Gracie's Scary Yesterday
11/24 Recap:
AMPS: 296 11th cycle sk1.25u lev
+3: 293
+8: 262
PMPS: 193 New Dose f1u lev
+2: 20 :shock:
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
+2.5: 40
+3: 66
+3.5: 118
+4.5: 162
+6: 259
Happy Friday!! Sending more prayers to Jill and Mike and healing vines to all our kitties and beans who need them.
I'm not sure what to say about last night other than utter shock. Gracie earned a reduction the pm cycle of 11/23 but bounced so I shot through the bounce yesterday morning and she was coming down pretty slow all day and had a decent PMPS so I reduced her dose. Normally at that high of a number with lev, I would not have checked her until +3 but since I wasn't here to do the normal +10, I decided to see how quickly she might have been dropping as she "usually" drops at the same speed from PMPS to +2 as she did from +10 to +12. She and Tobey were in the office with me while I did condos from PMPS to +2 and she was acting absolutely normal. So I assumed there was a strip problem when I got a "20" at +2. I got the other OT meter ....same number. So I got the Contour...21. Absolutely no signs of any fast dropping or hypo from her....none at all. I managed to get her up quickly but I think her liver also kicked in because she came up much faster than she normally does just from karo and her food.
Thankfully, Rosalie assured me that if she had not been exhibiting any symptoms of hypo like seizures, disorientation, etc etc...the long list, that she probably is just fine and she appears to be. She never acted anything but normal last night and on into today. I expected her to conk out and sleep as her numbers were coming up and she recovered from the 20 but she didn't even do that. She and Tobey were playing at bedtime. I expected her to bounce this hard (in fact, I was actually relieved to not see a higher number) and I expect she will probably have a solid six-cycle hard bounce.
I re-read info on hypoglycemia in cats last night and I also remember hearing Jill/Libby/Sienne say kitiies can be insulin sensitive when they have gone low like this and popped up so I reduced her dose again this morning. I don't normally give back-to-back reductions when I know a low number is probably shed action but I took into consideration that the last time she was on f1u (reduced from sk1.25u), she got into the 30s on the third cycle so combining that with possible insulin sensitivity, I felt it's safer to take her down another drop. Once she clears the bounce we can reassess the dose and take her back up to f1u if we need to but I think she has articulated she is DONE with sk1.25u. I have been wracking my brain to see if there was anything that I should have picked up on that would have led to this and the only thing I can think of is that I am not going to be able to shoot through the bounce on lev. This was the first time I have done it and I think I need to avoid it in the future especially when she got into the 30s when she earned the reduction. I never had this happen in all the times I shot through the bounce on lantus.
Thanks for taking the time to read this......perhaps it will help someone else although ECID and I don't want to scare anyone. Everyone knows Gracie dances her own dance to her own tune.....just wish I could figure out what that tune is!!! If anyone has any thoughts that would help us, I'd appreciate it very much. And my greatest thanks to Rosalie who helped keep me calm last night. Her knowledge of diabetes is really amazing and I am so thankful she was here for me.
Have a great day.
11/24 Recap:
AMPS: 296 11th cycle sk1.25u lev
+3: 293
+8: 262
PMPS: 193 New Dose f1u lev
+2: 20 :shock:
+2.5: 40
+3: 66
+3.5: 118
+4.5: 162
+6: 259
Happy Friday!! Sending more prayers to Jill and Mike and healing vines to all our kitties and beans who need them.
I'm not sure what to say about last night other than utter shock. Gracie earned a reduction the pm cycle of 11/23 but bounced so I shot through the bounce yesterday morning and she was coming down pretty slow all day and had a decent PMPS so I reduced her dose. Normally at that high of a number with lev, I would not have checked her until +3 but since I wasn't here to do the normal +10, I decided to see how quickly she might have been dropping as she "usually" drops at the same speed from PMPS to +2 as she did from +10 to +12. She and Tobey were in the office with me while I did condos from PMPS to +2 and she was acting absolutely normal. So I assumed there was a strip problem when I got a "20" at +2. I got the other OT meter ....same number. So I got the Contour...21. Absolutely no signs of any fast dropping or hypo from her....none at all. I managed to get her up quickly but I think her liver also kicked in because she came up much faster than she normally does just from karo and her food.
Thankfully, Rosalie assured me that if she had not been exhibiting any symptoms of hypo like seizures, disorientation, etc etc...the long list, that she probably is just fine and she appears to be. She never acted anything but normal last night and on into today. I expected her to conk out and sleep as her numbers were coming up and she recovered from the 20 but she didn't even do that. She and Tobey were playing at bedtime. I expected her to bounce this hard (in fact, I was actually relieved to not see a higher number) and I expect she will probably have a solid six-cycle hard bounce.
I re-read info on hypoglycemia in cats last night and I also remember hearing Jill/Libby/Sienne say kitiies can be insulin sensitive when they have gone low like this and popped up so I reduced her dose again this morning. I don't normally give back-to-back reductions when I know a low number is probably shed action but I took into consideration that the last time she was on f1u (reduced from sk1.25u), she got into the 30s on the third cycle so combining that with possible insulin sensitivity, I felt it's safer to take her down another drop. Once she clears the bounce we can reassess the dose and take her back up to f1u if we need to but I think she has articulated she is DONE with sk1.25u. I have been wracking my brain to see if there was anything that I should have picked up on that would have led to this and the only thing I can think of is that I am not going to be able to shoot through the bounce on lev. This was the first time I have done it and I think I need to avoid it in the future especially when she got into the 30s when she earned the reduction. I never had this happen in all the times I shot through the bounce on lantus.
Thanks for taking the time to read this......perhaps it will help someone else although ECID and I don't want to scare anyone. Everyone knows Gracie dances her own dance to her own tune.....just wish I could figure out what that tune is!!! If anyone has any thoughts that would help us, I'd appreciate it very much. And my greatest thanks to Rosalie who helped keep me calm last night. Her knowledge of diabetes is really amazing and I am so thankful she was here for me.
Have a great day.