12/5 Beau: amps/525, +11/370, pmps/325, +3/87!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Last post 12/4/11 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57927

Beau had an EXCELLENT day yesterday, surfing in the blues for more than half of the day!
amps - 448 --> 2.25u
+2 - 411
+5 - 180
+7 -180
+9 -179
+11 - 147
pmps - 137 --> shot reduced dose of 1.0u because he is still dropping and I can't stall or stay up with him for another night
+1 - 155
+2 - 138
+3 - 138
+4 - 128
+9.5 - 452 :-x bounce...

Today:
amps - 525 - grr_red --> back to 2.25u
+5 - 383

He sure bounced to the top floor...This is the first 500's reading since we started Lantus. He probably went lower last night but I couldn't stay up and test him since today is a work day. I left LC food out for him but he didn't eat and slept next to me until +9.5 when he got up to drink water. I tested him and he had already zoomed back up to 452. Hopefully he will come down today. Poor thing... :sad:
 
Re: 12/5 Beau: amps/525, +5/383 - bounce

On the positive side, it's nice to see Beau responding to the Lantus. But you may not appreciate that until you've had a few more winks! Hope he comes down nicely.
 
Re: 12/5 Beau: amps/525, +5/383 - bounce

he might not have gone lower - i've seen punkin bounce from those sweet blue numbers! in any case, at least the bounce gives you a couple of hours off! :lol: enjoy the break while it's here! that was a mighty nice run of 100's while Beau was in it. could you ask him to talk to punkin a little bit?! :-D
 
Re: 12/5 Beau: amps/525, +5/383, +11/370

+11 - 370

Kathy -- what are "winks"? are they the nice curves?

Julie -- I sure can use some rest tonight! I am so proud of him for giving me those blues yesterday, even though those numbers are giving me anxiety attacks but I know they are giving his pancreas a chance to heal a little bit at a time :)
 
Re: 12/5 Beau: amps/525, +5/383, +11/370, pmps/325

pmps - 325

Looks like he's starting to clear his bounce :)

I think Kathy means sleep!!
hahaha...thanks for clarifying that! I thought it's a special term for some kind of a curve :lol: :lol:
 
ok, just tested his pm+3 and he's dropped from 325 to 87!!! It was my bad for not getting a +2 since I was not expecting this to be such an active cycle. Looks like my night just started...

Perhaps I should scale back the dose to 2.0u tomorrow as that is just too big of a drop too soon. Anyone up for a little bit longer?
 
i'm up alicia.

would you retest that number and make sure it's accurate? it's possible it is, but it's such an enormous drop from the preshot that whenever we see a number that makes us scratch our heads and say "HUH?" we retest.

i'll be back in 5 minutes and see what you've got.
 
i'd go ahead and start giving him higher carbs now. he's definitely cleared the bounce and he's doing it with style. that's a straight down path since this morning.

how does he respond to high carbs? do you usually just give 1 teaspoon or ? when you get below 50?
 
i'm looking at beau's ss and it looks like you have quite a bit of experience with the low numbers dance. here's my 2cents worth on his spreadsheet.

it looks like 2.0u isn't quite enough but 2.25u is a little too much. i wonder if you could try to hit something in between? have you tried tinkering with the food timing to try to even him out a little bit? if he were mine, i think i would draw up 2.25 and then squeeze out a couple of drops. then i think i would try messing with food carbs and timing to see if you can prevent some of the zig-zag BGs he's got going on.

there are several people who seem to do this a lot - i'm not one and can't really advise on it. but marj & mike (gracie), anne & liz (zener), ann & john (tess) all seem to have gotten it down to a fine art. would you check into their condos tomorrow and see if someone can give you suggestions on when to give what carb% to try to reduce the bouncing? it's worth a try.
 
alicia, i have to get up for work in 6 hours - are you ok with me leaving you or do you feel like you need help?

ETA: i think tomorrow morning, just so you can breathe, i would drop back to the 2.0units. then tomorrow night i might bring it back up to the "something in between" if you can.

see what others suggest. he hasn't technically earned a reduction but that's a lotta early action tonight.
 
The very first time we went < 50 (way back in July when I was a total newbie, 2 weeks into Prozinc), I gave him Friskies gravy ~1-2 spoonful every 30min and he came back to 100's in about 2 hours then into the 200's the 3rd hour.

The second time we went < 50 was 4 days ago, he was already at +5 so I only gave him LC and that slowly brought him up to 100's in about 4 hours.

I gave him 1/4 can of FFC after his +3 reading (1/2 of his normal snack around this time). His +4 is coming up in 15min and if still dropping I will start to give HC since we're still early in the cycle.
 
I should be fine, thanks for hanging around a bit. I'll check into others' condos you have mentioned and see if I can do something similar for Beau. But definitely leaning towards scaling back the dose tomorrow morning!
 
the general standard is 1 teaspoon of the gravy part from a high carb canned cat food every 20 or so minutes. retest and if it's below 50 repeat. you want to see numbers rising and be past the usual nadir so you don't have to worry about them dropping again before you quit the process.

in this case, beau isn't in any danger, we're just trying to put the brakes on. if he's still dropping at +4, i'd give him some high carb and see what that does.

if you feel like you're doing ok, i'm going to call it a night. i have to be patient with an 8 year old who doesn't exactly make being patient easy . . . what do you think?
 
i'd definitely drop it in the morning. you don't want to be chasing him with high carbs for hours every cycle. but it does look like he either needs a different food schedule or a little more than 2 units - one or the other.

michelle (mannie) also tinkers with teh food carbs, i think. all of those folks give recaps in their first post of the day that will let you see what they are doing with food.

ok, good night! i think you're doing fine! you can catch a few z's inbetween tests, too. i use my cell phone alarm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top