1/29-Cini Mini -+.5/88,+1/81,+2/73,+3/76,+6/79,+9/153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62307

Recap of yesterday's BGs:

AMPS - 142, gave 1 drop Lantus
+4 - 96
PMPS - 196, gave 1 fat drop Lantus
+2 - 128
+3.5 - 131

This morning's AMPS is 151. Went ahead and upped is dose to .10 units. Will keep an eye on Cini today.

Overall, he's eating well, alert, a little too early in the morning for him to be in any kind of mischief yet ;-)
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini - AMPS 151,+2/131,+4/78,+6/75

Hopefully the .10 units will bring Cini down around the AM/PMPS times. So far he's doing nicely at the nadir. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -+8/59 - Give MC food or wait?

So, just took Cini's +8 and it's 59 :shock:

I can handle a low number, I just don't know if I should feed him some regular 0% carb food which will up his BG a little anyway, or should I feed some 2% carb and risk it making his BG go too high this late in the cycle?

Wouldn't he be back on the upswing by +8?
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -+8/59 - Give MC food or wait?

I'd just give him his regular food if it brings his BG up because you just want to get him to surf. You don't want to overdo it....just a little bit so he wants to hang around the 50s/60s.

Let us know if that works!
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -+8/59 - Give MC food or wait?

OK, fed him the 0% carb food and I'll test again in 30 mins ( 1 hour from last BG).

You know, just when I think I get the hang of this, Cini throws another curve ball at me. LOL :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59 -Gave 0% Carb, will test again in 3

This will be a good experiment...it looks like he usually nadirs by now so we'll see if a little bit of 0% gets him to surf late in the cycle. Good job..standing by :-D
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64 - But now a new problem :(

Cini's +9 was 64, so great call on not feeding higher carb food.

Here's the new problem:

I get on the floor with Cini when I test him. I usually face him in front of me and I grab an ear and poke. Well, when I was done getting his +9 just now I was getting up and my foot bonked him on the nose. He made a scrinchy face and then he started wheezing! :shock: It lasted for about a good minute and then he calmed down.

Do you think it was just a reaction to getting hit in the nose? I hope his asthma isn't coming back. :cry:
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64 - But now a new problem :(

Unfortunately, it's a wait and see. I'm not sure a nose bonk would induce asthma but I don't have an asthmatic cat so I can't speak from experience. You could always post on Health and ask.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64 - But now a new problem :(

Oh Cini.....did you get a nose bonk? I think posting on health is a good idea and also watching him which we know you'll do anyway.

Yay on the food!!!! SURF IT BUDDY!

I'm seeing a big chance for you to SHOOT LOW!!! WOOOOOTTT!
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64 - But now a new problem :(

Thanks Sienne, good idea, I think I'll do that.

I've seen Cini run out of breath chasing a toy. He looks and sounds like an old smoker trying to hawk one up when he does it. But that's usually when he's full on asthma kitty.

This was just so weird. By the way, he seems to be ok now. He's napping. I call his name every once in a while and he'll perk up and look at me. But, it's with this look of disdain because I'm interrupting his afternoon snoozefest cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64 - But now a new problem :(

Since things are hopping here and I'm too lazy to go to Health :lol: :lol: can you let us know pls if you find out anything? Actually...I have to test Gracie. :-D
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

+10 is 60, Surf City baby! :mrgreen:

So far only 1 response in the other post encouraging me to put Cini back on the inhaler and never stop it again.

I don't know how I feel about that. These inhalers aren't cheap, they're more expensive than insulin. I usually have to pay $240 for one and there's about 200 puffs in a unit.

If Cini needs it, I'll gladly buy another but I can't afford to give it just to be giving it.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

I have NO experience with asthma...but somehow Sienne's thought seems very reasonable to me.

I accidentally popped Binks in the nose with his RC race car, and he sniffled, sneezed and wheezed for an entire day.

But again...he's never had asthma.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

Saw other thread first...answered there...nose bump = bad sneezing fit and funny breathing for hours. See post there to know how I learned that. :o
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

Hi Cathy,

Tena and Curry here...

Ouchie on the nose bonk. I'm not a vet but I wouldn't worry about the nose bonk and unless you saw Cini having difficulty with breathing. I believe a good bonk on the nose would make a kitty sneeze a bit.

