11/27 Revson AMPS 534 +5 HI, +8 HI, PMPS 556

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Revson

Member Since 2011
Today's fun...

AMPS 534 (2U Lantus)
+5 HI
+8 HI

PMPS 556 (2U Lantus)
+1 515

Not eating well... tired of even Turkey!!
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Don't think like that. You're doing what you have to, to save your cat's life. It's completely normal for a newly diagnosed cat to have these wild swings and very high numbers.

My suggestion is that you follow protocol and increase by .25 unit every three days until you get to 3 units, and above 3 units increase by .5 units every three days. This is until you start getting lower numbers, of course. Keep testing for ketones - if you see any vet care is needed and the dose will have to go up faster. Try to stick to the dose despite swings in numbers, although you may have to make an exception if preshot is low and you can't monitor the cycle. And keep testing - when you reach an effective dose numbers can come down FAST.

You're doing fine - hang in there!
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Morning Amy - I agree with Camille and Julie. it takes some time to get things under control. continue to test as often as you can. increase the dose per protocol. You will get there. It's scary when numbers run so high - I have been there with Mannie, and know all too well what it feels like, hang in there - it will get better.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Amy, you are saving Revson. You are doing the hard work, the research that will be his salvation. It isn't easy, but you are doing it. Keep on keeping on. We are here for you and with you. Prayers for you and Revson.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

((((Amy)))) I certainly understand how you can feel that way but it's not true. FD is a very frustrating disease, especially for cats. Follow the protocol and ask questions here on the forum. There are many knowledgeable people who can help you with all kinds of issues. Sending you and Revson positive energy.
Liz
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Amy,
BIG LOOOOONG HUG - head on shoulder, holding tightly until you're ready to let go.

Now - no YOU are NOT killing your cat! Diabetes is trying it's best to get the upper hand and you're doing everything in your power to not let that happen. I know it feels like you're beating your head against a wall and nothing's working but each day gives you more tools to deal with it. You're using every one of those tools to fight as hard as you can for sweet baby. It's just not working yet. YOU ARE NOT KILLING YOUR CAT!!!! Sweetheart, you're SAVING your cat, it just doesn't feel like it right now.

Another big loooooong hug,
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Amy-

Yes, it is scary and it is stressful when those numbers don't seem to want to budge. We all know the feeling very well. As the others have said, you're not killing your cat, and you are definitely not alone...you've got a world of support and knowledge right here at FDMB. FD is a frustrating disease, but with all the hard work you're doing, you can and will get the upper hand...it just may take some time. I can't remember who initially coined the phraise, but FD is a marathon, not a sprint. I know that's not the easiest thing to hear right now, but as long as you keep up with the testing to get a feel how Revson is responding throughout his cycles, and follow the protocol according to his nadirs, you will get there.

Take a deep breath, and ask questions...everyone is here to help you.

Amy
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Amy --

If you can get 6 cycles (3 days) where you can get spot checks, we'll be better able to assess if the highs are the result of a bounce. You really need to get spot checks in order to see if there's a bounce and to assess the effectiveness of any dose change. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the nadir not on the pre-shot numbers.

You might want to take a look at Jill's post on the importance of nadir checks.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

Hi Amy,

I know how you feel and how scared you are, but you are REALLY doing everything you can to help him. Sending lots of vines your way.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... STILL HIGH

I agree with Sienne, if you can get a couple more cycles of spot checks then we can help with the dose. Be sure you are testing Revson's urine for ketones while he is running high, though. How is his appetite?

The reason we are making you slow down despite some high numbers is that Revson hit 54 at preshot last week on 1.75u with a depleted shed. Then you increased the dose the next cycle. Before increasing the dose again, we need to be sure he is not still dropping that low. It makes sense that if he hit 54 on 1.75u, that he might be hitting 50s or even lower on 2u, right? The high numbers might just be bounces off of some lows that you haven't caught.

Please read through this link on Increasing the Dose.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... +5 HI

NO, NO, NO, NO...

You are working so very hard against -pardon my french- a damn frustrating disease.
(before you say it...i KNOW that's not french)

I used to sit and hold Binks and just cry thinking there was nothing I could do to help him...
But he got back to being a healthy, happy kitty with the support we found here...

Hang in there...and we will hang in there with you!

Celi

funny+animals+008_.jpg
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... +5 HI, +8 HI

Just chiming in to say you are not killing your cat! You're doing the best you can for Revson, and things are going to get better. I know it feels awful to see those numbers and feel like you are helpless to fix it.

Sending vines for you and for Revson.
 
Re: 11/27 Revson AMPS 534... +5 HI, +8 HI

Hang in there. You are in amazing, wonderful, knowledgeable hands. Listen to them.

How long has Revson not been eating or having a reduced appetite?
 
Just bumping your condo for experienced eyes. FYI...it's better if you post a new reply, rather than editting your first post. When you post a new reply, it moves your condo to the top of the list (thereby drawing attention to it), whereas by editting your first post in the condo, your condo stays low in the list and potentially valuable info can get lost in the shuffle.

You will get there. Good work with the testing today!!!

Amy
 
Amy

You've gotten some really good advice. I took a quick look at the SS and it looks like many others I've seen. Don't forget that the holidays can cause stress on animals, too. If you had to leave home or have people staying, that can cause BG to increase in some cats AND people. Stress makes my BG increase.

Barry's first vet knew basically nothing about Lantus. She could have killed him if I had followed her instructions and hadn't been getting help here. She increased his insulin by a full unit and his BG wouldn't even read on the monitor. It was horrible. The vet tech was really nasty that I wouldn't feed what they wanted instead of FF. Barry celebrated 2 years OTJ on 10/23. :razz: to them. :lol:

Paisley's vet is the owner of the clinic Barry goes to. (Both Paisley and Barry were adopted with a FD diagnosis, btw.) Given Barry having gone OTJ NOT doing it their way, there wasn't much he could say. I'll do what I think is best and he knows that arguing will get him nowhere fast. He doesn't believe that home testing is necessary. I think he's not too bright. That would be like my doctor giving me medicine for my diabetes and telling me that it really isn't necessary to home test. Huh????? Oh, and Barry dropped a 16, yes a 16, on me. No symptoms. I hadn't been following my own advice about home testing and just had the feeling to test. I don't like to think about what would have happened if I had given him that shot that night. So when the vet gives a hard time about testing, feel free to tell her/him about Barry.

Just keep on keeping on. It's tough and frustrating at times. Ok, many times. I'm kicking myself because I didn't do a dose decrease and Paisley dropped to 29. She's been in the 500's and HI at least once. Take a look at her SS. Looking at other SSs helped me. Many cats stay high for a while but eventually the stars align and the Lantus Land magic kicks in and the BG starts going down. Sometimes it's bouncing but it does go down.

Big :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top