1/9 Garland PMPS 350

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Her numbers have been hanging around 300 for a while now. Does everything look okay on her SS? I opened a new pen this morning, just to be sure it wasnt the insulin. That pen had been opened about a month, and there wasnt much left in it anyways

She always seems so "flat" to me.. never drops after a shot. Is that normal?
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Hi Violet,
Although I am better at figuring out what to do with Rusty's numbers than with other kitties', I would say that your predominantly flat numbers of late are a good sign. Basically, what you want to accomplish is to bring the whole range down. Garland does not spike or drop dramatically, so the dose increase to 3.25 that you took 3 cycles ago might well get some downward momentum going (the new pen might help, too). You haven't been on the new dose long enough to see what results it might have. According to the protocol, it normally takes 6 cycles. So I would say to give the new dose time to settle in.

Wishing you and your family a very happy New Year. I trust it will be a good year for Garland.

Enjoy the day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Hi guys .. I'm glad Ella was able to answer your question for you .. I do know we were never able to get more then about 28 days on a pen with mocha and her numbers would start going up .. but ECID .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Hello there ~O)

I've not been around much lately due to work demands - grr_red

Has that infection at the site of the feeding tube insertion fully healed?

Hopefully the fresh juice will do the trick - I too would only use a cartridge for 28-ish days.
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Hi Violet: I agree with Ella. She has been on this dose for 2 cycles. I would see if the new insulin or the flat cycles are leading up to a drop in her numbers. If not, I would be inclined to increase after the 6th cycle. Hope others weigh in on this for you.

From the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL:

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Notice the word "consecutive" is in bold. (emphasis added)
con·sec·u·tive: adj. following one another in uninterrupted succession or order.
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Good ideas here and the other thing I would mention is you don't want to dosecrease with a new pen until you see the effects of the new pen. If I suspect a pen, I change it first, give a few cycles, and then, if necessary, dosecrease.

Hope the new pen helps!! Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

The "ideal" Lantus cycle is flat. Like others suggested, I'd give this dose a total of 6 cycles and if things are still looking yellow and pink, increase the dose.
 
Thanks everyone for answering my questions this morning! Everything posted totally makes sense, yall are awesome :) Im hoping this new pen kicks in soon and brings her numbers down. 350's are too high for my little Garland. Although it sure gives her a lot of energy .Her and Connick have been running around the house playing chase all day
bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif

PMPS 350
 
Re: 1/9 Garland AMPS 356 -Question

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hello there ~O)

I've not been around much lately due to work demands - grr_red

Has that infection at the site of the feeding tube insertion fully healed?

Hopefully the fresh juice will do the trick - I too would only use a cartridge for 28-ish days.

Hope work slows down for you soon :) The infection site is all closed and healed now. That antibiotic they gave her was a miracle drug.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top