12/28 Shane AMPS 363...and fur shot results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Martica and Fred

Member Since 2010
Hi
I"ve started a new thread now for Shane

Dec 28 AMPS 363...gave 0.75 but it was a furshot, then gave another 0.25U and I think it got in but still wasn't sure as he was struggling a lot and I had to do it while making a kitty burrito with a blanket.

Then I lost Shane for about 3 hours. Could not find him ANYWHERE in my apt after looking thru every crevice 3 x. I started to get worried and then finally found him, in some itsy bitsy crevice in a closet I didn't even know he could fit in.

So just took his next BG reading

+4 315

So he's going down a little, he hadn't eaten anything since the missed? shots...So that means the 0.25 must have gone in I think. So I just gave him some food with more Forti Flora and water in it. He was in a much better mood after his 3 hour nap. Maybe he was just exhausted earlier because we were both up all night. I think I'm going to leave him in the bedroom now since he escapes from the office.

I'm out for a few hours for work and I may end up giving his next shot earlier that +12 depending on if it looks like he's going to start spiking...thoughts? I'll be out from about +5 - +10 so won't be able to do any readings. I could possibly quickly sneak back for a 10 minute test at around +7.5 ish, dep on if my first work event doesn't run late.
 
do you have a spreadsheet going for shane yet? i'm just wondering what his dose is - are you trying to give him 1unit or .75?

the rule of thumb is that because you don't know how much got in with a furshot, we just call it a learning experience (although it happens even to very experienced people) and let it go. get back on track with the next shot. it's better for shane to get too little than too much insulin.

if i were you, i'd probably grab a test right before you leave at +5 and then again as you walk back in the door at +10, just to see what he's doing. if you get a less than 150 or so at +5, post here and ask for help. probably won't, but we don't know how shane's patterns go at this point.

was this his first day of shots?
 
Shane's last condo

just read the rest of shane's story from his last condo . . . wow. you are a saint! good for you for taking him in and giving him a chance! i hope you get some rest today. he'll get on track with some more consistent dosing.

i've noticed diarrhea in my civvie whenever she gets any high carb food. she has a tendency towards it anyway, but the gravy foods really set her off.
 
I saw your note about spreadsheet problems. Try this link for the template. There have been some issues with Google docs.

The link that I gave you may not have a glitch fixed. If you put in a number below 40, see if it color codes green. It was color coding red and was being mistaken for a number in the 400s. If the color isn't fixed, you'll have to manually fix the color should Shane drop that low.
 
Read your last condo & you are a great person to be caring for Shane!
I give Moonie FF (fancy feast) elegant medleys chicken tuscany as it has a bit of rice in it & greens & brings her up from low numbers quickly..
Julie is right I never shoot again after a fur shot as you dont know how much gets in(and I am a fur shot queen :lol: )
I know once Shane gets used to you he will relax & he looks like a beautiful boy..
I went through so much getting Moonie to let me shoot & test in the beginning--She could squiggle out of a burrito like with ease!!! Hope it gets easier soon.
BTW Welcome to Lantus Land!
 
:lol: :lol:

celi & binks


step3rollpu128523796101881572.jpg
 
Martica:

If you PM me your phone number and you are ok with it, I can call you and walk you through getting the google SS up ....the one that doesn't have any issues. It will take about 5-10 mins max. I can send you directions but it's so
much easier and faster on the phone.
 
love the purrito, celi! (Shane was def. NOT purring though, he was a growlito)

Marjorie thank you so much for offering to help, I just download one from one of those links above and I'm going to see if I can upload it. If not, I'll give you my number!

thanks
Martica
 
Yay, I made my spreadsheet work and attach! hallelujah!

OK so I'm about to do a bg test on Shane Sebastian....

A few of you had background Qs about me and Shane's history--here is the link I put up yesterday explaining it all:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59512

I'm going to have to give him an early shot, I have a feeling he is high now since he was 371 when I left at +8 and I gave him a bit of food. I need to give shot now if possible because I'm working tomorrow and will be a few hours late giving it in teh AM unless I do this one early. But since it was a mostly furshot and lower dose, I think that will be fine..

any thoughts on numbers, etc. please share!

thank you
 
Martica and Fred said:
I'm out for a few hours for work and I may end up giving his next shot earlier that +12 depending on if it looks like he's going to start spiking...thoughts? I'll be out from about +5 - +10 so won't be able to do any readings. I could possibly quickly sneak back for a 10 minute test at around +7.5 ish, dep on if my first work event doesn't run late.

I'm no expert but my understanding is that you could shoot safely at +10 provided his BG is rising. This will mess up your current 12/12 schedule though as you'll be wanting to shoot again at +12 (or maybe +10) of the new time that you shot.

I have been watching Shane's story and didn't feel there was much hope for him to start off with, I was so sad for him and for you and what you were going through trying to save him - so glad you've proved me wrong. Shane is one lucky boy and you are an amazing woman - well done.
 
