01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184 +10 209 PMPS 239 +2 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
Flat yellows last night so his NDW/bounce appears to be clearing. Nearly had a screw up last night when I injected his old dose, but I realised within a minute and gave him another shot to make up the difference. I had also entered the old dose amount for yesterday morning on his ss but his notebook said the new dose, I really can't remember which it was but I know I entered the info in the notebook info first so I'm going with that - anyway that was yesterday, we've moved on...

WHR (whole house report): Vyktor is very perky this morning. We even had a bit of a play while he was trying to make me get up and feed him - at least I think it was play maybe he just thought all those 'love' bites would get me out of bed quicker :lol: Meg rabbit has been out for a run and went absolutely nuts flying around the yard and 'binking' all over the place. For those unfamiliar with 'binking' this is rabbit talk for jumping in the air while twisting and turning - a sure sign of a happy rabbit :-D

The only problem we have is Mil chicken who was off to the vet yesterday :sad: , I nearly had a heart attack when the vet looked at what she'd produced on the examination table (a lot of clear fluid) and pulled out the glucose dipsticks while commenting that he'd never had a diabetic chicken before. Before it was even dipped I'd started wondering how the heck I was going to blood test her and if we could adapt the TR protocol for a chicken! Luckily I got to see my first dipstick that didn't turn brown instead - phew! She has had 'womens troubles' in the past and the vet thinks this is most likely her problem now so she's on a little meloxicam which he assured me won't cause kidney problems in her. This is a different vet than Vyktor's so it gave me another opportunity to spread the word about metacam. He was not aware that even the manufacturer now says don't give the oral solution to cats...

Celi: newts! Binks even has newts as friends.
mybuddybinks said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: "Edgar Allen Pig" !!
Binks used to have 2 Newts...
Sir Isaac Newt, and Olivia Newt John :-D
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Binks is one very vegan friendly cat - I wish he would teach Vyktor a thing or two!

Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62388
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS

Vyktor's AMPS is ??????? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Love your wonderful farm family. Hope Mil will be ok!!!! And hope Vyktor has a lovely AMPS.....I didn't open his SS....

(((Serryn)))....hope your day is going great.
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

Ah, ya fixed it. I just looked at your spreadsheet :razz:

I hope Mil feels better with the new meds. And that Vyktor shows you his blues, today.
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

Aw...sending mega-healing vines for poor lil Mil Chik...
hope she feels better right away.

I second the enchantment with your household, Serryn...love to hear your descriptions!
Tell Meg that Binks has looked in the mirror many a time and speculated that he is a rabbit :-D :-D
(except for the ears, the resemblance is actually uncanny)

one of his nicknames is "Bunny-B"
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

I just realised another rabbit like thing about Binks - his name... I can't believe I didn't recognise it while I was talking about Meg binking - blame it on not being properly awake yet!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

how's this for a "rabbity derriere" ? :lol:
(guess you have to click on the pic to enlarge it)

we had rabbits EVERYWHERE outside in Washington...and little B-Boy was totally charmed
by a rabbit momma & her brood that used to hang out on our deck.
I'm pretty sure he thought they were his kids (we have yet to explain the "when you are a Man-Kitty" discussion)
 

Attachments

  • img015.jpg
    img015.jpg
    307.3 KB · Views: 486
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

Serryn, what a household! I hope Mil gets over her chick problems soon. I'm glad you don't have a diabetic chicken on your hands! Everything else sounds great. :-D
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

Aw, I hope Mil is feeling better ASAP. I can only imagine what was going through your mind, having a vet mumble about never seeing a diabetic chicken before!

Does Vyktor get along with Meg and Mil? I think we need to see a video of Meg binking - it sounds adorable!!!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

i didn't know there was a name for it - but we have had 5 bunnies over my lifetime and i know the "maneuver" you're talking about! a little mid-air tango and reverse directions. one of our recent bunnies, Thunderbuns, had a particular love for the electric blanket cords on my dad's bed. am i repeating myself? i told someone about this recently but am not sure who. oh the dangers of the middle-aged brain . . . anyway, Thunderbunny used to make a beeline for his bedroom and nibble on his blanket cord. little bugger. she was one expensive bunny.

i'm very glad you don't have to take care of a diabetic chicken. it practically gets you socially rejected to talk about taking care of a diabetic cat, i can only imagine if you started talking about a diabetic chicken! :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

TrixieCat said:
Does Vyktor get along with Meg and Mil? I think we need to see a video of Meg binking - it sounds adorable!!!

