Rocket & his Mom
Member Since 2010
hi all,
i will be quick as i need to post in different groups to get guidance on what i need to do today...
back from vet
i explained to the vet he is peeing more often and smaller amounts...based on the report from the urine culture she got...she said the Baytril may not be doing it's job and we don't know what we are dealing with
SO....
this afternoon at 5 pm i'm to take him to the hospital to get an ultrasound done...they will check his pancreas, kidneys and bladder....
vet thinks maybe tumors or maybe cysts in the bladder but she said she won't jump to conclusions until the ultrasound is done and we can go from there with a plan....be it meds or same ab he's been before...
that said...
here is the question i have
he gets insulin at 5 am/pm
this morning amps 308
+4.5 151
we will be heading out at 4:30 pm which means he will be at the hospital getting the u/s when he is supposed to get the insulin....i really don't want to skip the shot due to him getting the pred at 8 pm tonight which means if i skip the shot then most likely his AMPS tomorrow will be pretty darn high
another thing to consider is we don't know what sort of infection we are dealing with...i'm giving him subq but skipping the insulin may make him get DKA which he has never gotten but now i'm not so sure if it's a skip and a jump to it based on all that's happened to him...
WHEN DO I GIVE INSULIN? CAN I GIVE IT AT 4:30? IF HE GETS IT I CAN'T GIVE FOOD AS HE NEEDS NOT EAT AT LEAST PRIOR OF THE U/S.....
another thing to consider is the fact that he WILL get a mild sedative to get the u/s....he has needed it in the past...so i know he will get one today....
CAN ANYONE SHED SOME LIGHT INTO MY DILEMMA?
MUCH APPRECIATED
PRAYERS STILL NEEDED HERE...
last condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60111
i will be quick as i need to post in different groups to get guidance on what i need to do today...
back from vet
i explained to the vet he is peeing more often and smaller amounts...based on the report from the urine culture she got...she said the Baytril may not be doing it's job and we don't know what we are dealing with
SO....
this afternoon at 5 pm i'm to take him to the hospital to get an ultrasound done...they will check his pancreas, kidneys and bladder....
vet thinks maybe tumors or maybe cysts in the bladder but she said she won't jump to conclusions until the ultrasound is done and we can go from there with a plan....be it meds or same ab he's been before...
that said...
here is the question i have
he gets insulin at 5 am/pm
this morning amps 308
+4.5 151
we will be heading out at 4:30 pm which means he will be at the hospital getting the u/s when he is supposed to get the insulin....i really don't want to skip the shot due to him getting the pred at 8 pm tonight which means if i skip the shot then most likely his AMPS tomorrow will be pretty darn high
another thing to consider is we don't know what sort of infection we are dealing with...i'm giving him subq but skipping the insulin may make him get DKA which he has never gotten but now i'm not so sure if it's a skip and a jump to it based on all that's happened to him...
WHEN DO I GIVE INSULIN? CAN I GIVE IT AT 4:30? IF HE GETS IT I CAN'T GIVE FOOD AS HE NEEDS NOT EAT AT LEAST PRIOR OF THE U/S.....
another thing to consider is the fact that he WILL get a mild sedative to get the u/s....he has needed it in the past...so i know he will get one today....
CAN ANYONE SHED SOME LIGHT INTO MY DILEMMA?
MUCH APPRECIATED
PRAYERS STILL NEEDED HERE...
last condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60111