If Curry sneezes alot I add some l-lysine to her meals. She gobbles it up like no tomorrow.

I saw that you had paid $240 for one inhaler....I and many folks get the flovent from New Zealand.....Auckland.....but no "auck" prices....the prices are great.....the website is 4 Corners Pharmacy...very reliable and haven't had any issues....it ususally takes 2 weeks so I plan ahead when purchasing them.

Here are some of the prices....the units are measured a bit differently....but 110 here in US equals 125 on their site....220 in US equals 250 there

4 Corners website: http://www.4cnrs-asthma-allergy.com/flovent.html

Product Price List -
1 Flixotide CFC Free 50mcg Inhaler US $18.00
2 Flixotide CFC Free 50mcg Inhalers US $28.50
3 Flixotide CFC Free 50mcg Inhalers US $43.00
5 Flixotide CFC Free 50mcg Inhalers US $71.00
10 Flixotide CFC Free 50mcg Inhalers US $125.00

1 Flixotide CFC Free 125mcg Inhaler US $30.00
2 Flixotide CFC Free 125mcg Inhalers US $56.00
3 Flixotide CFC Free 125mcg Inhalers US $78.00
5 Flixotide CFC Free 125mcg Inhalers US $120.00
10 Flixotide CFC Free 125mcg Inhalers US $210.00

1 Flixotide CFC Free 250mcg Inhaler US $50.00
2 Flixotide CFC Free 250mcg Inhalers US $96.00
3 Flixotide CFC Free 250mcg Inhalers US $138.00
5 Flixotide CFC Free 250mcg Inhalers US $220.00
10 Flixotide CFC Free 250mcg Inhalers US $410.00
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

Hey Lyresa, yeah... I'm going with the nose bonk = sneezing. He's doing fine otherwise. No wheezing or breathing difficulty.

OMG Tena! Thank you thank you for that link! :-D I'm deffinetly going to check it out. I have about 25 puffs left on Cini's inhaler and I usually order a back-up about this time.

You guys rock!
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

I've also seen a nose bonk induce sneezing in some of my kitties who aren't asthmatic. Glad to hear Cini Mini seems to be doing fine!
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

Hey Cathy...

Just a wee bit more info.....

You don't need a prescription.

The inhalers have 120 puffs in them....not the 200 you find in here in the US.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60 - But now a new proble

Thanks Tena, still a bargain at $50 USD for 100 puffs (with a $2 discount! for orders over $25!) vs $240 for 200 puffs.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60,+11/58- Dose Advice fo

+11 was 58

What should I do at shot time? I've never shot this low before. Lowest I've ever done was in the low 90s :shock:
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +8/59,+9/64,+10/60,+11/58- Dose Advice fo

Bump

Cini's hungry tonight. Sitting beside me staring at me. And for a cat with no eyes, this is talent. :lol:

15 mins till PMBG time.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +9/64,+10/60,+11/58, +12/45! Stall or Fee

The rule of thumb is to "feed the 40s." I would not over do it -- just feed a small amount of LC and then re-test in 30 min.

Can you afford to be off schedule tomorrow? And do you have strips and HC?
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +9/64,+10/60,+11/58, +12/45! Stall or Fee

Hi Sienne,

Yes. I am sticking around the house tomorrow. And yes, I have all the tools in the tool kit for a long night , if needed :-D

It's 20 mins past Cini's regular PMPS time, so I am going to feed him a little 2% and BRB.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

OK, +13 is back up to 64

I fed 2 tsp of EVO 95% Beef (2% carbs), Cini licked the bowl clean.


Where do we go from here?

Keep surfing and don't shoot?

Feed some 0% carb now and then test again in an hour?

What BG range am I waiting for Cini to get back up to before I shoot again?

Should I go back to 1 drop or stay on the new .10 units?
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

How long do you want to stay up tonight? I say that seriously because even shooting a reduced dose (which I think you should since he earned it), could still result in low
numbers due to the shed.

Looking at his SS and the occasional +1's, Cini doesn't look like he gets huge food spikes. You could go ahead and shoot it if you are comfortable and you can monitor. The point is to catch them on the rise.

What is your comfort level? If you shoot, IMHO, you should take the reduction and then get a +1 and +2.

