12/12-Cini Mini - PMPS 466, +2/422

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58414

Recap of yesterday's readings:

AMPS - 216
Gave .10 units of Lantus
2 puffs Flovent
+2 - 222
+4 - 189
+6 - 374
+8 - 425
+10 - 421
PMPS - 468
Gave .10 units of Lantus
2 puffs Flovent
+2 - 389
+11 - 391

This mornings' AMPS was 394 and today will be the 3rd day (5th and 6th cycles) of .10 units of Lantus

I don't understand where Cini is getting all these crazy numbers from. I'm assuming it has to do with a combination of being on the inhaler, bouncing somewhat from the 189 yesterday and just getting the shed filled back up from being OTJ for 6 days.
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446

Thanks Linda.

Hopefully Day 3 will come with a breakthrough.

I reviewed Cini's SS (unhid rows 3 through 35) and saw that we didn't have a breakthrough on getting from reds and pinks to blues and greens till Day 3 on TR.

Crossing my fingers, and my toes, and my eyes ;-)
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502

Cathy:

My guess is the steroids in the inhaler are causing some if not most of this. You may have to adjust his dose to counteract the effect of the steroids.

I'm sorry....I know this is upsetting because he's had such great numbers. Sending you big hugs and hoping a little dose adjustment might bring him back down.
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502

Hi Marjorie.

Thanks for the input.

My next questions would be -

1. How much more should I adjust his dose? .25 units or .5 units?
2. When should I start dosing at the higher level? Tonight or tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502-Questions on do

Cathy

IMHO, the reason I feel he needs more juice is because he has not been a bouncer into yellows, pinks, etc even when he got into the 40s and you can see his numbers went up when you started the inhalant.

The protocol does say if their nadirs are over 300, to increase by .5u BUT I might be a little more cautious and increase by .25u and see how he does; if he doesn't respond within four cycles, I would be tempted
to take him up again by .25u. And, if it were me, I'd increase tonight.

Those are just my thoughts; others may have something else to offer as a solution so I'd gather the ideas and then decide what you think is best since you know him.
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502-Questions on do

Thanks Marjorie. Your input, as well as everyone else's, is greatly appreciated.

Cini's next injection isn't for another 8 hours so there's plenty of time for discussion.
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502-Questions on do

I'd slow down a bit. I know the high numbers are upsetting. The good news is that what goes up, comes down. That said, increasing on a bounce can cause numbers to come crashing down. How about if we avoid that scenario. Cini may have been at this dose for 5 cycles but you haven't factored the up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

I also suspect that the high numbers are not primarily due to the inhaler. I do, however, suspect they are due to the inflammation of Cini's airway resulting from the asthma. If the rise in numbers was due to the inhaler, you would not have seen the 189 yesterday.

I think this is a time to borrow Marje's patience pants!
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502-Questions on do

Good luck!!!

Tarragon is on Flovent (for last year) and now prednisone tablets for his asthma and his numbers are doing the same thing as Cini Mini's. I know how frustrating those high numbers are. I need to remind myself to be patient as well.
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502,+6/367

Thanks Ladies! This is why I really appreciate your input and advice!

Apparently I have my hammer time pants on instead of my patience pants! ohmygod_smile

I'll hold out for the full 5 days (10 cycles) on the.10 units and see what happens.

I'll just have to keep one eye closed while I enter these obnoxious numbers in to Cini's spreadsheet! ;-)
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - AMPS 394,+2/446,+3/502,+6/367

HI Cathy,
I don't have experience with the issues you are dealing with, but it looks like you are getting excellent input and advice. I agree that patience is paramount!!! Hang in there. Cini Mini, feel better and bring your numbers down. OK?

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/12-Cini Mini - PMPS 466

Thanks Ella! :-D

I also had a chat with the pet sitter and, although I'm sure I shot a lot of information at him at once, he seemed to be on board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top