay okay, or could she drop the cycle after that?
 
hi julie - just checking in with you. i want to reassure you that everyone gets nerve-wracked at first. it is hard. it can be hard if your kitter gives you a bad time. it's confusing to figure out things like bouncing and what's good numbers - and all of it. that's why everyone here is so very available and willing to be there for new folks and hold your hand. other people did the very same thing for us when we were scared and confused.

so no worries about any of it. :YMHUG: we'll just keep doing our best to give you a hand.

hang in there - because it TRULY does get easier!!! as you learn more it's not so scary. Eleanor will likely give up fussing when you're trying to test her. it just is easier in every way before too much longer.

in the meantime, just ask anything you're not sure about and we'll try to help. there's usually someone on here almost all night. serryn is in australia and she's on almost every night. i'm in oregon and usually on til 11-11:30pm. Dyana usually checks in about 3:30am my time (hehe i see her posts!) and there are plenty of others than pop in during the night but maybe not every single night.
 
My kitty, Gabby, is one who will signal a drop in numbers with a flat yellow cycle. If you look at her SS from last night, she was yellow and then this morning dropped into greens. (And seems to be repeating the pattern tonight.)

A lot of cats will experience lower numbers at night. That's why we encourage everyone to get spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles like you've been doing.
 
Favim.com-13949.jpg


this is complex enough that i think it's a little like a college course - you've got a dozen profs and everyone's just going to try to give you the information that we think you need to know at that moment to keep eleanor safe. it can be overwhelming, but we all just are looking out for her and you!
 
Hi Julie,

I'm home from work now too, I will stay logged on for few hours and check in periodically to see if you need any help - or just a reminder to breathe :lol:

Serryn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top