11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +5/118 - dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Last post 11/21/11 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57007

Today:
amps - 454
+2 - 459
+4 - 407
+6 - 401
+8 - 372
+10 - 311
pmps - 241 :shock: shot reduced dose
+1 - 206
+2 - 183
+3 - 156
+4 - 134
+5.5 - 118
+8.5 - 229

Not quite sure what to make of his curve today, he seems to drop late in cycle when the insulin is supposedly wearing off. We had somewhat of an inverse curve yesterday, but I attributed it to bouncing from a low nadir the night before. Do cats on Lantus also get an inverse curve from too much insulin? Anyway, hope we can get away from the reds and pinks soon...
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +8/372, +10/311

Cats on Lantus can have inverted curves. This means one of two things -- not enough insulin or too much insulin. (I know, it's not really helpful.) Cat's can also have late nadirs. Don't get wed to the idea that nadir has to be at +6. Cat's can peak early or late or play by the rules. (Gabby's nadir is usually around +3.)

What i think is going on now is that Beau is bouncing off of the blue during the PM cycle on 11/24. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. For future reference, you don't want to increase the during a bounce. It could put Beau over a good dose.
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +8/372, +10/311, pmps/241

pmps - 241 :shock:

This is the LOWEST PS we've gotten in MONTHS! Maybe his bounce is clearing off now? I shot a reduced dose of 1.75u because of the low PS and because I'm simply scared... Wonder if I should have reduced even more? Anyway, will be testing frequently tonight nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +1/206

usually we don't change the dose based upon preshot numbers - what you really want to find is the lowest point of the cycle. but no worries, i think i'd get a test again in an hour to see what he's doing. he may be clearing the bounce, but if it is significantly lower at +2 than the preshot number (which it looks like it might be) you'll need to keep checking him tonight.

are you familiar with how to handle it if he goes below 50? have you done that yet?
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +1/206

How to Handle Low Numbers

i just wanted to make sure you have this post if you need it. you probably won't, and you don't need to do anything until you see a 49 or lower. but just in case, it's good to be ready.

the basic process is to give a teaspoon of the gravy from a high carb can of cat food to beau, wait 15 minutes and retest. keep repeating until you're sure beau is on his way up and going to stay up. sometimes they can wobble if it's still before the nadir of the insulin. so make sure you see a couple of rising numbers and it's later in the cycle before you call it good.

your goal is simply to keep him above 50. a non diabetic cat gets into the 40's, so it's not a danger zone, but 40's are time to monitor and make sure they don't go lower.

i understand why a preshot in the 200's was unnerving, because beau has been so high. but you do want to get to the point where you are shooting those and monitoring - eventually you'll want to be shooting below 100. it's unnerving at first, but you've got all of us here cheering you on. hang in there!
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +1/206

+2 - 183

So far it looks like he's dropping about 20-40 points per hour. It might be a long night for us.

@julie - thanks for popping in! The lowest point of the cycle for him today was actually his pmps so that's why I reduced the dose since I'm not very familiar with Lantus yet and he seemed to be dropping still. He had one hypo episode (no symptoms though) back in July just 2 weeks into insulin treatment, we were on Prozinc. The board helped me through that frightening night until his BG is > 200. I was very fortunate it was a Saturday night and there were people around here during that time. I have got HC food and Karo and lots of strips but I do need to go back and review the stickie since it has been a while since I have to deal with low numbers.

I have read somewhere that we should start giving LC food when the number go below (?), then move on to MC or HC when the number go below (?), then finally Karo when the number go below (?). Can you or someone help jog my memory?
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +2/183

there are people who have kitties that dive that use various carbs food to try to manage the curve. punkin is slow and steady, so i just wait til he goes below 50 and give him high carb food. if i catch a number in the 30's and it makes me nervous i add a drop of karo. there's no exact formula. if you don't have high carb food you can use honey or karo, but i think it wears off a little faster than the high carb food. that has a little more staying power.

it's one of those things that you will learn what works on beau.

the link i gave you is one i have bookmarked for reference. i like it better than the stickies because it is really single topic. let's just get the kitter's numbers up and nothing else.

hope you can sleep in between testing tonight. i use my cell phone alarm.
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +2/183

+3 - 156

Fed his mid-cycle snack early to hope slow the curve.

Thanks for the link! I bookmarked it as well :)
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, +10/311, pmps/241, +2/183, +4/134

+4 - 134

Slow and steady, about 25 points per hour for the last 3 hours. Going to bed now and will be setting my alarm at 1 hour increments.
 
Re: 11/26 Beau - amps/454, pmps/241, +5/118 - dose?

+5.5 - 118
+8.5 - 229

Tried but couldn't get up in between those hours. Beau was sleeping peacefully next to me all night :) Not sure if he dipped into the green zone but he's already coming up. Hopefully he won't bee too high by amps. Wonder if I should stay with 1.75 for a few more days or move back up to 2.0?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top