Vyktor is quite partial to chickens, long before I had any we used to live across the road from some and he was always over there visiting and watching what they were up to. He also likes the fact that if a chicken gets in his face he just has to meow and she's off. One did try to give him a friendly peckering not that long ago though and he wasn't so keen on that idea :lol:

Meg is a different story, he tolerates her as long as she doesn't get too close. If she does he gives her the meow warning and then if she doesn't move along he starts batting her over the head with his paw - no claws so it doesn't bother her at all and she usually still stays where she is :lol: Really it's her own fault anyway, her other name is 'you naughty girl' and she has totally earned it. I have seen her nip him before so it's no wonder he doesn't trust her and, I know from experience, that she can dish out quite a bite. She was biting me for months after she first moved in (I guess she didn't realise I had just saved her from being PTS!) and to start off with she drew blood and bruised me everytime. I knew I was winning her over as the bites got more gentle and the blood flowed less freely :-D

But I think the day that Vyktor put her on his 'you will never be my friend' list was the day she head butted him off the patio. He was sitting there minding his own business and surveying his territory when I saw Meg line him up from the other side of the patio. Head down she charged like a raging bull and went straight for him. Poor unsuspecting Vyktor went flying over the edge to land inelegantly in the dirt. I did my best not to laugh but a few giggles may have inadvertantly escaped and Vyktor has never forgiven her - or sat in that spot with his back to her again. Now that's something I wish I'd caught on video!

Mil isn't too fond of Meg either as she enjoys sneaking up on chickens and giving them a head butt from behind. Why I do not know because usually they go flying straight up in the air in surprise and then land right on her head!

Julie: you did mention the electric blankets the other day (after Meg had caused me some technology problems by chewing through mouse and keyboard cords) but I could listen to that story a hundred times and not get sick of it just to hear you say Thunderbuns - where did that name come from???

Celi: Binks is half rabbit for sure!

Thanks all for the well wishes for Mil, she doesn't seem to have improved any as yet but she hasn't got worse either. She's only had one dose of meds so far, number 2 dose coming up tonight. I'm glad I stayed home with her today because she's been hanging around in her bedroom (the laundry) pretty much all day and she wouldn't have been able to do that if I'd locked up and gone to work.
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184

A diabetic chicken? I was wondering how on earth you were going to feed her a grain-free diet. :lol:

I love hearing about your animals. Hope you're having a great day, Serryn.
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184

One did try to give him a friendly peckering not that long ago though and he wasn't so keen on that idea

this is just about the best sentence ever. i'm not sure why, but it strikes me as just hysterical. :-D

ok, i thought i'd just told it, but couldn't remember where. sorry about the repetition. thunderbuns came to us already named. one of my friends had a daughter about 14 who named thunderbunny when she was about 12. she'd gotten tired of having a rabbit and poor thunderbunny was living in a cage in the garage! :shock: she bit anyone who put a hand into her cage. my son wanted a rabbit and we brought her home. she was the happiest of happy bunnies ever when we put her on the fireplace hearth in an open rubbermaid plastic storage bin - no lid or cage. she had our one boy guinea pig, Rocky, with her and the 5 girl guinea pigs were on the other side of a little fence - nose-touching distance but no baby-making! thunderbuns turned into a very nice pet and she even stopped biting! she was an all-black bunny with the softest fur ever!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184 +10 209 PMPS 239

That picture is actually of me. It was shot by Choose Cruelty Free in Australia but they let anyone use their images for the cause so it has gone all over the world with various slogans and been translated into several different languages.

Very cool....it's an extremely powerful picture. If more people only knew and realized what truly goes on....

Cute stories about your unlikely little herd of critters - what characters! A photo of them as a group would make a really sweet holiday card :lol:! Of course, now we need to see a picture of Mil, too. I hope she's feeling better by now!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184 +10 209 PMPS 239 +2

Hi guys,
I'm sitting here in the early morning dark, listening to jazz, and loving reading about your fur and feather family. They are an amazing crew! Hey Vyktor, let's see somemore of those nice blues today.

Thanks for visiting us in the city, Serryn. Have a great day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184 +10 209 PMPS 239 +2

Hi guys .. wow, what a household you guys have .. I guess I never realized it before! I hope Mil Chicken feels better soon and I hope you see some more blues for vyktor soon!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263 +5 203 +7 184 +10 209 PMPS 239 +2

Wow! Your house sounds fun and exhausting all at the same time. :lol: Nice blues today Vyktor. Now let's shoot for green. Have a great night!
 
Re: 01/31 Vyktor AMPS 263

Vyktors Mum said:
But I think the day that Vyktor put her on his 'you will never be my friend' list was the day she head butted him off the patio. He was sitting there minding his own business and surveying his territory when I saw Meg line him up from the other side of the patio. Head down she charged like a raging bull and went straight for him. Poor unsuspecting Vyktor went flying over the edge to land inelegantly in the dirt. I did my best not to laugh but a few giggles may have inadvertantly escaped and Vyktor has never forgiven her - or sat in that spot with his back to her again. Now that's something I wish I'd caught on video!


THIS IS TOO HILARIOUS!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

And "peckering" has become my new favorite word :-D

Oh, to be a fly on the wall in you're household :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top