I hate to ask this, but can your re-code the below 40 numbers to green? If you leave them in red, it looks like they are in the 400s. We're trying to get the person that set the SS up to fix the error.
 
ok will do

also, now stumped his +11 is lower than his +8 even though he ate a little bit of BG (Before Grain quail and chicken) he is 321...not bad..maybe some did get there more than the 0.25 after all...

now should I shoot now at +11 or wait? I need to give him food, he's hungry...

tomorrwo I can either shoot at 9am (which would be +11.25 ) or later like 1:30pm...which is way later
 
Hi Vyktor's mom, wow interesting that you said this. Actually on day 2 or day 3 at the vet, one of the vet tech's told me she thought he was dying. All I got for a few days was--"he's the same". Then I visited him and gave him lots of love and the next morning he seemed to make a turnaround. NOt sure if it was me, or would have happened anyway, but, huh.

So we'll see, he's a tuff little guy, and also tuff to manage!

I don't know what to shoot now, since he's lower. I gotta do it now though really cuz I"m out from 9am till 1:30pm tomorrow, so otherwise I"ll be several hours late shooting him. No way around that, unfortunately.

Oh! His poop is much better! Was more solid! Still soft, but had a shape! So that fortiflora is working. I've been sprinkling it on all day.
 
i think he's bouncing from those low numbers yesterday.

he's still high - if i were you i would try to stay as close as possible to 12/12 - which would mean shooting at 11.15 tomorrow morning rather than several hours late.

jill & sienne suggested a .75 starting dose. i don't see any reason not to continue with that tonight.
 
Well he just got a 314 PMPS...even after eating a couple of hours ago, so holding steady, not rising.

Everytime I try to grab his fur to put the shot in he growls. Not sure what to do. The burrito only works for the ears, not to well for the shots...he's a real squirmer and hisser/biter/growler
 
oh gosh....now at +4.25 (4:30am in the morning here) Shane is 111

I'm just giving him food. This does not bode well. What the heck happened? WAs his 0.75U shot too high?

What is the highest carb can of cat food I can buy (off the top of anyone's head)? There is a 24 hour pharmacy downstairs. I've just given him some soulstice. Not sure if I should give him some Nutrical. If he's already dropping this low, not great. He was 314 at shot time, so he's dropped 200 in 4 hr.


Oh and the shot was impossible. He growled and screamed like I was trying to kill him and that was just when I was holding him and would try to pull some skin up. Wrapping him up in the blanket did not help he wriggles. I literally tried for 30 minutes to do the shot--explaining, of course, why this was good for him. But it did occur to me that he may be traumatized from the probably multiple hypos at the vet and he associates the shots with those...so I sort of understood his reaction.

BUT I did need to get the shot in, so finally with him wrapped in the blanket, I took him downstairs to see if my doorman could hold while I did it. Turns out there was a neighbor in scrubs by our mailboxes. I asked if she was a doctor and she said yes, and so she ended up holding Shane while I shot. And then he became as docile as an angel. Not sure if it's cuz we were downstairs, or what, but not a peep out of him. I told her, this is not the same cat, for the last 30 minutes he's sounded like a hyena.

anyway, now a new concern with the low BGs. Could be be in remission already? We don't know his provenance. He was at the kill shelter when I saved him. He was DKA at the shelter---this is approx 2 weeks ago. He's skin and bones--6.5 lbs.
 
oh gosh....now at +4.25 (4:30am in the morning here) Shane is 111

I'm just giving him food. This does not bode well. What the heck happened? WAs his 0.75U shot too high?

What is the highest carb can of cat food I can buy (off the top of anyone's head)? There is a 24 hour pharmacy downstairs. I've just given him some soulstice. Not sure if I should give him some Nutrical. If he's already dropping this low, not great. He was 314 at shot time, so he's dropped 200 in 4 hr.


Oh and the shot was impossible. He growled and screamed like I was trying to kill him and that was just when I was holding him and would try to pull some skin up. Wrapping him up in the blanket did not help he wriggles. I literally tried for 30 minutes to do the shot--explaining, of course, why this was good for him. But it did occur to me that he may be traumatized from the probably multiple hypos at the vet and he associates the shots with those...so I sort of understood his reaction.

BUT I did need to get the shot in, so finally with him wrapped in the blanket, I took him downstairs to see if my doorman could hold while I did it. Turns out there was a neighbor in scrubs by our mailboxes. I asked if she was a doctor and she said yes, and so she ended up holding Shane while I shot. And then he became as docile as an angel. Not sure if it's cuz we were downstairs, or what, but not a peep out of him. I told her, this is not the same cat, for the last 30 minutes he's sounded like a hyena.

anyway, now a new concern with the low BGs. Could be be in remission already? We don't know his provenance. He was at the kill shelter when I saved him. He was DKA at the shelter---this is approx 2 weeks ago. He's skin and bones--6.5 lbs.
 
Hi Martica,
Fancy Feast grilled flavors are high carb, i.e., Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, Fancy Feast Beef Grilled in gravy, Friskies Turkey Dinner in Gravy. Any of those are high carb. Look for Grilled on the Fancy Feast label and Gravy.
 
Well I got the food and some Karo. I had had the Nutrical.

I put Nutrical in his Soulisitc and he'd eaten some when I returned. I bought some FF flavors but not sure if they were grilled, have to go back and look, they had most classic kinds, which I knew were not right. But I got Turkey in gravy and Chicken in gravy, although they might hve been 'sliced'. They are actually in chunks. Anyway, will got back later and see what I have and then stock up on some grilled.

Guess I'll do his BG shortly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top