1/15 - Scooter - AMPS 328, +5 342 - hypoed last night!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
AMPS is in an hour but just wanted to say Ben did a great job staying up with Scooter last night and we saw some nice low numbers... go Scooter! go Ben!

Will post on his AM results in a bit.

DCIN and I are hopefully going to arrange for his dental soon, his breath is very smelly :(

last post go
 
Re: 1/15 - Scooter - AMPS 328 - We got so close to green!

Oh, Scooter...
we're taking away your trampoline, buddy!

how wonderful to see him flirting with the greens! :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/15 - Scooter - AMPS 328 - We got so close to green!

Very nice numbers last night for Scooter! Great job Ben with the middle-of-the-night testing! :RAHCAT

The bounce is ugly but expected, Mr Liver is just doing his job :lol: :lol: He will come back down.
 
Re: 1/15 - Scooter - AMPS 328 - We got so close to green!

Scooter!
leave the bouncing to the mouserls!

691a406b-d675-4c74-b73e-fa4e87fe418b.gif
 
Yes well he hit green last night... hit it a bit too hard, I went to bed early before his PMPS and Ben stayed up. He said Scooter sat at his chair and started meowing at around 4AM, his BG was 56. He gave Scooter a small spoonful of syrup and some normal food, and 15 mins later tested at 85, and 15 mins after that 137. That was all he could test, but Scoot was back up to 340 when I woke up just now at 9 and chipper as ever.

So does he need a dose decrease? He is only hitting these low numbers at night. In the day he's staying really high because of the bounce.
 
It was a very good catch and good job with handling the drop!

Unless Scooter was experiencing symptoms of hypoglycemia, we don't consider numbers in the 50s as symptomatic hyoglycemia -- they are just low numbers. It can be unnerving to have to manage them on your own. You may want to print out this guide to handling low numbers so you have it handy.

As you can probably tell, a spoonful of syrup is probably a bit too much. I usually give a drop or two of Karo/honey to bring numbers up and then retest and repeat until numbers are rising.

Unfortunately, unless Scooter drops below 50, according to the protocol, he doesn't get a dose reduction. Just a suggestion, though. When you saw the 106 at +3 last night, you might have considered testing at +4. You could have then tested as frequently as you needed (e.g., every 30 min.) to closely monitor and catch the drop if Scooter was going to drop below 50.
 
He sat at Ben's chair and started meowing a lot, something he doesn't normally do. I don't know if that counts as a sign or not.

I was asleep during this whole ordeal though or I would have tested more because he dropped the same last night but Ben was busy with a school assignment most of the night, that's why he was up so late. And my mistake, he didn't give a whole spoonful, just used the spoon to feed him. I have the hypo page printed up on the fridge so he went by whatever it says on there.

I guess if we're not doing a decrease I'll have to stay up with him tonight... can't sleep knowing he dropped so low last night, might go even lower tonight. Thank you though.
 
Ry:

I don't think that is a sign of hypo....56 is a very normal and safe number. Some of the OTJ kitties test in the 40s and some of the current lantus/lev kitties with experienced beans who know how to manage their curves will surf safely in the 40s.

We don't know what Scooter's threshold for hypo symptoms might be but I *doubt* you would see them in the 50s. Most typically, we see some kitties having different behaviours if their numbers drop suddenly. Some kitties meow, some are hungry, some get really "rowdy", and some, like Gracie, don't let the beans know when the number is coming down. Perhaps Scooter could tell and so he wanted to let Ben know he needed food.

One of the things I was taught when Grace was on lantus and which I find to be invaluable is to always get a +2. If Scooter's +2 is not almost the same as his PS, then you can anticipate that he might come down and then you can do additional testing. Because his +3 was 106, I'm thinking you would have seen a +2 that was much lower than his PMPS. Then you can judge whether to stay up or not. And you will also learn his patterns...how long does it typically take him to clear a bounce, etc.

Good job last night...I agree with Sienne. In the 50s, I would have just given him a tsp of his regular LC food to see if he would surf. But I know how scary that number is the first time in the middle of the night so big KUDOS to Ben for testing and feeding him!!
 
Many cats do experience lower numbers at night. Part of why I'm suggesting monitoring a bit more closely is that you may be able to soften the drop and, hopefully, reduce the bounciness. Also, by monitoring a bit more closely, you can be on top of the numbers and catch the 40s.

One final thought. If you find that you're working hard to get numbers up, that may be a factor when considering a decrease. I do think Scooter may be trying to work his way to a decrease but you need to weigh giving the dose reduction prematurely and risking the reduction not holding vs. letting it happen on it's own.