ETA: I should clarify. Because he doesn't get a big food spike, then I don't think the 64 is too influenced by food. But the down side is "he doesn't get a big food spike" so you have to be sure you test to make
sure he is coming up instead of dropping like he sometimes does at +2.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

If I'm going to stay up all night, tonight would be the night to do it. :-D

So what should I do now? Feed him some 0% carb and do another reading at +14?
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

Depends on whether you want to shoot a higher number. How long until your +13.5? If you aren't past it, I'd check him at that and see where he is. If he's up, I'd SHHHOOOTTT!! Unless you aren't comfortable with
it and you want to wait until +14. But like I said...you want to shoot as they rise to try and get some overlap since lantus doesn't onset for about two hours.

And then I would feed him his portion of food. And because I have a totally unpredictable kitty, I got a +.5 on her on lantus. You know your boy.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

OK, thanks.

+13.5 coming up here in a few minutes.

Just so we're clear, if it's a higher number - I will shoot.

Just so I'm clear - If I'm shooting, I'm giving 1 drop, correct? Not .10 units of Lantus.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

He went below 50.....you're not using any other guide right...like three times below 50?

You don't HAVE to reduce but you see what this can do for him....so it depends on how much you want to monitor him. If you decide to NOT reduce, then you'll need to feed the curves with some higher carb (not HC but higher carb) food
in order to continue to give him more insulin to keep him safe. At some point, he will force the reduction by going below 40.

I know you wanted him more in green. I think it comes down to either:
1. reduce and you can continue his current foods, etc for now
2. leave him where he is but you'll have to probably feed higher carbs and test more

It's possible this little bit of extra insulin for a few cycles jump started him. If it didn't you can take him back up.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64- Questions

+13.5 was 72

I am going to give Cini what I am calling .5 units of Lantus.

1 drop, for me was the plunger just below the bottom line and .10 units was just above the line. So if I measure the insulin to right at the line, that will be 5. units.

I'm also going to feed another tsp of 2% carb food mixed with some 0% carb.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64,+13.5/72 Giving .5 units

.5 units???? I'm confused but that sounds like more insulin.

Do you mean .05? I think the number is fine to shoot.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64,+13.5/72 Giving .5 units

Good job, Cini. I don't think I've been in your condo before. I think Cini and my Simon must have been communicating tonight! Crazy times here as well nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64,+13.5/72 Giving .05 units

Marjorie, didn't mean to make you faint :lol:

Yes, sorry I meant .05 units


Kim,

Welcome aboard! I do believe tonight has been full of activity all over the board. The cats are plotting something, I just know it! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini +12/45,+13/64,+13.5/72 Giving .05 units

Whew!!! Where is that sweat dripping off my brow emoticon when I need it???? :lol: :lol:

Good job, Cathy. Now...the pj party. I'm up for at least two hours so that gives us lots of time to see what he'll do.

You can get back on schedule by shooting early 15 min each cycle until you are back at your regular shot time OR you can shoot 30 mins early once a day starting tomorrow night.

Good job!!!
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -PMPS/72,+.5/88 -When to test again?

+.5 was 88, looking good so far :mrgreen:

When do you guys want me to do the next BG ?
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -PMPS/72,+.5/88 -When to test again?

Cini Mini's Mom said:
Kim,

Welcome aboard! I do believe tonight has been full of activity all over the board. The cats are plotting something, I just know it! nailbite_smile
 

Attachments

  • 129182593299054366.jpg
    129182593299054366.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 1,010
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -PMPS/72,+.5/88 -When to test again?

Got a +1 before I read your post above. It was 81.

I'll get a +2 also.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -PMPS/72,+.5/88,+1/81

Cathy

How are you with low numbers? Shall I stay up with you or you confident you know how to deal with them after today? The link to handling low numbers is in my signature block but I can also stay up if you are concerned in any way.
 
Re: 1/29-Cini Mini -PMPS/72,+.5/88,+1/81,+2/73

No worries Marjorie. I can handle it from here if Cini drops low.

Just to confirm next steps, tomorrow morning I am going to do an AMPS at 9:30am (15 min earlier than the 9:45pm PMPS tonight) and give .05 units Lantus

I appreciate your help and everyone else's who have posted here today. It's nice to know there are so many caring people here to help Cini if he needs it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top