11/26 Morris AMPS 214; +6 360; +8 364; +10 356; PMPS 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57259

Morris ate up ALL of his food again overnight! This is especially impressive since I switched him back to usual LC Fancy Feast rather than the MC Fancy Feast I have been giving him lately! He had a nice low number to start the day, combined with the LC food, so I gave him a small dose reduction down to 0.75u this morning. I am out most of the morning, but should be home before +6 and most of the rest of the day after that to watch his numbers.
 
Re: 11/26 Morris AMPS 214

Hi Gwen,
I'm very glad that Morris is eating again. That's a big step forward. I am puzzled, however, by your dosing strategy. Morris has had high numbers (reds and even blacks), so why are you reducing his dose? I may have missed something in your recent condos, but the dosing protocol we follow allows for a dose reduction in the following circumstances for a cat who is a long-term diabetic: Morris would have to have three bg numbers between 40 and 50 while on the same dose in order to earn a decrease; or one number below 40. You can't just reduce a dose because you think a pre-shot number is lower than usual. He'll just bounce right back to high numbers again. Here's the relevant section from the protocol:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.

I am not knowledgeable enough to give dosing advice, and I hope that someone who is will come along soon, but I do think that you need to re-read the protocol. Please put "dose?" or something similar in the subject line of your first post of today to get some experienced eyes on your situation.

Good luck and I hope you can get a handle on Morris's situation.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/26 Morris AMPS 214

Yay on the eating all his food, and a much nicer AMPS this morning.
I would go back to the 1.00 tonight (bg numbers depending of course), and just call this 0.75 a temporary dose reduction because of a lower than normal pre shot and not being able to be home to monitor.
 
Re: 11/26 Morris AMPS 214; +6 360

I have been told for days now that it looks like Morris is bouncing. He had lows, followed by real high highs Nov 21/22/23. Although I did not catch his real low numbers, chances are he was hitting pretty low. This was happening while he was eating MC food. Now that he is back to eating his usual LC food, it stands to reason that he will need less insulin rather than more. So I thought that with these bouncing numbers & switching back to LC food, he should get a reduced dose of insulin.
 
Re: 11/26 Morris AMPS 214; +6 360

Morris...keeping the bean guessing... :-D

he sure keeps you on your toes, doesn't he?
 
Re: 11/26 Morris AMPS 214; +6 360; +8 364; +10 356

What a sucky boy he's being tonight! Curled up on my dh's lap & barely noticing me test his BG!!!
 
And the eating streak continues! He ate up ALL of his food again! I will give him 1.00u this evening as you all have suggested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top