The meowing -- chances are that was a "feed me!" That's a very good sign. It's very likely that if you leave food out for Scooter during the day, he'll feed himself if his numbers are dropping.
 
hi ry! great catch last night!

you won't have to stay up with scooter every night, fortunately! when i do have to check punkin, i go to bed at about my regular time and set my cell phone alarm to get up and test. leave the stuff out ready to go, wake up, test & give a treat, back to sleep all within a couple of minutes.

tell ben good job on handling it! also - fyi, a non-diabetic cat will test from the 40's-120's, so 50's are really great numbers. but since scooter hasn't been there in a long time, it probably feels pretty alien to his body right now. i've heard many people say that their cats seem to feel better and act better in higher numbers, but they do get used to getting back into that normal range again.

i agree it's a really good sign scooter asked to be fed.
 
HOORAY FOR THE 56!!!

If it helps at all...I panicked the first time binks hit the high 50's even though his reaction was the same as Scooter's...
a very vocal "FEED ME, WOMAN" routine. I refused to sleep for 2 days (although I doubt I mentioned that on the forum at the time :lol: )
I soon learned that he was really reliable about feeding his low numbers,
which was really reassuring to me.

I had to be really tough with Binks and his reductions, because he would earn them with a spectacular drop,
but not hold onto them well, so we'd have to go back up in dose.
The really cool thing for me was that binks took a relatively short time to stop the bouncing,
then just worked his way down the dosing ladder and off insulin.
Hoping that Scooter does the same!

celi
 
This would have gone a lot differently if it was me up with Scooter... but I have urged Ben so much to read and be prepared for this... and he hasn't, obviously... I know 50 is not THAT low and I would have tried to get him to surf it out. Ben saw the low number and panicked. :YMSIGH:

I do have to sleep, though. This happened at 4 AM. I just can't stay up until 4 AM every night to make sure Scooter doesn't go hypo, that doesn't sound right at all. I hope that's not how this is going to go.

If I leave out food, he gorges himself and vomits. I will try leaving frozen portions out but he is really fussy about his food being warm, watery, and well-mixed. ohmygod_smile

I hope it evens out soon. I don't like seeing him sky high during the day and borderline dangerous low at night. :sad:
 
No, I think you have a good handle on it, Ry.
That was the rare first event for me...and I was freaked out.
(and, admittedly...pretty thrilled too. :-D )

Honestly...there were a couple of times that if I was concerned, I'd give a little MC before I went to bed...
but Binks had very reliable, consistent cycles...so I rarely worried.
I wish all kitties were as easy on this journey as he was.

celi
 
Hi guys .. When mocha was on insulin, and we knew we were in for a long night, we'd test right before bed, then set the alarm clock accordingly .. maybe an hour, maybe two hours .. We eventually would sleep through the alarm clocks :oops: so we put one clear across the room to get us up out of bed .. so we never had stay up straight through, but we did have a lot of interrupted nights ..
 
Ry, if it helps to know, my civvie cats BGs are in the 40s.

50 is a number used here to tell you "Be on alert, and monitor a little more closely." That's because you are using insulin to push down blood glucose and it doesn't know to stop at 50.

Also, you don't have to stay up till 4am every night, like most people have mentioned, set your alarm clock and get some sleep then wake up at the time you think Scooter's getting low in his cycle.

My newbie 50 reaction was to scream all the way down the stairs to the bottle of Karo "Out the way!! Hypo cat!! Hypo cat!!" :mrgreen: :lol: :mrgreen: :lol:

Now I see a 50 and say "Huh, 50. Nice job Cini! Let's get you some 2% carb food as a treat." :-D
 
Hi there,

When BK was on insulin, we had the added challenge of him living in a separate building than we do.
Then we found out about automatic feeders that can be programmed :-D
It was a lifesaver for all. We were able to sleep in our own bed (most nights) instead of the small futon at BK Central (where BK lives).
It eased our minds to know small regular meals would be available to him overnight.
Even though he has been OTJ 2+ years now, we maintain the same around-the-clock feeding schedule.
 
What a great start to my morning this is fantastic news I am so excited for you. That Ben of yours is turning out to be quite the champion :-D . Most people have a bit of a panic the first time they see low numbers and much better to be safe than sorry! You guys seem to be learning really quickly too so I'm sure you'll get the hang of helping Scooter surf really quickly too. Leaving out some frozen food is a great idea I think you will find that Scooter won't be nearly so fussy about his food if he is in low numbers he will just want to eat.

I haven't got the night time tests down quite as pat as Julie yet, it's about 10-15 mins from alarm to back to bed for me. Great that Ben is up at night studying at the moment to be able to get the tests without the alarm, you don't want to miss it when Scooter does earn that dose reduction! I know that you have sleeping issues so there is an added difficulty factor for you so it is extra wonderful that Ben is on board and don't forget your hard work now could very well result in remission which means no more getting up in the night :-D

Thanks for putting a big smile on my face today Scooter :-D :-D :-D
 
Very nice work! Yep, the first time or two of seeing those number is a bit scary, but it does get easier - as does testing and tracking. You'll eventually start seeing patterns as to when you need to be on higher alert. The good and bad thing about FD is that it's not always consistent...that's "good" because you won't always have to stay up till 4:00am or worry about low numbers or even set an alarm; it's "bad" because things to change and aren't always predictable. But you do get used to all of it.

Good job, guys!!

~Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top