1/14 Maggie +5 146 ; +10 162; PMPS 227; +3 148 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61014

Morning ~O) ~O) Maggie is bouncing a little from last night's lows. She is very perky, vocal and good appy this morning. Last evening Mags dipped to 69 at the pm +3, and although this calls for an automatic reduction, I decided to hold off and wait for 3 below 70's before I reduce, per Sienne's suggestion. Normally I'm really eager on giving a reduction, but Maggie didn't have many greens at the +3 dose, and she was only one point below 70! In case any new Beans read this and are confused as to why I'm not following protocol, below is what Sienne posted in Maggie's condo last evening:
I just want to be clear to anyone reading your condo that what I'm suggesting is "off protocol." Maggie is a long term diabetic and back from the Falls. While she's been in good numbers, they've been mostly blue numbers. It should be a little tougher for a long term FD to get a dose reduction. And, of even greater importance, Ann monitors carefully.
Maggie last night came up on her own without requiring hc food after that 69! She's very carb sensitive, so just a little of the FF T&G would have brought her up fast had she been dropping! Even the Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets with 5 carbs causes a spike. She's such an easy going, sweet kitty with the pokes.

Thanks everyone yesterday on suggestions for TJ's next time. I can't believe I left w/out getting chocolate. I got distracted by a little boy crying when he fell in the store.
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140 ATrak

Looking good on that +3 and not so fast a drop today. Interesting on the Alpha Track numbers. So, would that be equivalent to 3 times under 50 that other long timers aim for?

Some one posted this link the other day, for an updated food list. On it the Friskies Special Diet T&G is 6.45%! That would explain all the spike we get with it.
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140 ATrak

Hi Ann, Thanks and I'm glad for a nice slow drop. I was surprised to get a 201 this morning and expected lower.
On the ATrak, I compared the 140 this morning to the Relion and had a 115, so there was a 25 point variance. The lower the bg on the ATrak, not as large a variance between the two. Next time I get a 70's, I'll use the back-up and compare.

Thanks for the updated list. Holy molly on the 6.45% on the Friskies SD t & G! No wonder some of our kitties were getting a spike!
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140 ATrak

Lovely glide for Miss Maggie this morning after her low numbers last night! Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ATrak

+5 146

It looks like a nice blue slide today.
Thanks Christie, not too bad considering her lows last night.
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ATrak

Wowzers on the big drop last night. I wonder what that was all about Mags?

Very nice numbers today, no surprises today ok?
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ; +10 162 AT

when Binkshie returned from Avalon (the Falls)...
he was on the "three below" reducie plan...
(wonder if we could get Marie Osmond or Jennifer Hudson to advertise THAT plan?)

and went back to your "Yestiday" condo...and felt like this... :-D

images
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ; +10 162 AT

That was certainly a great cycle last night!!! Hopefully this is a little wee mini-bounce!! That was great that she brought herself up!! Good girl, Mags!

Perhaps the chocolate is worth another trip to TJs? Have a great day, Ann.
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ; +10 162 AT

I would definitely go back for the chocolate!!!

Interesting food chart that Ann found. FF T&G looks like fewer carbs than Friskies. Which one does Maggie prefer?

I think you are wise not to reduce the dose on the basis of one number (and not even that low a number). We want Mags to hold those reductions!

Have a fine evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ; +10 162; PMPS 227

PMPS 227

A little on the high side. I introduced some bg Merrick turkey, but it's lc. Maggie also gave me "that face" near the +10, but there was no food within the two hours.

Hi Tracy, yes, last night was a great cycle and looks like no surprises today.

Cute pic, Celi! :lol: That pic says it all! :lol:
I do remember Binksy doing the three below 50 was it or 40 on the human meter.

Hi Marje, I hope so, too, for the short bounce. And yes on TJ's for the chocolate.

Ella, I think Maggie likes the FF T & G better than the Friskies SD. Can you believe how many carbs in the Friskies SD T&G! Yes, I'm sure glad I didn't take the reduction.
 
Re: 1/14 Maggie AMPS 201; +3 140; +5 146 ; +10 162; PMPS 227

Not a bad bounce. I hope she clears it quickly. You missed out on chocolate!?!
 
Thanks for the answer on the fur shot question Ann, I thought that was right answer but had someone suggesting I give 1U so wanted to double check. The needle definitely did go in it was just when the insulin hit he kicked out so he probably did get a tiny bit.

On the bright side I needed a good sleep tonight anyway!

Serryn
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top